Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Nightly builds => Topic started by: killerbot on September 19, 2006, 08:40:28 pm

Title: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on September 19, 2006, 08:40:28 pm
Get quick announcements through the RSS feed http://www.codeblocks.org/nightly/CodeBlock_RSS.xml

A link to the unicode windows wxWidget dll for Code::Blocks : http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/wxmsw26u_gcc_cb_wx2.6.3p2.7z

For those who might need this one (when no MingW installed on your system) : the mingw10m.dll : http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/mingwm10.7z

For support of ansi builds, a link to the ansi windows wxWidget dll for Code::Blocks : http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/wxmsw26_gcc_cb_wx2.6.3p2.7z

The 19 September 2006 build is out.
  - Windows : http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_20060919_rev2982_win32.7z
  - Linux :
         http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_20060919_rev2982_Ubuntu6.06.deb
         http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_20060919_rev2982_fc4+5.rpm


Resolved Fixed:


Regressions/Confirmed/Annoying/Common bugs:


Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: Visitor on September 19, 2006, 09:40:31 pm
I'm a new user of CodeBlocks (switching from Dev-C++) and for the past couple days I've been using the nighly builds of CodeBlocks (Including this build) to reorganize my code.

I've found a few quirks that may not technically be bugs, but are close enough that end users might consider them as such.

I was going to add some typecasts to a bunch of constants I have, so I was doing a search and replace to change ) to )) and then I was going to add the typecast to the front using S&R as well.

Rather than doing a big 'select' block and change them all at once, I was doing them one at a time by pressing the 'y' key or clicking on the 'yes' button on the message box.

While doing this, I noticed that if I pressed the 'y' key too quickly (to replace the match and go on to the next), I could some times get multiple replacements at a single spot.  So instead of having )) I might have )))

Also, while retrying this experiment, I noticed several times that CodeBlocks would delete sections of my code.  Not replacing stuff, but just deleting it.  (I checked by saving the file and opening it with another editor.  The code was gone, so it's not a display problem.)

I did this last experiment about 5 times and could do it consistantly.  All I had to do was click my mouse button just an instant before the menu poped up again (while it was still doing the current replace) and a section of text would select and then when the menu popped up, the accidently selected code would disappear.

I know, I know... don't click before the menu pops up.  But when you are in a hurry to change 100+ things through out the code, it happens.

These may not be genuine bugs.  The program may be operating as intended, but a user having code unexpectedly deleted during a search & replace isn't going to look at it that way.  We're going to look at it as a bug.

(Oh, and I'm doing this on an older P3-800 system.  So it's just slow enough that the replace isn't happening 'instantly', hence there's enough time for me to click in between.  On a faster modern system, the replace probably happens so fast that you developers wouldn't really have a chance to do this, without some really bad luck timing.)



Also, I don't know where to post this, but could you add a tiny feature...  In the project pane, could it be possible to right-click on a section (source, header, sub-dir) to add a new file, instead of having to go through the menu options?  Since the project tree has the sub-dirs, you could right click on it and just enter the filename and have it automatically created and placed in the right spot.  That would be a bit more convenient during early development.  You can add existing files that way, so it seems to make sense to be able to create new files that way too.

Of course, I know you are approaching 'feature freeze', so I certainly don't want to be responsible for a delay.

Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: artoj on September 19, 2006, 09:52:26 pm
There seems to be something weird going on with the menus.

OS: WinXP

Steps to reproduce:

1. Open Code::Blocks and some random file.
2. Right click on the editor and note the menu sizes
3. Click File menu and click it again.
4. Right click on the editor again, the menu size is different.

This has something to do with menu images because if you click on e.g. Tools menu on step 3 the result is as expected.

It's most likely a wxWidgets problem, I'll try to report it to them after I get a test case done.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: Pecan on September 19, 2006, 10:47:13 pm
There seems to be something weird going on with the menus.

