Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Help => Topic started by: hackwrench on August 11, 2005, 07:04:38 am

Title: More VC Madness
Post by: hackwrench on August 11, 2005, 07:04:38 am
After importing a vc project the compiler won't work without closing and restarting the Codeblocks IDE. Also if it is present, it should be the compiler for a project imported from vc. Also, I got cl : Command line error D2004 : '/W' requires an argument.  I don't see a way to change this in compiler settings. In Build Options|Other Options

-DWIN32
-DNDEBUG
-D_WINDOWS
-D_WIN32_WINNT=0x0501
-Wall
-g

Also, http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,321.0.html to the contrary, neither the Platform SDK nor VC++ Toolkit contain cvtres.exe

Found a copy in C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v1.1.4322 which also contains the C# compiler, which it would be cool if it worked with Codeblocks.
Title: Re: More VC Madness
Post by: grv575 on August 11, 2005, 07:37:47 pm
Better not to go into C:\windows for tools.

It is there (PlatformSDK), but under the bin/win64 dir.  (lib.exe also).  They work fine for 32-bit windows.  My guess is that MS has not written 64-bit versions of these tools yet and just lets the 32-bit versions run in emulation mode on 64-bit machines...

2nd, I don't like the idea of the default compiler changing on me when importing projects.  If I was working with a lot of msw, prj files then I'm most likely to use vc++ toolkit by default.

You should probably just remove the -Wall flag.  This has to be fixed.  CodeBlocks should be better at emitting correct flags for the selected compiler, e.g. get rid of these on creating new project (with vc++ toolkit as default):
-pipe
-mthreads
-fno-pcc-struct-return
-fno-rtti
-fno-exceptions
Title: Re: More VC Madness
Post by: hackwrench on August 12, 2005, 08:13:06 pm
I am finding I am having to manually add libraries under Compile|Compiler Options|Linker|Link libraries:|Add
Placing directories in Compile|Compiler Options|Directory|Linker doesn't seem to work. Also I selected Clean and am now getting a command execution failed error. It isn't going away when closing and reopening Codeblocks.
Title: Re: More VC Madness
Post by: rickg22 on August 12, 2005, 08:30:12 pm
We're currently having a problem with linker messages. The linker line doesn't display the results.

So the linker aborts, and the only message you see is "command execution failed". It usually means it's missing some libraries. You might want to try selecting "use makefiles" and see what results you get. I just hope it works with VC, tho.
Title: Re: More VC Madness
Post by: hackwrench on August 12, 2005, 11:23:03 pm
But CL.exe doesn't appear to be running

Project   : TaskSwitchXP
Compiler  : Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003 (called directly)
Directory : C:\TaskSwitchXP\
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Switching to target: Debug
Command execution failed...
Title: Re: More VC Madness
Post by: rickg22 on August 12, 2005, 11:58:07 pm
The "Command Execution failed" could mean many things. In this case, it means that the program aborted. Or that it couldn't be found.
Title: Re: More VC Madness
Post by: grv575 on August 13, 2005, 12:01:52 am
1.  Is that output from the CB screen or from a cmd.exe prompt using make?
2.  Does it compile OK for the Release build?
3.  For the debug build does it have the path to the debug versions of the C libraries (libcd, msvcrtd, etc.)?

Title: Re: More VC Madness
Post by: hackwrench on August 13, 2005, 02:17:06 am
The Release build won't go either. Nothing goes into the release folder.