Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Using Code::Blocks => Topic started by: Cool Javelin on August 05, 2017, 02:48:37 am

Title: Multi monitor, DOS program, debug console window placement?
Post by: Cool Javelin on August 05, 2017, 02:48:37 am
Code::Blocks 16.01  Win7 SP1.

I have several monitors, and use the main one for the development of my code.
When I click the red right arrow (run my program using the debugger) I get a console window running my program on top of (or sometimes under) the Code::Blocks development environment.
I can then grab the window and move it to another monitor and change its size. I'd prefer not to do that part every time I debug.

How can I get Code::blocks to put that console window on a different monitor?  Also, Can I get it to open with more then 25 lines, maybe 50?

My code is C, not C++ or C# and is DOS only. However I have included windows.h and I do make some windows calls to do things like init the serial port and change the console colors.
That said, maybe there is a way to have my code alter the window size and placement but being a DOS program I think not.

Thanks, Mark.
Title: Re: Multi monitor, DOS program, debug console window placement?
Post by: oBFusCATed on August 05, 2017, 11:09:48 am
How can I get Code::blocks to put that console window on a different monitor?
No, it is not possible. This is job for the window manager and not code::blocks.

Also, Can I get it to open with more then 25 lines, maybe 50?
Probably. The easiest way is to install windows 10, there the console is easily resizeable.
If not try this https://stackoverflow.com/a/319317

Btw, if you're including windows.h then you're making a windows console application. This has nothing to do with DOS! :)
Title: Re: Multi monitor, DOS program, debug console window placement?
Post by: Cool Javelin on August 06, 2017, 09:09:14 pm
Actually, silly me, I just figured it out.

I placed and stretched my console window, then did a VIEW->Perspectives->save current

 ???

Mark.
Title: Re: Multi monitor, DOS program, debug console window placement?
Post by: Amogachis on September 04, 2017, 04:15:50 am
Where can I find more information?
Title: Re: Multi monitor, DOS program, debug console window placement?
Post by: stahta01 on September 04, 2017, 05:08:43 am
Where can I find more information?

At microsoft.com that is where you get information about how to use windows.

Tim S.