Code::Blocks Forums

Developer forums (C::B DEVELOPMENT STRICTLY!) => Plugins development => Topic started by: Pecan on January 25, 2006, 12:38:40 am

Title: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: Pecan on January 25, 2006, 12:38:40 am
The output from the SVN plugin wizard does not compile.
Any chance we can get this fixed so we can study how
 the interface changed?

thanks
pecan
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: thomas on January 25, 2006, 12:50:11 am
Yes it does now. I fixed that this afternoon (at least if you are referring to the "returnfalse;" bug).

If your problem is a "struct ... has no member ..." error, then you either have to supply the configuration info (look in the core plugins how it is done), or if you don't need a config dialog, you can just delete that line.
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: Pecan on January 25, 2006, 01:02:36 am
thanks Thomas

But I'm refering to the menu item Plugins->Code::Blocks plugin wizard.
Its' output doesn't compile. It gets the "no member name hasConfigure"
error because it hasn't been updated to reflect the new "settings scheme"
manner of doing things (I'm just guessing).

Or am I really confused here?

thanks
pecan
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: thomas on January 25, 2006, 01:06:09 am
Right, you can delete that line.
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: Pecan on January 25, 2006, 01:09:43 am
Ok, I thought the generated code was suppose to have the
new way of handling the configuration settings.

Maybe not

thanks
pecan
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: Pecan on January 25, 2006, 02:18:58 am
Are you sure that the generated plugin wizard code
should be getting all these errors with no user modifications
at all?

(http://img68.imageshack.us/img68/6021/snap16sb.png) (http://imageshack.us)


thanks
pecan


[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: mandrav on January 25, 2006, 08:21:26 am
I haven't updated the wizard to reflect the latest interface changes yet.
(read my sig ;))
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: thomas on January 25, 2006, 08:32:36 am
Are you sure that the generated plugin wizard code
should be getting all these errors with no user modifications
at all?
I haven't updated the wizard to reflect the latest interface changes yet.
(read my sig ;))
Hmm yes, those empty declarations are missing. But hey, you have to implement those functions anyway, or the plugin makes no sense at all ;)
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: yop on January 25, 2006, 09:17:36 am
The BuildModuleMenu(const ModuleType type, wxMenu* menu, const FileTreeData* data); error was introduced lately (I got it yesterday). The rest were there for quite a while in the compiler plugin template. One more thing that I came across when I started a test compiler plugin to see what the provided template looks like in rev 1801 and I'm talking about the compiler plugin template: When the dialog of the plugin wizard pops up don't give a name for the plugin, just press ok and save the project as prompted. You'll get a dialog that all went OK and then another dialog "Code::Blocks error - can't open file blah blah". It's very easy to reproduce. Maybe you should check if the user hasn't provided a name for the plugin and promt the user to do so.
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: Pecan on January 25, 2006, 03:53:01 pm
Ok, I can be patient.

I really was trying to figure out if
an "ordinary Plain Jane" plugin is supposed to do its
config the old way or with the new "settings scheme".

So I generated a generic wizard to find out....
Whoops, no answer there.

So..., should Plain Jane Plugin do an "EVT_MyButton_Plushed" to
execute a dialogue, or follow the "cbConfigurationPanel"  way of
doing dialogues?

thanks
pecan


Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: mandrav on January 25, 2006, 04:02:13 pm
Quote
So..., should Plain Jane Plugin do an "EVT_MyButton_Plushed" to
execute a dialogue, or follow the "cbConfigurationPanel"  way of
doing dialogues?

I have already created a wrapper dialog to display a cbConfigurationPanel (it's in compiler). I will move this to the SDK so you can display your cbConfigurationPanels at any time without extra effort.
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: Pecan on January 25, 2006, 04:02:25 pm
By the way....

On the new "settings scheme" method, does CB
delete/destroy the dialogue, or is the plugin supposed to.

thanks
pecan
Title: Re: PluginWizard output doesn't compile
Post by: thomas on January 25, 2006, 04:09:37 pm
As always, he who owns it has to destroy it.
You give it away, so you don't own it :)