Code::Blocks

User forums => Announcements => Topic started by: mandrav on October 25, 2005, 11:48:24 am

Title: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: mandrav on October 25, 2005, 11:48:24 am
After almost 3 months since the last release, we 're happy to announce the availability of version 1.0-ReleaseCandidate2!
Many enhancements and bug-fixes are contained in this release.

Here are the major changes since 1.0-ReleaseCandidate1:

   - Code statistics: counts nr. of source lines, nr. of comment lines, etc.
   - CBProfiler: parses and displays the output of GProf, the GNU Profiler.
   - SourceExporter: exports the active file to HTML/RTF/ODT.

   - Fortran77 (by Morten MacFly)
   - NVidia CG (by anonymous)
   - X-Base languages (Clipper,  Foxpro)

   - SDCC program
   - Irrlicht 3D Graphics Engine
   - Ogre 3D Graphics Engine
   - GLFW project (OpenGL FrameWork)
   - wxWidgets: selection between static/dynamic unicode/ansi wxWidgets version.

   - "Find declaration of [keyword]"
   - "Open #include file: [file]"

We hope you enjoy this release!

On behalf of the Code::Blocks Team,
Yiannis.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: armink on October 25, 2005, 11:54:43 am
I just simply say "THANKS"   :D
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: takeshi miya on October 25, 2005, 12:52:13 pm
CONGRATULATIONS! :D
Most waited release ever?

There are lots of major changes from the RC1!!
I'm going to download it right now!

Time to celebrate all the efforts and spread the word!
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: dwelty on October 25, 2005, 05:15:56 pm
COOL! THANKS! :D
Great job guys. This is the best IDE ever.


Minor issue though:
The CVS/SVN plugin crashes CB when it's installed. Says it can't find "svn.exe".
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: kalxas on October 25, 2005, 05:22:07 pm
THANK YOU GUYS!
GREAT JOB!

Kalxas
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: KKwet on October 25, 2005, 05:31:38 pm
THANK YOU GUYS!!
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: Ceniza on October 25, 2005, 05:36:45 pm
Finally! :)

RC2 is a pretty nice job full of great improvements...

Thank you guys :D
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: st3vie on October 25, 2005, 06:43:14 pm
congrats and a big thanks to the team!

This IDE is getting better with every step! :D

-st3vie
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: Funto on October 25, 2005, 07:14:47 pm
Yeah  8)
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: Vampyre_Dark on October 25, 2005, 09:01:28 pm
Can my colour settings cross over? I don't want to take another 2 hours tryng to set them again.  :lol:

And something I hate when I see OSS projects put out release notes is:

# Many new editor settings.
# Many other bug-fixes.

You should be more specific here. We can't read your minds. Is the whitespace removal implemented?

Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: mandrav on October 25, 2005, 09:27:12 pm
And something I hate when I see OSS projects put out release notes is:

# Many new editor settings.
# Many other bug-fixes.

You should be more specific here. We can't read your minds. Is the whitespace removal implemented?

Yes, it is implemented.
Hate it or not, this is a "major highlights" list. If we would list each and every change in this, then this wouldn't be an announcement but the change log itself.
If you want to check *exactly* what 's changed you can view the ChangeLog (it doesn't get any more detailed ;)).
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: Vampyre_Dark on October 25, 2005, 09:36:16 pm
Yes, it is implemented.
*Virtual very awkward man hug!*

I see it in the options and it's toggled by default.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: MortenMacFly on October 25, 2005, 09:55:37 pm
 :D Just a single sentence: Thanks a lot!!! :D
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: nfz on October 25, 2005, 11:38:32 pm
Bravo!
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: hongxing on October 26, 2005, 01:50:10 am
thanks a lot for your works, thanks!

what I concerned is to use my Makefile to build the project.
another question is it can not map its shortcut key when I am using vnc, it bothers me.

thanks anyway
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: darklordsatan on October 26, 2005, 05:27:26 am
Im pleased to see a new RC today after not visiting the site for a while!!!!
Guess my timing was perfect  8)
 :D

Nice job y'all. Looking better everyday.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: RandomMan on October 26, 2005, 05:39:00 am
...
  • Precompiled headers (PCH) support! (currently works only with GCC)
Evidentally you are talking about some 'auto-recognition' of the headers to precompile (?), as I have PCH's working correctly using VC Toolkit compiler in RC1.  You just have to do something like the following at the top of each .cpp file in your project:

#include "TheUnitsToPrecompile.h"
#pragma hdrstop

Then add all of the ones you want to be included in the precompiled header phase in "TheUnitsToPrecompile.h" file...  Works like a charm.

