Code::Blocks

User forums => Using Code::Blocks => Topic started by: Domarius on August 03, 2018, 11:45:39 pm

Title: Turn off the extra quote/brace when I type quote/brace
Post by: Domarius on August 03, 2018, 11:45:39 pm
Just a simple thing; When I type a quote, I just want one quote character, not two automatically.

Most times when I'm adding braces or quotes around something, the extra one that helpfully pops up automatically just gets in the way.

How do I turn this feature off?
Title: Re: Turn off the extra quote/brace when I type quote/brace
Post by: stahta01 on August 04, 2018, 02:13:33 am
See if this works for you.

Menu: Settings -> Editor
General Settings
Tab: Editor Settings
Section: "Indent Options"
Uncheck "Brace Completion"

Tim S.
Title: Re: Turn off the extra quote/brace when I type quote/brace
Post by: Domarius on August 04, 2018, 03:41:40 pm
Ah that did it, thank you!
Title: Re: Turn off the extra quote/brace when I type quote/brace
Post by: Domarius on August 06, 2018, 11:48:43 pm
Dammit, the setting is not saving... I had an issue earlier (from adding custom themes) where it wouldn't overwrite default.conf due to permissions, but I fixed that, proven by the fact that the dark theme stays now.

But this setting won't stick... is it in a different file?
Title: Re: Turn off the extra quote/brace when I type quote/brace
Post by: oBFusCATed on August 07, 2018, 12:07:00 am
No, it is in the same file.
Have you tried if other settings are saved correctly?
Title: Re: Turn off the extra quote/brace when I type quote/brace
Post by: Domarius on August 07, 2018, 10:39:39 pm
Hmm it's saving now... I'll have to write that off as something I missed.  Thanks again.
Title: Re: Turn off the extra quote/brace when I type quote/brace
Post by: BlueHazzard on August 10, 2018, 01:48:50 pm
You have to press "save-all" for codeblocks to save the settings. Only hitting "OK" is not enough.... Or you need a clean close of codeblocks so it will save it automatically...