Code::Blocks

User forums => Nightly builds => Topic started by: killerbot on January 28, 2007, 07:50:17 pm

Title: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on January 28, 2007, 07:50:17 pm
Get quick announcements through the RSS feed http://www.codeblocks.org/nightly/CodeBlock_RSS.xml

A link to the unicode windows wxWidget dll for Code::Blocks : http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/wxmsw26u_gcc_cb_wx2.6.3p2.7z

To fix the menu alignment bug introduced in wx 2.6.3 [windows only bug] we have patched wx ourselves, and that results in the following alternative dll : http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/wxmsw26u_gcc_cb_wx2.6.3p2AndCbPatch_version3.7z

For those who might need this one (when no MingW installed on your system) : the mingw10m.dll : http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/mingwm10.7z

For support of ansi builds, a link to the ansi windows wxWidget dll for Code::Blocks : http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/wxmsw26_gcc_cb_wx2.6.3p2.7z

The 28 January 2007 build is out.
  - Windows : http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_20070128_rev3545_win32.7z
  - Linux :
         http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_20070128_rev3545_Ubuntu6.xx.deb (not yet)
         http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_20070128_rev3545_suse100+101.i586.rpm (not yet)
         http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_20070128_rev3545_fc4+5.i586.rpm (not yet)


Resolved Fixed:


Regressions/Confirmed/Annoying/Common bugs:


Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: indigo0086 on January 29, 2007, 05:52:11 am
When I click on a build message it no longer jumps to the line.
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on January 29, 2007, 08:18:05 am
are you sure ?? Works ok here, make sure you double click on it in the Build messages pane (not the Build log)
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: alanwong on January 29, 2007, 09:31:45 am
where can download the last version codeblocks.pot ?
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: Marenz on January 29, 2007, 10:50:44 am
Found a bug.
When debugging a project and you go stepwise line by line through your src  using the Button "Next Line" :
You click one time, it steps one line. You can click a second time. you first have to move your mouse out of the button and in again. Also the hilihght animation (the hover animation) is only played when i reenter the button..

--Ano
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: Marenz on January 29, 2007, 01:26:01 pm
Codeblocks refuse to load projects that i saved. well it loads them, but does not display the name , the files, the buildoptions... well nothing..
i loads an empty name/project.
That happens when i save it. Projects saved with older CB versions still work. (till i save them)
this is CB rev 3547 on AMD64, debian etch

--Ano
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: skirby on January 29, 2007, 01:34:54 pm
When I click on a build message it no longer jumps to the line.
Same problem here under Windows 2000 sp4.
The previous build already had this problem.
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: skirby on January 29, 2007, 02:14:00 pm
Another bug.

I tried to import DevCpp project.
I already have an error message.

I have the following error message:
(http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/6533/bugoi3.png)

Here is some DevCpp project in order to reproduce the bug:
http://www.mytempdir.com/1191545 (http://www.mytempdir.com/1191545)

Could you reproduce it.

Do you want me to add this bug into BerliOS web site?

Thanks and have a nice day.
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: lemerou on January 29, 2007, 02:31:39 pm
Found a bug.
When debugging a project and you go stepwise line by line through your src  using the Button "Next Line" :
You click one time, it steps one line. You can click a second time. you first have to move your mouse out of the button and in again. Also the hilihght animation (the hover animation) is only played when i reenter the button..

--Ano

If your are using codeblocks with Linux I think that your bug is this one:
https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gtk+2.0/+bug/22930
it is a problem with GTK so it doesn't come from wxWidgets or Codeblocks
Sorry if I'm wrong
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: indigo0086 on January 29, 2007, 03:04:40 pm
are you sure ?? Works ok here, make sure you double click on it in the Build messages pane (not the Build log)

Totally sure, it's just not working, and I am in the build message pane.  Even when I right click and choose jump to, it doesn't.
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on January 29, 2007, 06:08:57 pm
are you sure ?? Works ok here, make sure you double click on it in the Build messages pane (not the Build log)

Totally sure, it's just not working, and I am in the build message pane.  Even when I right click and choose jump to, it doesn't.

I still can't reproduce !! I tried it on winXP and Suse.

Please try with a freshly installed nightly (in a new clean directory). Very weird!!!
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: indigo0086 on January 29, 2007, 06:19:24 pm
I'll do that.  I'm using it at work and I noticed the one at home doesn't even show the little red square next to the first erro that it usually should.  I'm gonna go ahead and do a clean install.  You think it's a conflict of maybe a plugin.  I don't know but I tried to use devpacks and it kept freezing up on me when trying to download something
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: pasgui on January 29, 2007, 09:51:00 pm
are you sure ?? Works ok here, make sure you double click on it in the Build messages pane (not the Build log)

Totally sure, it's just not working, and I am in the build message pane.  Even when I right click and choose jump to, it doesn't.

