Code::Blocks

User forums => Help => Topic started by: MrRogers443 on May 08, 2008, 01:23:17 pm

Title: Java in Code::Blocks?
Post by: MrRogers443 on May 08, 2008, 01:23:17 pm
Is there any way I can write Java in Code::Blocks?

If not, can someone tell me where I can download a Java API?

Thx in advance!
Title: Re: Java in Code::Blocks?
Post by: MortenMacFly on May 08, 2008, 05:54:16 pm
Is there any way I can write Java in Code::Blocks?
Write: Yes. Compile: No.

Java is just WAY too different compared to C/C++/D... which are natively supported. However, syntax highlighting should work properly. If you have only a few Java files you can use the custom build commands (within the file properties) to call the Java compiler. But that's basically it.

If not, can someone tell me where I can download a Java API?
#
Not sure, what you mean - but what about the Java SDK at http://www.sun.com ?!
Title: Re: Java in Code::Blocks?
Post by: thomas on May 08, 2008, 09:16:35 pm
You're probably off a lot better using Sun Eclipse rather than Code::Blocks, if you want to write Java. It's the tool for it.
Title: Re: Java in Code::Blocks?
Post by: JGM on May 09, 2008, 06:12:37 am
You're probably off a lot better using Sun Eclipse rather than Code::Blocks, if you want to write Java. It's the tool for it.

It has to be that people doesn't like that IDE performance, since it's slow, codeblocks is really fast :P
Title: Re: Java in Code::Blocks?
Post by: MortenMacFly on May 09, 2008, 08:31:58 am
You're probably off a lot better using Sun Eclipse rather than Code::Blocks, if you want to write Java. It's the tool for it.
It has to be that people doesn't like that IDE performance, since it's slow, codeblocks is really fast :P
Concerning speed: As I am working with Java, too I would suggest to try NetBeans instead of Eclipse if you are starting a project from scratch and don't want to develop RCP-like application. NetBeans is really cool and fast and (finally) free.

However... we are getting OT.
Title: Re: Java in Code::Blocks?
Post by: thomas on May 09, 2008, 09:31:51 am
Concerning speed: As I am working with Java, too I would suggest to try NetBeans instead of Eclipse
Beans get me flatulences. But seriously, what's wrong with Eclipse's performance? I tried it on my aged hardware here not long ago and was surprised how very well it worked. It took about 5 seconds to start up, and one or two lage dialogs lagged a bit when opening, but that's pretty much it. I tried the C++ version too, which looked nice as well. But then, I didn't find the compiler option panel before my attention span ended, so I trashed it :P
Considering how much anything written in Java sucked 10 years ago (completely unusable), this was really stunning.
Title: Re: Java in Code::Blocks?
Post by: MortenMacFly on May 09, 2008, 01:09:45 pm
Considering how much anything written in Java sucked 10 years ago (completely unusable), this was really stunning.
Most likely you never tried with quite some (all) "RCP enabling" SDK plugins. This spoils speed enourmously. But yes: Just the CDT plugin or native Java (no plugin dev environment) is quite fast. Oh - and: NetBeans != Beans. ;-)
Title: Re: Java in Code::Blocks?
Post by: lynwell07 on October 08, 2009, 10:54:38 am
Is this a Java programming language framework that allows developers to manage relational data in applications using Java Platform, Standard Edition and Java Platform, Enterprise Edition?
Title: Re: Java in Code::Blocks?
Post by: jens on October 08, 2009, 11:58:02 am
Is this a Java programming language framework that allows developers to manage relational data in applications using Java Platform, Standard Edition and Java Platform, Enterprise Edition?


If you want to know, whether Code::Blocks has this features, you should read the whole thread and get the answer yourself.

Title: Re: Java in Code::Blocks?
Post by: MortenMacFly on October 08, 2009, 01:28:55 pm
Is this a Java programming language framework that allows developers to manage relational data in applications using Java Platform, Standard Edition and Java Platform, Enterprise Edition?
If you want to know, whether Code::Blocks has this features, you should read the whole thread and get the answer yourself.
For the record: This might be a SPAM robot. I've removed a strange footer in the message pointing to a strange webpage. But I am not sure yet.