OS: WinXP

Steps to reproduce:

1. Open Code::Blocks and some random file.
2. Right click on the editor and note the menu sizes
3. Click File menu and click it again.
4. Right click on the editor again, the menu size is different.

This has something to do with menu images because if you click on e.g. Tools menu on step 3 the result is as expected.

It's most likely a wxWidgets problem, I'll try to report it to them after I get a test case done.

I dont seem to have (or understand) the problem (winXP). The editor context menu resizes itself according to it's inserted or removed items.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: takeshimiya on September 19, 2006, 11:08:42 pm
There seems to be something weird going on with the menus.

OS: WinXP

Steps to reproduce:

1. Open Code::Blocks and some random file.
2. Right click on the editor and note the menu sizes
3. Click File menu and click it again.
4. Right click on the editor again, the menu size is different.

This has something to do with menu images because if you click on e.g. Tools menu on step 3 the result is as expected.

It's most likely a wxWidgets problem, I'll try to report it to them after I get a test case done.

I can reproduce, it's subtle for sure, and it haves to do with menu images for sure too.

Also, regarding menu items with icon not correctly aligned (since wx263) I want to note that this doesn't happens only in Windows, but on other platforms and other wxWidgets programs also.

The correct solution could come from wxWidgets, but in the meantime, transparent icons should suffice.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: Belgabor on September 19, 2006, 11:55:45 pm
Hi guys,

I also switched from Dev-C++ (actually wxDev-C++) recently. Although it took me some time to set things up (doing static builds with wx-2.7) now everything runs to my satisfaction :D

I noticed some bugs with splitted windows though, the second (splitted of) view seems to be the step-child :)
The second might be considiered a missing feature, but the first is certainly a bug.

PS: Using CB on windows, this nightly.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: Pecan on September 20, 2006, 04:07:38 am
Hi guys,

I also switched from Dev-C++ (actually wxDev-C++) recently. Although it took me some time to set things up (doing static builds with wx-2.7) now everything runs to my satisfaction :D

I noticed some bugs with splitted windows though, the second (splitted of) view seems to be the step-child :)
  • If I click on the left margin (to fold, set breakpoints) the event is processed in the first view (vertical split: something else folds there, horizontal split: the click scrolls the first view up and down, it seems to 'hit' the scroll bar).
  • All the navigational features (Symbol list, function dropdown) of CB only act on the first view, not the one that has the focus as I expect.
The second might be considiered a missing feature, but the first is certainly a bug.

PS: Using CB on windows, this nightly.

Item 1 is also true of "search in files " results. Event if the second window has the focus, clicked items show in the non-focused window.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: artoj on September 20, 2006, 09:15:37 am
The editor menu wasn't maybe a very good example, if we look at the menu of Code snippets you can see effects clearly.

Before (normal):

(http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/pub/codeblocks/debug/cs-menu-normal.png)

After:

(http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/pub/codeblocks/debug/cs-menu-corrupt.png)

The "corruption" seems like it's missing the menu images (which don't even exist) so it won't even show the scope menu's check mark.

I'm fairly sure that this issue is because of XRC loaded menus in the main application.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: artoj on September 20, 2006, 10:07:49 am
One of the roots of the problem "why the menus look like this" can be seen in these screen shots I took while testing C::B on Vista.

First image showing the Project menu, the menu has no images:

Image 1 (http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/pub/codeblocks/debug/cb-vista-project-mnu.png)

Second image showing the Build menu, the menu has images:

Image 2 (http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/pub/codeblocks/debug/cb-vista-build-mnu.png)

As you can see, the first menu is drawn with native style the second is not. And why it isn't drawn with native style? It's because Windows doesn't support menu images natively through WinAPI. If you look some of the applications that come with Windows like Notepad, Wordpad, Paint, none of these have menu images in them. So in order to have menu images they have to be hacked or a rewritten menu control has to be introduced. wxWidgets currently uses the hack approach and the results are what they are.

