Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Help => Topic started by: aboehm on February 20, 2018, 09:28:30 pm

Title: No squiggly line errors showing up
Post by: aboehm on February 20, 2018, 09:28:30 pm
Hello everyone. I just switched from using Visual Studio for a long time because for some reason, #include <p.thread.h> does not work in Visual Studio at all. The issue I am requesting help on is error highlighting. Codeblocks doesn't seem to have any error highlight until after you compile, even then, it's just a red box next to the line. I can type in random gibberish and it doesn't get highlighted.

I am trying to write a C program that uses multithreading with a counter, it uses function pointers.
Title: Re: No squiggly line errors showing up
Post by: BlueHazzard on February 20, 2018, 10:03:07 pm
Codeblocks does not have just in time compilation...

There is a plugin in work, but it will need some time... If you are in the mood to test new things you can find it here: https://github.com/yvesdm3000/ClangLib/tree/staging

And why the hell is the line not enough? read the error message.. there is everything you need to know...
Title: Re: No squiggly line errors showing up
Post by: sodev on February 21, 2018, 08:27:22 pm
I just switched from using Visual Studio for a long time because for some reason, #include <p.thread.h> does not work in Visual Studio at all.
For someone like him, this feature will speed up his development process significantly ;D. Sorry, i couldn't resist.
Title: Re: No squiggly line errors showing up
Post by: MrDixioner on June 15, 2020, 06:40:13 am
Two years have passed and the program still does not know how to highlight errors. Why does it work in Eclipse, Visual Studio Code and other editors? I really like codeblocks, but I really miss the error highlighting while writing code: it’s much better and faster to track errors when they are immediately visible, and not wait for compilation. A lot of time is lost.
Title: Re: No squiggly line errors showing up
Post by: BlueHazzard on June 15, 2020, 08:16:56 am
Quote
Why does it work in Eclipse, Visual Studio Code and other editors?
Because visual studio has a multi billion dollar company financing the developers, Eclipse has many multi million dollar companies behind it financing things, QTCreator has a multi million dollar company sponsoring things, and codeblocks has 2-5 devs that have to find time to fix bugs, comment in the forum, keep up with new technologies, implement new features and somehow have time to work for financing the living and get some free time with family and for recreation. The day has sadly only 24h and somewhere in this 24h we have to sleep...

Any help is welcome: Read in the Tickets at SF, try to find bugs and report them with detail, Search for language server and try to implement a plugin that implements your just in time compilation...