Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => General (but related to Code::Blocks) => Topic started by: alexo on January 31, 2016, 05:16:14 pm

Title: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: alexo on January 31, 2016, 05:16:14 pm
Hello,
I'm eager to try the new version of C::B on Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa.
I've downloaded the sources files and run ./configure
all went well and the message says I can run make to build the IDE.

This is the output of the command on my machine:

Code
alessandro@Aspire-5315 ~/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release $ make
 cd . && /bin/bash /home/alessandro/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release/missing automake-1.13 --foreign
/home/alessandro/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release/missing: riga 81: automake-1.13: comando non trovato
WARNING: 'automake-1.13' is missing on your system.
         You should only need it if you modified 'Makefile.am' or
         'configure.ac' or m4 files included by 'configure.ac'.
         The 'automake' program is part of the GNU Automake package:
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/automake>
         It also requires GNU Autoconf, GNU m4 and Perl in order to run:
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/autoconf>
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/m4/>
         <http://www.perl.org/>
make: *** [Makefile.in] Errore 1


automake is installed and
Code
aclocal --version
gives:

Code
aclocal (GNU automake) 1.14.1
Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by Tom Tromey <tromey@redhat.com>
       and Alexandre Duret-Lutz <adl@gnu.org>.

I got the same error message trying to compile C::B 16.01 on Tiny core Linux 6.4.1
Any help?

Many thanks
Title: Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: oBFusCATed on January 31, 2016, 06:26:50 pm
Do you have any automake installed?
Have you considered making packages?
Title: Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: stahta01 on January 31, 2016, 07:30:40 pm
What version of automake is installed?

Edit: I have both automake1.11 and automake version 1.14.1 installed on my system; something in the past needed version 1.11 no idea what it was.

Tim S.

Code
automake --version
Gives below on Debian Jessie.
Code
automake (GNU automake) 1.14.1
Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by Tom Tromey <tromey@redhat.com>
       and Alexandre Duret-Lutz <adl@gnu.org>.

Edit2
Code
automake-1.11 --version
Gives
Code
automake (GNU automake) 1.11.6
Copyright (C) 2011 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by Tom Tromey <tromey@redhat.com>
       and Alexandre Duret-Lutz <adl@gnu.org>.
Title: Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: alexo on January 31, 2016, 07:47:20 pm
I tried to install from packages but there were a dependency problem both with debian and ubuntu packages.
So I decided a neat install from sources. But I never tried before.

My output of

Code
automake --version

automake (GNU automake) 1.14.1
Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by Tom Tromey <tromey@redhat.com>
       and Alexandre Duret-Lutz <adl@gnu.org>.

when i try to auto-complete the 'auto' string in the shell i get this output:

Code
auto
autoconf       autom4te       automake-1.14  autoreconf     autoupdate
autoheader     automake       autopoint      autoscan

is it normal to have both automake and automake-1-14 installed?
Title: Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: oBFusCATed on January 31, 2016, 07:56:53 pm
I proposed building the packages yourself.
On most systems this process is well automated and handles installing dependencies or at least errors earlier when something is missing.
If we ship the boostrap script you might have some luck running it before running configure.
Title: Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: alexo on January 31, 2016, 08:38:29 pm
If you tell me the step by step procedure I can try it.
I don't know anything about package creation. Sorry.
Title: Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: oBFusCATed on January 31, 2016, 08:55:36 pm
Neither do I know how to make them for mint. But a few days ago with little searching I've learnt how to make ubuntu packages (I'm not an ubuntu/debian user). So it should not be that hard.
Title: Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: stahta01 on January 31, 2016, 09:25:51 pm
Neither do I know how to make them for mint. But a few days ago with little searching I've learnt how to make ubuntu packages (I'm not an ubuntu/debian user). So it should not be that hard.

From http://www.pcworld.com/article/3013058/linux/linux-mint-173-rosa-offers-linux-mints-most-polished-desktop-experience-yet.html (http://www.pcworld.com/article/3013058/linux/linux-mint-173-rosa-offers-linux-mints-most-polished-desktop-experience-yet.html)
Quote
Linux Mint 17.3 “Rosa” continues a series of stable releases built on the Ubuntu 14.04 LTS code.

Tim S.
Title: Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: stahta01 on January 31, 2016, 09:30:44 pm
The directions I just followed on Debian Jessie https://github.com/stahta01/cb_misc/blob/master/Notes/codeblocks_https_metadata/Build%20wxWidgets-2.8.12%20from%20source%20on%20Debian%20based%20Linux.txt (https://github.com/stahta01/cb_misc/blob/master/Notes/codeblocks_https_metadata/Build%20wxWidgets-2.8.12%20from%20source%20on%20Debian%20based%20Linux.txt)

Based on these directions http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/Installing_Code::Blocks_from_source_on_Linux (http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php/Installing_Code::Blocks_from_source_on_Linux)

Tim S.
Title: Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: BlueHazzard on January 31, 2016, 09:33:20 pm
Just my two cents:
As i understand automake is present on the system but nit detected correctly?
Code
alessandro@Aspire-5315 ~/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release $ make
 cd . && /bin/bash /home/alessandro/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release/missing automake-1.13 --foreign
/home/alessandro/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release/missing: riga 81: automake-1.13: comando non trovato
WARNING: 'automake-1.13' is missing on your system.
         You should only need it if you modified 'Makefile.am' or
         'configure.ac' or m4 files included by 'configure.ac'.
         The 'automake' program is part of the GNU Automake package:
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/automake>
         It also requires GNU Autoconf, GNU m4 and Perl in order to run:
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/autoconf>
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/m4/>
         <http://www.perl.org/>
make: *** [Makefile.in] Errore 1
automake is installed and
Code
aclocal --version
gives:
Code
aclocal (GNU automake) 1.14.1
Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by Tom Tromey <tromey@redhat.com>
       and Alexandre Duret-Lutz <adl@gnu.org>.


So this might help:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/21716385/glib2-build-cant-find-automake-1-13-when-automake-1-14-is-installed

i am no linux build system pro, but you could also try on a fresh source download
Code
./bootstrap
./configure
make

greetings
Title: Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
Post by: alexo on February 01, 2016, 07:46:54 pm
Thanks to you all I solved the problem giving the following commands

Code
automake-1.14.1
./bootstrap
./configure
make
sudo make install

but I had to add the line
/usr/local/lib
to /etc/ld.so.conf file
and then running

Code
sudo ldconfig