Code::Blocks

User forums => General (but related to Code::Blocks) => Topic started by: BigAngryDog on November 16, 2006, 08:03:49 pm

Title: Old Toolbar Colour Bug is Back Again
Post by: BigAngryDog on November 16, 2006, 08:03:49 pm
I just switched Windows themes and noticed that a bug previously fixed moths ago has re-appeared.

This is the one where the toolbars display incorrect colours - mix between the colour scheme at install time and the new colour scheme.
Title: Re: Old Toolbar Colour Bug is Back Again
Post by: BigAngryDog on November 17, 2006, 12:02:52 pm
Original thread detailing problem & fix:

http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?PHPSESSID=ac6c65e06a3fc698158a112d8c96903f&topic=3253.0 (http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?PHPSESSID=ac6c65e06a3fc698158a112d8c96903f&topic=3253.0)

Screenie:

(http://www.bigangrydog.com/cb_temp.gif)

Title: Re: Old Toolbar Colour Bug is Back Again
Post by: MortenMacFly on November 18, 2006, 10:20:46 am
Original thread detailing problem & fix:
What happens if you re-run C::B and have the config file (temporarily) removed - thus C::B initialises from scratch?
With regards, Morten.
Title: Re: Old Toolbar Colour Bug is Back Again
Post by: BigAngryDog on November 21, 2006, 10:07:02 am
>What happens if you re-run C::B and have the config file (temporarily) remove

Just tried it--and CB shows the current colours correctly. So it seems that the current Windows system colour values are being stored in the config file when it is first created.

System colours are dynamic and maybe changed at any time. Should CB be storing these?
Title: Re: Old Toolbar Colour Bug is Back Again
Post by: MortenMacFly on November 21, 2006, 07:56:18 pm
System colours are dynamic and maybe changed at any time. Should CB be storing these?
Sure it should - you can adjust them inside C::B. Ever seen an adjustable feature that not get's stored...?! ;-)
Title: Re: Old Toolbar Colour Bug is Back Again
Post by: BigAngryDog on November 22, 2006, 12:00:49 pm
>Sure it should - you can adjust them inside C::B.

In this case, C::B should be using it's own colours as specified in the environment settings.

The problem is that it is using a mix of current windows colours and C::B specific environment colours. These CB colours were one-time initialised to the system colours when C::B first ran, but when the system colours change, the result is a mash between the two.

Also, would it be possible to have a check box in the colour settings page to specify "Follow System Colors"?
Title: Re: Old Toolbar Colour Bug is Back Again
Post by: mandrav on November 22, 2006, 12:06:08 pm
Please understand that this is an issue of wxAUI. All toolbars are managed by it and C::B has no other code that messes with the toolbar colors.
Title: Re: Old Toolbar Colour Bug is Back Again
Post by: mandrav on November 27, 2006, 11:26:34 am
I have removed the relevant colour settings so it now uses always the active theme's colours.
In short, bug fixed :).
Title: Re: Old Toolbar Colour Bug is Back Again
Post by: BigAngryDog on November 27, 2006, 12:19:30 pm
Good stuff! :)
Title: Re: Old Toolbar Colour Bug is Back Again
Post by: afb on November 27, 2006, 09:38:11 pm
I have removed the relevant colour settings so it now uses always the active theme's colours.
In short, bug fixed :).

Thanks for doing this, it makes it look a lot better on Mac OS X too!

It used to have a "white area" like this:
(http://www.algonet.se/~afb/wx/codeblocks-wxmac-rev3209.png)
Now it is all "grey" just like it should be.