Code::Blocks

User forums => Help => Topic started by: spflanze on February 07, 2019, 11:01:11 pm

Title: code::blocks runs only under root
Post by: spflanze on February 07, 2019, 11:01:11 pm
I followed the instructions at:
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/Installing_Code::Blocks_from_source_on_Linux (http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/Installing_Code::Blocks_from_source_on_Linux)
to install wxWidgets-3.0.3.tar.bz2 to use with the latest version of Code::Blocks available at svn://svn.code.sf.net/p/codeblocks/code/trunk. Made a few changes to account for the different version number. I did it on my Ubuntu 18.04 OS. Although the installation is successful, and it does run, there are two issues:

1) The command "tar zxf wxWidgets-3.0.3.tar.bz2" did not work due to it being an incompatible file type. I had to use the Archive Manager to expand it. This is a minor issue.

2) The command "make install" did not work to install code::blocks due to permissions issues. So I had to use "sudo make install". The use of sudo meant that the installation is owned by root, and due to permissions issues, the shortcuts in Ubuntu's menu and desktop did not work. To invoke it I have to use the command "sudo codeblocks". To solve this I could change codeblocks's owner to myself, I could also set permissions for anyone to run it, or only a specific group I am a member of already, or would create. Which of these is the preferred way, or is the preferred way something else?
Title: Re: code::blocks runs only under root
Post by: stahta01 on February 07, 2019, 11:16:12 pm
Code: [Select]
tar zxf wxGTK-2.8.7.tar.gz
The option to untar wxWidgets-3.0.3.tar.bz2 would be different. Edit "bz2" is not the same as "gz".

sudo make install should not do what you said! Did you remember to exit out after doing the sudo?

Tim S.


Title: Re: code::blocks runs only under root
Post by: sodev on February 07, 2019, 11:16:47 pm
Title: Re: code::blocks runs only under root
Post by: spflanze on February 07, 2019, 11:44:43 pm
Right after installation the shortcuts did not work. I assumed it was due to permissions. But now they are working.