I still can't reproduce !! I tried it on winXP and Suse.

Please try with a freshly installed nightly (in a new clean directory). Very weird!!!

I got the same problem on ubuntu svn3550. It looks also the line in the build message panel isn't written (see attached picture).

(http://)


[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: indigo0086 on January 29, 2007, 10:03:19 pm
I did a clean install for three releases and still got the same problem.  Is it some kind of setting that I may have missed.
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: Jordar on January 29, 2007, 10:14:37 pm
<Problem Debugging>

Hi, 

I am having trouble debugging with this version.  It appears to have something to do with paths for the debugger.  I can not set a breakpoint anymore.  Here is an example run:

>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> directory C:/DOCUME~1/USER~1/MYDOCU~1/SOFWAR~1/FOOPRO~1/BC40/
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> delete breakpoints
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> break "C:/Documents and Settings/User Name/My Documents/Software Dir/Foo Project/BC40/RFM.cpp:2182"
No source file named C:/Documents and Settings/User Name/My Documents/Software Dir/Foo Project/BC40/RFM.cpp.
Breakpoint 1 ("C:/Documents and Settings/User Name/My Documents/Software Dir/Foo Project/BC40/RFM.cpp:2182) pending.

But this file definitely exists and is in this directory!

I noticed that if I start gdb manually I can set the break point with this same command, however if I then execute the directory command I can no longer set breakpoints again..  This is very weird.  Here is an example of this behavior:
gdb.exe -nx -fullname -quiet -args foo.exe
<gdb> break "C:/Documents and Settings/User Name/My Documents/Software Dir/Foo Project/BC40/RFM.cpp:2182"
Breakpoint 1 at 0c3e232: file RFM.cpp, line 2182.
<gdb> directory C:/DOCUME~1/USER~1/MYDOCU~1/SOFWAR~1/FOOPRO~1/BC40/
Source directories searched: C:/DOCUME~1/USER~1/MYDOCU~1/SOFWAR~1/FOOOPRO~1/BC40;$cdir;$cwd
<gdb>
break "C:/Documents and Settings/User Name/My Documents/Software Dir/Foo Project/BC40/RFM.cpp:2182"
No source file named C:/Documents and Settings/User Name/My Documents/Software Dir/Foo Project/BC40/RFM.cpp
Make breakpoint pending on future shared library load? (y or [n]) n
<gdb>

Is there someway to not have the debugger automatically call the directory command?  This appears to be the source of my problems.  Does anyone have any other ideas?

I am running Windows XP. Using GDB 6.4 configured for DJGPP.

thanks,
Jordar
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on January 30, 2007, 11:05:16 am
@
indigo0086
skirby
pasgui


Someone mentioned a cause, he had '[' and/or ']' in his path. Our regular expressions used for the parsing of the compiler output didn't support that. I am working on a fix, should be available this evening. I will write a special post about it.
Could you check if you had one of the following characters in your path (to the project or source files) :
(
)
{
}
[
]

Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: gd_on on January 30, 2007, 11:13:54 am
Small bug I discovered with this nightly but probably not new.
Here a small C program, in a project (test.cbp, under windows XP and Win 2000) :

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int ii=11 ;

void sub1 ( )
{
    int iiloc ;

    iiloc = 2*ii ;
    printf("%d %d\n",ii,iiloc) ;
}

int main()
{
    printf("Hello world!\n");
    sub1() ;
    return 0;
}

This program works but :
If within sub1 I right click on the variable ii then click on Find declaration of ii, it works: the cursor is on ii declaration.
But if I right click on iiloc (in iiloc = 2*ii or within the printf), I obtain a message declaration "Warning Not found : iiloc".
On a more complex project, even some global variables are not found (but not all).

gd_on
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: skirby on January 30, 2007, 11:55:30 am
@
indigo0086
skirby
pasgui


Someone mentioned a cause, he had '[' and/or ']' in his path. Our regular expressions used for the parsing of the compiler output didn't support that. I am working on a fix, should be available this evening. I will write a special post about it.
Could you check if you had one of the following characters in your path (to the project or source files) :
(
)
{
}
[
]
Hello killerbot,

You are absolutly right.
In fact, I have a # in my folder name.
If I remove it, it works  :D
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on January 30, 2007, 11:57:32 am
woops, another one that add to the list
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: skirby on January 30, 2007, 03:06:39 pm
You can also add the character ~ and =
I suppose there are more character which cause problem.

More, if the path contains an $ character, I have the following error message:
Quote
-------------- Build: Debug in Test ---------------
Compiling: main.c
mingw32-gcc.exe: D:\Test\main.c: No such file or directory
mingw32-gcc.exe: no input files
Process terminated with status 1 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
0 errors, 0 warnings

The real folder name is: D:\Test$1\

I hope you could correct it.
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: indigo0086 on January 30, 2007, 03:12:50 pm
thank's for working on that killerbot.  I only put the words in braces because I have a lot of folders in my documents and want to put all frequently used folders sorted at the top.
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on January 30, 2007, 03:18:49 pm
You can also add the character ~ and =
I suppose there are more character which cause problem.