(This same technique works with all the other environments I have tried it on.)

Great job, guys!  Thanks!
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: hongxing on October 26, 2005, 08:50:39 am
how to download the rc2 linux version ?
Title: windows svn/cvs plugin load error.
Post by: hongxing on October 26, 2005, 08:51:45 am
when C::B startups in windows, It popups a fatal error.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: David Perfors on October 26, 2005, 09:02:22 am
that's a known bug (see the download page)
Title: Re: windows svn/cvs plugin load error.
Post by: mandrav on October 26, 2005, 09:11:19 am
when C::B startups in windows, It popups a fatal error.

It's a known issue with the svn plugin. Please disable it or remove it.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: hongxing on October 26, 2005, 09:40:09 am
a pity!
It's greate if C::B can support svn both in windows and in Linux!
Title: important bug found: can not compile after adding .h file to project!!!
Post by: hongxing on October 26, 2005, 09:44:23 am
do the following:
1. generate a wxWidgets project using wizard.
2. add a class using class plugin.

now you can not compile the project in either "invoke compiler directly" option or "work with makefile (GNU "make" is requred)" option

it's urgent!
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: mandrav on October 26, 2005, 10:47:24 am
Please post bug reports in different threads, don't mix them!
Even better, submit it at sf.net.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: Serge2005 on October 27, 2005, 08:02:01 pm
Thanks to all Code::Blocks Team, you have done good work.
Every release becomes better and better, I am a fan of Code::Blocks forever.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: kcfelix on October 28, 2005, 02:26:56 am
Guys, so many thanks for the good job!
OMG, just the SmartIdent fix is a great relief..  :)

Well, I agree with the guy who said that you should give an option to save the workspace. It's a very seful feature and I'm using lots of workspaces in the last days and I would just loooooooove it...

oh, sorry, got carried away... I know that this is no place for feature request  ;)

Cheers, guys, and keep up the good work!
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: MortenMacFly on October 28, 2005, 08:43:10 am
Well, I agree with the guy who said that you should give an option to save the workspace.
This options exists! Menu: File -> Save Workspace or File -> Save Workspace as...

...or am I missing something?!

Morten.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: kcfelix on October 29, 2005, 06:40:28 pm
Quote
This options exists! Menu: File -> Save Workspace or File -> Save Workspace as...
Sorry, it was about Creating a new workspace, not Saving an existing one ^^'
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: rickg22 on October 29, 2005, 06:57:24 pm
Just close all projects and open the ones you want. Then save workspace as.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: MortenMacFly on October 29, 2005, 07:15:17 pm
Just close all projects and open the ones you want. Then save workspace as.

I fully agree. I don't understand the discussion about the feature "Create new Workspace". Where is the difference???
-> Eighter you choose "Create new Workspace" and add a new project or you choose "Close all projects" and add a new project after that. Only the first option would be another (redundant) menu entry...  :?

Morten.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: kcfelix on October 29, 2005, 08:03:28 pm
Quote
I fully agree. I don't understand the discussion about the feature "Create new Workspace". Where is the difference???
-> Eighter you choose "Create new Workspace" and add a new project or you choose "Close all projects" and add a new project after that. Only the first option would be another (redundant) menu entry...  :?

