Code::Blocks

Developer forums (C::B DEVELOPMENT STRICTLY!) => Plugins development => Topic started by: LETARTARE on October 30, 2017, 05:13:37 pm

Title: linux : testing a generic plugin
Post by: LETARTARE on October 30, 2017, 05:13:37 pm
I am new with LInux !!
I started with Linux (see my signature), with cb-svn11210, wxWidgets-2.8 (ppa:dmoore) , g++-5.4.0.

I try to create a blank generic plugin : 'test.cbp'.  The construction of the target 'default' is correct.
During installation, I get the following error : see picture 'error11210_testplug.png'
I checked the contents of 'test.cblugin'  which contains -> 'libtest.so' and 'test.zip (which contains' manifest.xml').
What is curious is the indication 'File 'test.so' not found', instead of  'File 'libtest.so' not found' ?

To check, I built the same plugin on Vista with the same conditions (cb-svn11210, wxWidgets-2.8, TDM-GCC 4.7.1) and I can install without problem.

Anyone have an idea ?
Title: Re: linux : testing a generic plugin
Post by: stahta01 on October 30, 2017, 06:19:26 pm
Edit the project to rename libtest.so to test.so.

Tim S.
Title: Re: linux : testing a generic plugin
Post by: LETARTARE on October 30, 2017, 07:07:31 pm
thank you for your interest in this problem.

I rename the library 'libtest.so' => 'test.so'. The compilation is correct, but there is another error to load.
Title: Re: linux : testing a generic plugin
Post by: stahta01 on October 30, 2017, 07:17:37 pm
thank you for your interest in this problem.

I rename the library 'libtest.so' => 'test.so'. The compilation is correct, but there is another error to load.

Did you edit the project file as I said or did you just rename the file?

Tim S.
Title: Re: linux : testing a generic plugin
Post by: LETARTARE on October 30, 2017, 07:31:18 pm
I use: 'Project->Properties->Build Target->default' and 'Output filename = test.so' by unchecking 'Auto-generate filename prefix'.
I also corrected 'Build Options->default->PostBuild steps'  for change 'libtest.so'  => 'test.so'.
Title: Re: linux : testing a generic plugin
Post by: jens on October 31, 2017, 10:06:16 am
First: this is clearly a bug in my opinion.
The wizard should not use the prefix, neither in generating the lib, nor in the post-build steps.
Or use it on both places, but this would lead to different behaviour on Windows and Linux and more changes (in the code would be needed). And this should be done by the wizard also, because the project should work as it is.
Did you check the manifest.xml ?
I played with it and changed the plugin-name from "test" to "libtest", and that breaks loading the plugin.
If I just do your changes (output filename and post-build steps) it works as expected.