Code::Blocks

User forums => Help => Topic started by: Anonymous on August 13, 2004, 01:12:50 pm

Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Anonymous on August 13, 2004, 01:12:50 pm
I've downloaded and installed both Beta's and neither include: Codeblocks.exe  I don't get it.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: mandrav on September 17, 2004, 08:37:15 pm
You have downloaded the source distribution. Try downloading the windows installation program here (http://www.codeblocks.org/modules.php?op=modload&name=Downloads&file=index&req=getit&lid=2)

Yiannis.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Leo on October 22, 2004, 03:34:30 am
I have the same problem with "CodeBlocks-1.0-beta3.exe" installation file
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Leo on October 23, 2004, 03:37:59 pm
This error is generated when the user changes the destination location.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Anonymous on November 04, 2004, 06:53:01 am
I have tried all three installation files.  They are the Win32 installation programs, not the source distributions.  However, none of them gave me a codeblocks.exe.

My setup:
C: Secondary ntfs partition
D: FAT32 storage partition
K: Primary ntfs boot partition

I'm using the default installation path, C:\codeblocks, but that doesn't seem to be working.
Any thoughts?
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: mandrav on November 04, 2004, 06:14:22 pm
Do you think it might have something to do with the antivirus you 're using? I can't think of anything else right now. I mean, there is no reason why every file in the distribution installs fine, except the executable...

Yiannis.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Anonymous on November 04, 2004, 07:32:42 pm
After turning off the antivirus, ZoneAlarm, and just about every program running, I still couldn't get the executable.
However, I went back to Add/Remove programs, uninstalled it, then reinstalled it. That worked like a charm.

I'm guessing ZoneAlarm is the culprit here.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Anonymous on November 08, 2004, 08:08:45 pm
I had the same problem with a fresh install of windows XP with no antivirus.  If this happens, it seems that the only solution is to uninstall codeblocks and try again.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Anonymous on November 23, 2004, 12:41:13 pm
Same Problem. No antivirus backround Programm. unins000.dat contains only the 'console_runner.exe', no 'codeblock.exe'.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: mandrav on November 23, 2004, 03:09:53 pm
If I 'm going to track this down, you should post some info on your system like OS, service-packs etc.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Anonymous on November 23, 2004, 04:03:38 pm
Sorry for the "it won't work" post, today is my stupid day. :oops:
It seems that the error reside in the installation routine, uncheck both options (Create a desktop icon, Create a Quick Launch icon) and the 'codeblock.exe' is missing.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Anonymous on November 23, 2004, 04:19:22 pm
Stupid again :roll: , i forgot:

windows 2000 with servicepack 4 and all current patches/updates
no antivirus background program
no personal firewall
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: mandrav on November 23, 2004, 11:22:58 pm
Quote from: Anonymous
Sorry for the "it won't work" post, today is my stupid day. :oops:
It seems that the error reside in the installation routine, uncheck both options (Create a desktop icon, Create a Quick Launch icon) and the 'codeblock.exe' is missing.


See? That is helpfull :wink:
I 'll check the installer's code tomorrow and, hopefully, have it fixed. Thanks for the info.

Yiannis.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Anonymous on November 26, 2004, 10:18:05 pm
I have got the file but it says every time that it has encountered an error and needs to close.
I run XP with service pack 2.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: Anonymous on December 10, 2004, 08:11:08 pm
I used http://sourceforge.net/projects/innounp/ innounp to unpack files from CodeBlocks-1.0-beta3.exe
and then copied the files from {app} directory into c:\CodeBlocks
I unpacked it with:
mkdir test
innounp.exe -x -dtest CodeBlocks-1.0-beta3.exe
and the files will be unpacked to test directory.
Title: Missing Codeblocks.exe
Post by: mandrav on December 18, 2004, 08:54:07 pm
It is fixed now. I am not updating the setup file for Code::Blocks 1.0-beta3, but the next setup will behave correctly.

I will add a notice, though, on the download page.

Thank you all.