Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Using Code::Blocks => Topic started by: cdubks88 on February 24, 2006, 07:32:22 pm

Title: Different terminal
Post by: cdubks88 on February 24, 2006, 07:32:22 pm
Is there any way to change the default output console from xterm to gnome-terminal or konsole?

Thanks,

C.
Title: Re: Different terminal
Post by: takeshimiya on February 24, 2006, 07:38:23 pm
Yes, go to Settings->Compiler and debugger->Tab other->Terminal to run console programs.
Title: Re: Different terminal
Post by: Twey on September 05, 2006, 09:16:51 pm
The problem is that the value this takes looks like:
Code
xterm -T $TITLE -e
to which it appends the command, becoming something like
Code
xterm -T 'Program' -e 'LD_LIBRARY_PATH=.:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH /usr/bin/cb_console_runner "/home/twey/devel/cpp/program/bin/Debug/program"'
That's fine for an xterm, but konsole needs its command to look more like:
Code
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=.:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH konsole -T 'Program' -e '/usr/bin/cb_console_runner' "/home/twey/devel/cpp/program/bin/Debug/program"
... and I see no way of doing this.
Title: Re: Different terminal
Post by: crzysdrs on September 14, 2006, 12:37:28 am
I think that's a good idea. I would definitely prefer to see the debug output in konsole rather than an xterm window. If anyone knows a way to do this that would be great. Otherwise if it's not possible I think it would be a useful feature.
Title: Re: Different terminal
Post by: Twey on September 14, 2006, 06:57:42 pm
It's more than just a preference in my case; for some reason or other, xterm loads incredibly slowly on my system (3-4 minutes) and bogs down the whole system whilst doing so.  Thus, a dependence on xterm renders the development cycle on small projects (where I'm testing after every minor change) too slow for C::B to be an option.
Title: Re: Different terminal
Post by: kaziya on June 11, 2007, 07:27:47 am
i agree completely with using another console app, all you need to do is change xterm to konsole and add sh -c to the end of the terminal string