More, if the path contains an $ character, I have the following error message:
Quote
-------------- Build: Debug in Test ---------------
Compiling: main.c
mingw32-gcc.exe: D:\Test\main.c: No such file or directory
mingw32-gcc.exe: no input files
Process terminated with status 1 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
0 errors, 0 warnings

The real folder name is: D:\Test$1\

I hope you could correct it.

the $ sign is more difficult, your problem is not the same on what I am working on right now. I am fixing the output of the compiler, you have a problem on the input side to the compiler. CB support macro replacing and macros start with $ --> CB tries to replace the $1, which has no value so it ends up being removed (replaced by nothing).
@Thomas, Yiannis --> any ideas on this issue ??

In the meantime I will support the $sign on the output side ;-)
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: Jordar on January 30, 2007, 04:54:26 pm
<Can't Debug Issue>

I did some more research by rolling back to the last version that I can build and debug with.  This is on Jan 10th.  It seems that the Debugger here uses the truncated path names instead of the full names.  ("Docume~1" instead of "Documents and Settings").  Is there some way around this?  I don't see an option to change this in the debugger settings.

thanks,
Jordar
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: indigo0086 on January 30, 2007, 05:41:22 pm
I'm not sure if this is normal but will the debugger enter from a breakpoint within a header file, or does it only enter through source files?
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: Pecan on January 30, 2007, 06:25:47 pm
I'm not sure if this is normal but will the debugger enter from a breakpoint within a header file, or does it only enter through source files?

Yes, it can stop at a breakpoint in a header file. When I'm debugging a header that contains something like:
Code: [Select]
void MyClass::thisfunc(int intVar)
    {m_someVar = intVar;}

I can put a breakpoint on the m_someVar=intVar; statement.
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: indigo0086 on January 30, 2007, 06:52:02 pm
Hmm, when I put a breakpoint in a function in a header file (which has to have been called by main), it skips over it and ends.  I get this message in the debugger.

Quote
Setting breakpoints
Debugger name and version: GNU gdb 6.3
No source file named E:/Documents/COP 4338 Programming III Projects/project1/urlSearcher.h.
Breakpoint 1 ("E:/Documents/COP 4338 Programming III Projects/project1/urlSearcher.h:31) pending.
Program exited normally.
Debugger finished with status 0

it just skipped over the breakpoint.
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: Pecan on January 30, 2007, 06:58:41 pm
Hmm, when I put a breakpoint in a function in a header file (which has to have been called by main), it skips over it and ends.  I get this message in the debugger.

Quote
Setting breakpoints
Debugger name and version: GNU gdb 6.3
No source file named E:/Documents/COP 4338 Programming III Projects/project1/urlSearcher.h.
Breakpoint 1 ("E:/Documents/COP 4338 Programming III Projects/project1/urlSearcher.h:31) pending.
Program exited normally.
Debugger finished with status 0

it just skipped over the breakpoint.

Take the spaces out of the filenames and see if it works.

Note: Breakpoints in constructors/destructors do not work.

cf: See the note at the bottom of:
//-- Debugging
    Debugging with CodeBlocks (http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Debugging_with_Code::Blocks)
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: indigo0086 on January 30, 2007, 07:04:35 pm
Yup that works.  Guess I have to change all my file hierarchy  :lol:
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: Jordar on January 30, 2007, 07:07:21 pm
But I USED to be able to have spaces since the debugger used short names.  Is this a bug? Why were the debugger settings changed to long path names?
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: indigo0086 on January 30, 2007, 07:12:56 pm
Also what font is that used in the debugging example?\


Edit: I also found when exporting to rtf, it does not show any word delimited by whitespace after an escape indicator.  so

Code: [Select]
cout << "\nhello world";
will show as
Code: [Select]
cout << "world";
on the exported document
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: thomas on January 30, 2007, 07:22:42 pm
@Thomas, Yiannis --> any ideas on this issue ??
My opinion on the issue is that if someone uses filenames like $*&foo{bar]]ߧ?#* then he deserves that programs are failing ;)
What's wrong with filenames like "main.cpp" or "scheduler.h"? :)

I've seen people create a file with the name "*" under Linux (for no other reason than because it is possible) and then trying to delete it with rm -f *. And I've seen people create files with mixed case under Windows and then wondering why including them with lowercase names under Linux makes the compiler puke.

Regarding special chars and variable replacement, please note that there is a lot more than just $ to take care of, for example [[ ]] embeds a script expansion variable.
Title: Re: The 28 January 2007 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on January 30, 2007, 09:08:27 pm
as promised : the information : http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=5061.msg39574#msg39574