By they way, in the background you can see that all the toolbar images work as intended. At least MS managed to do one thing right in Vista.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: PsYhLo on September 20, 2006, 11:21:02 am
one stupid question how to activate Code Snippets plugin :)
from where i can activate the panel like Symbol Browser


:D
i activated it by my self

just switch my translation to the default
because there are missing string in the POT file that Yiannis Mandravellos is put on https://launchpad.net/products/codeblocks/

Sorry for my bad english
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: Phoenix on September 20, 2006, 12:48:31 pm
It seams that there is a problem with correct alignment of code completion pop-up window. If you are typing at the right hand side of the screen pop-up window is going off-screen and you can't see what is inside. I know that there was such behaviour in very older release. I could have fix it by turning on "Enhanced multi-monitor dialog placement", but right now it doesn't help.

Using:
Windows XP sp2 classic look
C::B this nightly

Link to previous solution (doesn't work in this release):
http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3182.0 (http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?topic=3182.0)

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: artoj on September 20, 2006, 12:59:25 pm
I was going to add some typecasts to a bunch of constants I have, so I was doing a search and replace to change ) to )) and then I was going to add the typecast to the front using S&R as well.

Rather than doing a big 'select' block and change them all at once, I was doing them one at a time by pressing the 'y' key or clicking on the 'yes' button on the message box.

While doing this, I noticed that if I pressed the 'y' key too quickly (to replace the match and go on to the next), I could some times get multiple replacements at a single spot.  So instead of having )) I might have )))

I can't reproduce this. I tried pressing Y and clicking Yes as fast I could but I only got one replace. However if I held Y down all the time I could get extra "y" before the replaced text.

Quote
Also, while retrying this experiment, I noticed several times that CodeBlocks would delete sections of my code.  Not replacing stuff, but just deleting it.  (I checked by saving the file and opening it with another editor.  The code was gone, so it's not a display problem.)

I did this last experiment about 5 times and could do it consistantly.  All I had to do was click my mouse button just an instant before the menu poped up again (while it was still doing the current replace) and a section of text would select and then when the menu popped up, the accidently selected code would disappear.

I'm seeing this too. If I click the editor all the with my mouse and hit the Y key to replace I could remove parts of my code. It's a bug but in my normal workflow I wouldn't encounter it.

Quote
(Oh, and I'm doing this on an older P3-800 system.  So it's just slow enough that the replace isn't happening 'instantly', hence there's enough time for me to click in between.  On a faster modern system, the replace probably happens so fast that you developers wouldn't really have a chance to do this, without some really bad luck timing.)

On my system (AMD64 3200+) it's possible to click between the dialog popup but you have to know exactly when to click.

I've old Celeron 733mhz system lying somewhere, I'll test how the replace is handled on that system.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: artoj on September 20, 2006, 01:00:46 pm
Double post.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: Schlumie on September 20, 2006, 01:01:37 pm
Hi... I use CB with an ARC embedded compiler and it works great!
But one thing doesnt seem to work for me. When i define a union it doesnt come up in the codecompletition symbol window.
e.g.:
union YYY
   {
   int a;
   };
Doesnt show up.... is this right ?
PS: Sorry for doublepost... but TAB+{ is "clicking" the save button..  :-)
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: artoj on September 20, 2006, 01:06:17 pm
Hi... I use CB with an ARC embedded compiler and it works great!
But one thing doesnt seem to work for me. When i define a union it doesnt come up in the codecompletition symbol window.
e.g.:
union YYY
   {
   int a;
   };
Doesnt show up.... is this right ?

As far as I know, unions are not currently supported.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: Schlumie on September 20, 2006, 01:16:29 pm
As far as I know, unions are not currently supported.
Should'nt it be parsed like "struct" ? Ok, the data is stored on the same memposition, but this doesnt matter for the codecompletition... so if union and struct would be be handled the same way for the code completition it would be ok ?
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: Pecan on September 20, 2006, 02:06:09 pm
if we look at the menu of Code snippets you can see effects clearly.
...<snip>...
The "corruption" seems like it's missing the menu images (which don't even exist) so it won't even show the scope menu's check mark.

