Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => General (but related to Code::Blocks) => Topic started by: TeddyKrulewich on July 24, 2006, 08:20:18 pm

Title: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 24, 2006, 08:20:18 pm
How do i make an rpm for SuSe 10. I want to make one of the nightly builds run on SuSe 10. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TheTuxKeeper on July 24, 2006, 11:44:50 pm
It's quite easy ;)
1. Download the svn sources (http://www.codeblocks.org/source_code.shtml)
2. run ./bootstrap and ./configure --enable-contrib
3. run make dist, this will create a .tar.gz with the sources.
4. move the source tar.gz as root to /usr/src/packages/SOURCES
    e.g. sudo mv codeblocks-trunk-r2779.tar.gz /usr/src/packages/SOURCES
5. start building the RPM with sudo rpmbuild -bb --target=i586 codeblocks.spec
6. This will create several packages in /usr/src/packages/RPMS/i586. These are:

Usually you need only the main and the contrib package. The rest is only needed if you need an precise debug output (debuginfo) or you want to write plugins (devel)
I will also update the wiki the next days (had no time yet).

Happy building and codeblocking  :D
Daniel
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 25, 2006, 04:53:24 pm
this is as far as i got:
teddy@linux:~/cb/trunk> ./bootstrap
You should add the contents of `/usr/share/aclocal/libtool.m4' to `aclocal.m4'.
aclocal:configure.in:63: warning: macro `AM_OPTIONS_WXCONFIG' not found in library
aclocal:configure.in:64: warning: macro `AM_PATH_WXCONFIG' not found in library
configure.in: installing `./install-sh'
configure.in: installing `./missing'
src/plugins/astyle/Makefile.am: installing `./depcomp'
configure.in:63: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_OPTIONS_WXCONFIG
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.
configure.in:64: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_PATH_WXCONFIG
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TheTuxKeeper on July 25, 2006, 06:01:21 pm
You need these packages to compile codeblocks: wxGTK-devel, zip, subversion, update-desktop-files, make, gettext, autoconf >= 2.5, automake >= 1.7, libtool >= 1.4, m4, intltool, gcc-c++ and libstdc++-devel (that's the full list ;)).
You haven't installed wxGTK-devel at least.
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 25, 2006, 06:06:50 pm
I looked in yast2 for wxgtk-devel and it wasnt there
[EDIT] I tried building wxgtk from the wiki instuctions but i think i did somehing wrong  :(
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TheTuxKeeper on July 25, 2006, 06:34:24 pm
wxGTK-devel is in the base repository. Perhaps you searched case sensitive ?

EDIT: it's wxGTK not wxgtk ;)
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 25, 2006, 07:28:57 pm
i dont have it as an option for installing. I just have wxGTK and wxGTK-compat
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TheTuxKeeper on July 25, 2006, 07:53:46 pm
It has to be there! :P
Do you use yast ? And do you use a mirror as installation source (perhaps it's broken) or the CDs/DVD ?
Try to add/replace with another mirror (SUSE Mirrors (http://en.opensuse.org/Mirrors_Development_Build)).

There has to be wxGTK, wxGTK-compat, wxGTK-devel, wxGTK-debuginfo and wxGTK-gl
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 25, 2006, 08:47:53 pm
I do use yast and i install from 5 cds
edit:
I added a mirror instalation source and now have the packages
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 25, 2006, 10:05:51 pm
i get an error message on step 5 but it seems like it is almost working :( also the stupid forum will not let me post the error message or attach a text file
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TheTuxKeeper on July 25, 2006, 10:15:44 pm
You can paste your error message to: http://rafb.net/paste/ and then post the link ;)
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 25, 2006, 10:17:33 pm
here is the link :) http://rafb.net/paste/results/JbFdDL77.html
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TheTuxKeeper on July 25, 2006, 10:22:39 pm
could you paste some more lines. That only shows that there is an error, but the error itself is some lines above ;)

EDIT: Do you use SUSE 10.1 ?
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 25, 2006, 10:26:34 pm
i sort of use suse 10.1. It says suse 10.1 but it is actually suse 10.2 alpha 2
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 25, 2006, 10:32:57 pm
new link lots of stuff to read but some got clipped off by konsole http://rafb.net/paste/results/D7xERH11.html
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TheTuxKeeper on July 25, 2006, 10:37:58 pm
i sort of use suse 10.1. It says suse 10.1 but it is actually suse 10.2 alpha 2
Ok, then it's won't compile without modifying the sources, because there are some (or only one) issues with gcc 4.1, where codeblocks don't compile. There's a thread with a work-around. Here is it: http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3481.msg27532#msg27532

EDIT: Modify the sources and go on with point 3 again :)
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 25, 2006, 10:53:10 pm
it still doesnt work :( is there a way to downgrade my gcc
edit:
actually i tried it one more time and i think its working im not sure though its not done :)
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TheTuxKeeper on July 25, 2006, 11:09:57 pm
it still doesnt work :( is there a way to downgrade my gcc
edit:
actually i tried it one more time and i think its working im not sure though its not done :)
If it doesn't work installing gcc 4.0 is the only way to get it work (but killerbot uses 10.1 and the work-around worked for him). Some post under the work-aound post it is described (http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3481.msg27597#msg27597). It should work nearly the same with suse.

But I think you won't need this. The error you got has been the only one concerning gcc 4.1 ;)
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 25, 2006, 11:14:08 pm
didnt you read the edit it said i think i got it working, and thanks a LOT!!!!!! You helped me when noone else would.
:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

edit:
also If they dont get someone building suse rpms i might see if there is a way i can build them for who ever is in charge of these things
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TheTuxKeeper on July 25, 2006, 11:24:11 pm
didnt you read the edit it said i think i got it working, and thanks a LOT!!!!!! You helped me when noone else would.
:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
Great. :D
edit:
also If they dont get someone building suse rpms i might see if there is a way i can build them for who ever is in charge of these things
killerbot wants to build suse rpms. But I think he hasn't got the time yet. But there will be suse builds ;)
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: TeddyKrulewich on July 26, 2006, 01:29:31 am
Ir compiles but doesnt run right :(

EDIT:
How do i get an older version of gcc and install it?
Title: Re: how to make rpm for own distro of linux
Post by: mdelfede on July 26, 2006, 07:47:28 pm
it still doesnt work :( is there a way to downgrade my gcc
edit:
actually i tried it one more time and i think its working im not sure though its not done :)
If it doesn't work installing gcc 4.0 is the only way to get it work (but killerbot uses 10.1 and the work-around worked for him). Some post under the work-aound post it is described (http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3481.msg27597#msg27597). It should work nearly the same with suse.

But I think you won't need this. The error you got has been the only one concerning gcc 4.1 ;)

The workaround DON'T work, at least for me... It allows compilation of C::B, but scripting is broken, and with it half of functionality of C::B.
The only reliable way I've found is to install gcc 4.0.3 as an additional compiler and do with it.

Ciao

Max