Well, It's just a matter of being intuitive. It doesn't make it very clear that you can use lots of workspaces. It took me a while to figure out a way to create new workspaces because it's just ankward this way. And suppose I have a workspace with some dozens of projects. I have then to do dozens of right clicks and popup menu interactions just to close all of my projects and then save the workspace.
Well, the option is not just a redundant menu entry, is the consolidation of an abstraction concept. It would be nice to have a nice dialog to choose your workspace name and then where to save it, and even some global options to apply to all the underlying projects would be nice (but it would be more difficult to implement than a simple input-name-and-path-dialog) but then why should I choose the name of my workspace if I can change it from the right click menu.
Well, then i start to wonder why use an IDE anyways since we can do everything from asm... seens a bit redundant too...  :?
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: kcfelix on October 29, 2005, 08:07:11 pm
BTW, I don't see the feature 'Close all projects' anywhere... if it really existed it would be really a lot easier, but still slow and unintuitive...
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: thomas on October 29, 2005, 08:12:01 pm
BTW, I don't see the feature 'Close all projects' anywhere... if it really existed it would be really a lot easier, but still slow and unintuitive...

Sometimes, it helps to look :)

(http://img459.imageshack.us/img459/435/closeall8fs.png)
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: MortenMacFly on October 29, 2005, 08:33:40 pm
{image}
Seeing this I guess I understand, why it might be difficult and hard to find. See: In the project menu (note the singular) most of the options apply to that very single project (which is currently active). Maybe "Close all projects" should just be moved into the file menu?

...mandrav?!

Morten.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: thomas on October 29, 2005, 08:43:19 pm
Well, "Close all projects" is just below "Close [one] project", seems like the logical place to me.

What particularly struck me was the wording "if it really existed". This implies that Rick is telling fairy tales?
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: kcfelix on October 29, 2005, 08:46:05 pm
Oh it's in the Project menu... -.-

But I still think that a workspace is a very helpful abstraction concept to aid in the organization of a project when it consists of several subprojects and it wouldn't be any hard to provide the simple option to create a new workspace in a painless way. If the concept itself could be evolved later to store even more information about the projects grouped under the workspace it would be great, but this single option would really fit nice in the UI.

Or give the option to add menu entry with Macro combination and I woudl add one 'Create new workspace' that would call 'Save Workspace', 'Close all projects', 'Rename Workspace' and then 'Save workspace as'. But it's so much easier to call the respective function from inside the code  :roll:

Well, you just can't please everyone, I know but if it doesn't hurt anybody why not put the option? :D

What particularly struck me was the wording "if it really existed". This implies that Rick is telling fairy tales?

No, no... not at all. At the very moment of my post the menu entry doesn't seemed to exist for me, and rick didn't wrote about the option in his post. He just said to close all projects.

Seeing this I guess I understand, why it might be difficult and hard to find. See: In the project menu (note the singular) most of the options apply to that very single project (which is currently active). Maybe "Close all projects" should just be moved into the file menu?

And I think Morten is right. 'Close All Projects' should be under File menu not under Project menu...

Ok, I know I'm making a big deal of this, but I've never imagined that this would generate such comotion :shock:
I thought it would be simply nice to have a 'Create New Workspace' option
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: MortenMacFly on October 29, 2005, 10:56:36 pm
Well, "Close all projects" is just below "Close [one] project", seems like the logical place to me.
No contradiction - it makes perfect sense (for me that is). Hence, the same entries are in the "File" menu and there "Close all projects" is missing. In my humble opinion it fits there as well - and maybe even better since it is would be next to "File" (in general) and "Workspace" related stuff.

Morten.

Ps.: This will be my last comment on this topic...  :lol:
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: jmccay on October 30, 2005, 07:55:51 pm
I posted the RC2 announcement on "The C++ Source"  http://www.artima.com/forums/flat.jsp?forum=269&thread=134502.  Maybe it might bring a little more attention to the project.

Joe
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: jokerar on November 08, 2005, 06:01:41 am
Congrats to your new release. Its been a while.
Well done guys, keep it up !!!
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: Ceniza on November 23, 2005, 05:10:17 pm
Pretty interesting...

We should give it a gift to the smart one.
Title: Re: Version 1.0rc2 released!
Post by: thomas on November 23, 2005, 05:30:25 pm
Yeah, I am just running ab on that site...