I'm fairly sure that this issue is because of XRC loaded menus in the main application.

Would you turn KeyBinder off and see if the problem still exists.

Because Keybinder reWrites images and menu items, I'm always suspicious.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: artoj on September 20, 2006, 02:31:08 pm
Would you turn KeyBinder off and see if the problem still exists.

Because Keybinder rewrites images and menu items, I'm always suspicious.

The problem still exists; I have only compiler, debugger, file extensions handler plugins enabled.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: once_upon_user on September 20, 2006, 03:17:24 pm
Hello,

I'm new to Code Blocks, using it for a few days right now. I tried SVN Source that correspond  to the 19 September Built and some earlier one.
I had to compiled source from SVN because of my retired distro: Fedora Core 3. I have compiled and installed CodeBlocks and wxWidgets along the Installation guide from the CB Wiki. My system is:

kernel: 2.6.9-1.667smp #1 SMP Tue Nov 2 14:59:52 EST 2004 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
wx-config --version : 2.6.3
glibc-2.3.3-74
gcc (GCC) 3.4.2 20041017 (Red Hat 3.4.2-6.fc3)
xorg-x11: 6.8.1-12

I Use CB to work with my project which is rather big and was created in VC++ so I have imported it to CB and edit my code with CB, and
CodeBlocks runs in pretty unstable way.. I often get Segmentation Faults..  I present three situations in which I get segfault:

1. Sometimes without any particular action (during diffrent operations) I get SegFault. Most often My console(The one I used to run CB) output
 looks like this:
Xft: locking error too many file unlocks
Xft: locking error too many file unlocks
Xft: locking error too many file unlocks
Xft: locking error too many file unlocks
....
And after some time , in GDB:
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread -225825872 (LWP 5424)]
0x00000019 in ?? ()
(gdb) bt
#0  0x00000019 in ?? ()
#1  0x00a6842c in g_hash_table_insert () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#2  0x00c53a70 in pango_context_get_base_dir () from /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0
#3  0x00c54270 in pango_context_get_base_dir () from /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0
#4  0x00c545b4 in pango_context_get_base_dir () from /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0
#5  0x00c5495a in pango_itemize_with_base_dir () from /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0
#6  0x00c5b75c in pango_layout_line_get_pixel_extents () from /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0
#7  0x00c5c4f7 in pango_layout_line_get_pixel_extents () from /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0
#8  0x00c5cccf in pango_layout_get_pixel_size () from /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0
#9  0xf686c784 in wxWindowDC::DoGetTextExtent () from /opt/wx/2.6/lib/libwx_gtk2u-2.6.so.0
#10 0xf6989942 in wxGenericTreeCtrl::CalculateSize () from /opt/wx/2.6/lib/libwx_gtk2u-2.6.so.0
#11 0xf6989bf8 in wxGenericTreeCtrl::SetItemImage () from /opt/wx/2.6/lib/libwx_gtk2u-2.6.so.0
#12 0xf37f7316 in ClassBrowserBuilderThread::AddNodeIfNotThere (this=0x53, tree=0x9165fe0, parent={m_pItem = 0xf2acfc58}, name=@0xf28a2260, imgIndex=1,
    data=0xee893b00, sorted=152) at classbrowserbuilderthread.cpp:192
#13 0xf37f7e31 in ClassBrowserBuilderThread::AddNodes (this=0x8fcafc8, tree=0x9165fe0, parent={m_pItem = 0xf2acfc58}, start={_M_node = 0xf11718a0},
    tokenKindMask=-609, allowGlobals=false) at openfilestree.h:14
#14 0xf37f80fe in ClassBrowserBuilderThread::AddChildrenOf (this=0x8fcafc8, tree=0x9165fe0, parentTokenIdx=-1, tokenKindMask=-609)
    at classbrowserbuilderthread.cpp:253
#15 0xf37f8207 in ClassBrowserBuilderThread::ExpandItem (this=0x8fcafc8, item={m_pItem = 0xf2acfc58}) at token.h:91
#16 0xf37f8b66 in ClassBrowserBuilderThread::BuildTree (this=0x8fcafc8) at classbrowserbuilderthread.cpp:128
#17 0xf37f8bfb in ClassBrowserBuilderThread::Entry (this=0x8fcafc8) at classbrowserbuilderthread.cpp:85
#18 0xf68317bd in wxThreadInternal::PthreadStart () from /opt/wx/2.6/lib/libwx_gtk2u-2.6.so.0
#19 0xf683182b in wxPthreadStart () from /opt/wx/2.6/lib/libwx_gtk2u-2.6.so.0
#20 0x0092c1d5 in start_thread () from /lib/tls/libpthread.so.0
#21 0x007ad2da in clone () from /lib/tls/libc.so.6

