Code::Blocks

Developer forums (C::B DEVELOPMENT STRICTLY!) => Contributions to C::B => Topic started by: billus on March 13, 2019, 02:09:15 am

Title: Has anyone considered replacing autotools with CMAKE for building code::Blocks?
Post by: billus on March 13, 2019, 02:09:15 am
Seems to me that for bouncing back and forth between macOS, Windows and Linux, life is easier on a CMAKE-based build than autotools, which doesn't run natively on Windows and is painful at best on macOS.
Title: Re: Has anyone considered replacing autotools with CMAKE for building code::Blocks?
Post by: oBFusCATed on March 13, 2019, 10:34:30 am
Yes, I've considered it, but I can't find the time or desire to port the whole build system to cmake. I prefer to work on actual bugs making C::B better for users and accept that the development would be a bit harder.
Title: Re: Has anyone considered replacing autotools with CMAKE for building code::Blocks?
Post by: billus on March 13, 2019, 06:10:26 pm
Hopefully you won't mind if I give it a shot. My thinking is that, if you make the development process easier, more people will tackle a bug or two rather than spend hours figuring out how to build (as I have with Alpine, much less macOS).
Title: Re: Has anyone considered replacing autotools with CMAKE for building code::Blocks?
Post by: oBFusCATed on March 13, 2019, 08:18:44 pm
I doubt it. CMake is not really user friendly. In fact on linuxes autotools is a lot user friendlier than cmake.
Title: Re: Has anyone considered replacing autotools with CMAKE for building code::Blocks?
Post by: fruitCode on December 20, 2019, 10:06:07 am
That's a personal opinion. Besides cmake improved a lot to my opinion. I agree with billus however I see your point too about the work.

@billus: do you have anything working yet? Maybe I can assist?
Title: Re: Has anyone considered replacing autotools with CMAKE for building code::Blocks?
Post by: sodev on December 20, 2019, 11:37:51 am
I think his hot air has cooled down ;D
Title: Re: Has anyone considered replacing autotools with CMAKE for building code::Blocks?
Post by: MortenMacFly on March 29, 2020, 05:02:16 pm


Hopefully you won't mind if I give it a shot.

Sorry I missed that post. I do have some initial work which was meant for this purpose, but its way outdated. But I agree that it would help with e.g. the Mac builds. That was my intention as well.
Title: Re: Has anyone considered replacing autotools with CMAKE for building code::Blocks?
Post by: oBFusCATed on March 29, 2020, 05:16:55 pm
I'll revive my gdbmi plugin soon and I will experiment with both meson and cmake.
CMake is a standard these days, but it is a terrible system. And it is massively slow to do the configure when the project becomes really big...