Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Using Code::Blocks => Topic started by: sonicstrav on June 20, 2010, 04:05:13 pm

Title: Cannot change default source code when opening new console application
Post by: sonicstrav on June 20, 2010, 04:05:13 pm
This comes up all the time:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    cout << "Hello world!" << endl;
    return 0;
}

I've changed the code under Setting>Editor>Default Code>C/C++ Source file and saved it but with a new project selecting a console app the same old 'Hello World!' stuff comes up again

How can I change the default code for this?
Title: Re: Cannot change default source code when opening new console application
Post by: oBFusCATed on June 20, 2010, 07:24:49 pm
File -> New -> Project -> right click on the template you want to modify -> Edit script....
Title: Re: Cannot change default source code when opening new console application
Post by: sonicstrav on June 20, 2010, 08:32:17 pm
Hmm.....the above code doesn't appear in the script (when right-clicking on console application)  :?
Title: Re: Cannot change default source code when opening new console application
Post by: Jenna on June 20, 2010, 08:42:42 pm
The place for the template depends on your OS, but it seems you believe we hav the second sight.
Title: Re: Cannot change default source code when opening new console application
Post by: stahta01 on June 20, 2010, 08:54:37 pm
Hmm.....the above code doesn't appear in the script (when right-clicking on console application)  :?

Failed for me, also. Looks like Windows 7 security redesign type issue. I am using Windows 6.1 32 bit AKA Windows 7.

Looks like it was user error on my part; it works but not like I think it should; I never found a way to edit the c/cpp source code file thou the GUI.


The folder containing source code file to be edited on my machine:

 

My best guess on the files to edit are:
console.cbp
console.template
console-main-c.cpp
console-main-cpp.cpp


Destination under Windows 7 of modified files should be
(The folder is create/updated when the GUI is used to edit the script)

Code
%APPDATA%\codeblocks\share\codeblocks\templates\wizard\console

I copied the missing files from
Code
%ProgramFiles%\CodeBlocks\share\CodeBlocks\templates\wizard\console

The I edited the main.cpp file in the "cpp" folder. I then started Code::Blocks and it worked for me.

Tim S.


Title: Re: Cannot change default source code when opening new console application
Post by: sonicstrav on June 21, 2010, 12:50:44 am
Thanks for your help, I'll try this  8)  :D
I am using Windows 7 ...sorry I wasn't specific enough
Title: Re: Cannot change default source code when opening new console application
Post by: WantCbPersonalized on October 13, 2012, 10:32:38 pm
Hello there,

I came to this topic because it is the most related with my problem. I also want to have a default code, so that i don't have to write every time #include... and using namespace std or ifstream fin(" .in/out"); .I don't know where I am doing wrong. I always start with ctrl shift n, a  empty file, and not project like many others. When I start a new file nothing appears, neither the Hello world thing, and I want to appear my default code. I know about the default code in Setting Editor Default code, but none of what I've written in there seems to appear ANYWHERE. What should I do?

Thank you in advance.
Title: Re: Cannot change default source code when opening new console application
Post by: Jenna on October 13, 2012, 10:42:39 pm
What should I do?

Use "File -> New -> File... -> C/C++ source".
"CTRL+SHIFT+N" creates an empty file with no type.
The default code settings you have edited are either for C/C++ sources or headers.
Title: Re: Cannot change default source code when opening new console application
Post by: WantCbPersonalized on October 13, 2012, 10:56:02 pm
Thank you a lot! That worked! Sometimes CB is so tricky ;D