2. Another situation when I have launched CB (another case after quitting )
I have got in console:
Starting program: /usr/local/bin/codeblocks
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread -161216832 (LWP 5480)]
[New Thread -165549136 (LWP 5483)]
[New Thread -176038992 (LWP 5484)]
[New Thread -186528848 (LWP 5485)]
[New Thread -197018704 (LWP 5486)]
[New Thread -209982544 (LWP 5487)]
[New Thread -225899600 (LWP 5488)]
Detaching after fork from child process 5489.
Detaching after fork from child process 5491.
Detaching after fork from child process 5493.
[New Thread -236389456 (LWP 5495)]
[Thread -236389456 (zombie) exited]
[New Thread -236389456 (LWP 5496)]
[Thread -236389456 (LWP 5496) exited]
[New Thread -236389456 (LWP 5497)]
[Thread -236389456 (LWP 5497) exited]
[New Thread -236389456 (LWP 5498)]
[Thread -236389456 (LWP 5498) exited]
and Backtrace from GDB (Attachment1)

3. Another situations occured during usual way:
Console:
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread -161216832 (LWP 11507)]
[New Thread -165549136 (LWP 11510)]
[New Thread -176038992 (LWP 11511)]
[New Thread -186528848 (LWP 11512)]
[New Thread -197018704 (LWP 11513)]
[New Thread -209982544 (LWP 11514)]
[New Thread -225825872 (LWP 11515)]
Detaching after fork from child process 11516.
Detaching after fork from child process 11518.
Detaching after fork from child process 11520.
[New Thread -238232656 (LWP 11522)]
[Thread -238232656 (zombie) exited]
[New Thread -238232656 (LWP 11523)]
[Thread -238232656 (LWP 11523) exited]
[New Thread -238232656 (LWP 11524)]
[Thread -238232656 (LWP 11524) exited]
[New Thread -238232656 (LWP 11525)]
[Thread -238232656 (LWP 11525) exited]
[New Thread -238232656 (LWP 11526)]
[Thread -238232656 (LWP 11526) exited]
[New Thread -238232656 (LWP 11527)]
[Thread -238232656 (LWP 11527) exited]
[New Thread -238232656 (LWP 11528)]
[Thread -238232656 (LWP 11528) exited]
*** glibc detected *** double free or corruption: 0x08eea1a8 ***
And GDB log (attachment2)

So, thanks in advance for any suggestions, opinions any other contribution that will allow me to use CB without SegFault

Greets




[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: Pecan on September 20, 2006, 04:01:38 pm
Would you turn KeyBinder off and see if the problem still exists.

Because Keybinder rewrites images and menu items, I'm always suspicious.

The problem still exists; I have only compiler, debugger, file extensions handler plugins enabled.

