Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Using Code::Blocks => Topic started by: Satyajit on December 02, 2016, 11:06:22 am

Title: Valgrind
Post by: Satyajit on December 02, 2016, 11:06:22 am
I am using Code::Blocks 13.12 on my linux ubuntu machine. I also installed valgrind using terminal. When I open a program on codeblock it also gives me some options to use valgrind also. Options are-

   (i) Run MemCheck
  (ii) Open MemCheck Xml log file
 (iii) Run Cachegrind

  But nothing is happening using those options. So finally question is how to use those options?
Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: Jenna on December 02, 2016, 11:59:12 am
Is there any output in the Valgrind-tab in "Logs and others" ?
Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: Satyajit on December 02, 2016, 12:46:04 pm
When I click on "Run MemCheck" Valgrind tab in "logs & others" shows



valgrind--version
valgrind-3.10.1
setting dynamic linker path to: .:
Executing command:valgrind--leak-check=full--track-origins=yes--xml=yes--xml-file=/home/..../.../.../code_name/valgrindOut.xml "/home/.../.../.../code_name/bin/Debug/code_name"

---------- Application output -----------

valgrind: C++: command not found

Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: BlueHazzard on December 02, 2016, 08:40:20 pm
--- Application output -----------

valgrind: C++: command not found

Isn't it obvious that you have to install valgrind if the command is not found?
Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: Jenna on December 02, 2016, 09:32:42 pm
--- Application output -----------

valgrind: C++: command not found

Isn't it obvious that you have to install valgrind if the command is not found?
The previous post shows, that valgrind returns a version-number, so it seems to run.

It looks like it calls c++, which does not exist or is not in the path.
I don't see this behaviour on linux, even if I remove my c++-compiler, so this is only a guess.
Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: oBFusCATed on December 03, 2016, 12:48:25 pm
Satyajit: does valgrind work from command line?
Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: Jenna on December 03, 2016, 01:34:59 pm
@Satyajit:
Does the program run without valgrind ?
Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: Satyajit on December 06, 2016, 07:13:33 am
oBFusCATed: Using XTerm first I go to my code file directory then I run valgrind by the command

                    valgrind ./code_name.cbp

and output is

                    valgrind: ./code_name.cbp: Permission denied
Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: Satyajit on December 06, 2016, 07:20:15 am
jens: Program is running but at last stage of data printing it shows error sometimes like this,

 free():invalid next size(normal): 0*000000....
 Aborted (core dumped)

or sometimes like this,

 double free or corruption(!prev):0*00000....
 Aborted (core dumped)


etc.


And that is why want to use valgrind to debug those problems. :)
Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: killerbot on December 06, 2016, 07:47:40 am
oBFusCATed: Using XTerm first I go to my code file directory then I run valgrind by the command

                    valgrind ./code_name.cbp

and output is

                    valgrind: ./code_name.cbp: Permission denied

you should run valgrind on your executable(the program you build), not on a codeblocks project file.
Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: Satyajit on December 06, 2016, 08:09:22 am
killerbot: Thanks  :)

   But still question remains, how to use valgrind from code::blocks solely without using terminal?
Title: Re: Valgrind
Post by: BlueHazzard on December 06, 2016, 11:49:06 am
But still question remains, how to use valgrind from code::blocks solely without using terminal?
does it work without codeblocks?