I still cannot recreate the error(latest SVN). I click on codeSnippets/searchButton/Scope. The dot is there.

I then click on File/Open/cancel. I then click on Codesnippet/SearachButton/Scope. Again, the dot is there.

(http://img158.imageshack.us/img158/2039/graphic920200694517ameditedwy5.png)

How do you create the error?
 
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: artoj on September 20, 2006, 05:25:22 pm
I still cannot recreate the error(latest SVN). I click on codeSnippets/searchButton/Scope. The dot is there.

I then click on File/Open/cancel. I then click on Codesnippet/SearachButton/Scope. Again, the dot is there.

How do you create the error?
 

I just click on File and then on the Code Snippets' menu and the dot is gone. Your DPI settings are probably hiding the bug.

Someone had already reported the bug to the wxWidgets' bug list so I just added a comment, the bug number is #1542190 (https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&aid=1542190&group_id=9863&atid=109863). The bug has been on the queue for about a month now and none of the developers have commented it.

I also made a simple test application (binary (http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/files/menutest-bin.zip) / source (http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/files/menutest-src.zip)). The binary version is linked against the monolithic dll (unicode).

In the test application first click the "Create a popup menu" button. Then click File menu to see the menu item with the image and then click "Create a popup menu" button again. On my system the popup menu appears larger and in the radio submenu the check mark is gone.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: eckard_klotz on September 20, 2006, 08:06:21 pm
Hello evrybody

This shoud be an answer for the question of killerbot to my posting in the topic " The 18 september 2006 build is out." where I described how to run C::B under winME.

killerbot wrote:

Quote
could you try out a nightly , rc2 is very old.
In the nightly announcements there's very often a reply from setjackson providing a link to an ansi build (which is what you need on WinMe). It is possible there might be problems with that one also, not sure.


Sorry, I didn't make it clear (I know my English is not the best one): I started with rc1 and rc2 last year, but since end of july I'm trying to use the ansi-nightlies. The last ansi-nightly I tried out today, was the one from yesterday. It seams to work also, if I don't use the "debuggergdb.dll" ,allowing to run more than one instance and disabling the loading of any file while stating.

Perhaps you have more details you want to know or you wish to ask me to do some experimental things. Don't hasitate to do so, but perhaps it may take one or two day before I can answer.

Kind Regards,
                    Eckard Klotz.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: griffin2000 on September 20, 2006, 08:11:35 pm
As recommended in another thread I upgraded to this build...   I get the following issues:

I get no filename or line for warnings of errors in the build message window (it worked fine in RC2): e.g:
For this message in the build log:
c:/p4_perforce.z-axis.com1666_gmorgans/AGT/Internal/Tools/TestBed\.\\source/modules/TestLoopListModule.cpp:53: warning: invalid access to non-static data member 'ObjectSingle::mNode' of NULL object
I get this message with not line or file in the build message window:
warning: invalid access to non-static data member 'ObjectSingle::mNode' of NULL object

I've tried changing the build message regular expression and it makes not difference.  The default expression is:
([ \tA-Za-z0-9_:+/\.-]+):([0-9]+):[ \t]([Ww]arning:[ \t].*)

I've tried changing it to this but it makes not difference:
(.+):([0-9]+):[ \t ][Ww]arning:([ \t ].*)

Its also seems to define $make as the the minGW make executable, not matter what you define your make program as in compiler options.
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: griffin2000 on September 20, 2006, 08:16:15 pm
And there is another strange difference... I have custom tool to do a perforce check-out on a file.  In RC2 it would automatically recognise the file has changed and bring up "file has change, reload?.." dialog.  But with this build it no longer does that, I have to close and re-open the file. 
Title: Re: The 19 september 2006 build is out.
Post by: griffin2000 on September 20, 2006, 08:26:11 pm
I've tried changing the build message regular expression and it makes not difference.  The default expression is:
In fact if  I copy the compiler output string to the "test" window it recognizes it fine.