Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Help => Topic started by: craigger on November 08, 2016, 02:48:59 pm

Title: Compiling Code::Blocks with wxWidgets 3.0.0 -- Execution of 'zip -jq9 failed
Post by: craigger on November 08, 2016, 02:48:59 pm
Hey guys,
tried to compile Codeblocks sourcecode and this error came up.

Code
cmd /c if not exist devel30\share\CodeBlocks mkdir devel30\share\CodeBlocks
zip -jq9 devel30\share\CodeBlocks\manager_resources.zip sdk\resources\*.xrc
Execution of 'zip -jq9 devel30\share\CodeBlocks\manager_resources.zip sdk\resources\*.xrc' in 'C:\Users\domin\Documents\clean code\src' failed.

zip.exe is in the PATH variable

Code
C:\Program Files (x86)\Sophos\Sophos SSL VPN Client\bin;%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;C:\zip300xn-x64\zip.exe

Can you help me please?
Title: Re: Compiling Code::Blocks with wxWidgets 3.0.0 -- Execution of 'zip -jq9 failed
Post by: stahta01 on November 08, 2016, 03:39:06 pm

zip.exe is in the PATH variable

Code
C:\Program Files (x86)\Sophos\Sophos SSL VPN Client\bin;%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;C:\zip300xn-x64\zip.exe

Can you help me please?

If that is what you set the PATH to then you did it wrong!

Code
C:\Program Files (x86)\Sophos\Sophos SSL VPN Client\bin;%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;C:\zip300xn-x64

The above might be right.

Tim S.
Title: Re: Compiling Code::Blocks with wxWidgets 3.0.0 -- Execution of 'zip -jq9 failed
Post by: craigger on November 08, 2016, 04:16:04 pm
Thank you for the answer but the same error popped up.

Is it possible that the global compiler variables cause the error?
Title: Re: Compiling Code::Blocks with wxWidgets 3.0.0 -- Execution of 'zip -jq9 failed
Post by: stahta01 on November 08, 2016, 04:24:11 pm
Thank you for the answer but the same error popped up.

Is it possible that the global compiler variables cause the error?

You NEED to exit and restart CB to see the changes to work.
And, you might need to reboot the computer to see the changes to PATH to work.

Tim S.
Title: Re: Compiling Code::Blocks with wxWidgets 3.0.0 -- Execution of 'zip -jq9 failed
Post by: stahta01 on November 08, 2016, 04:35:00 pm
Does this command work on the command line (cmd.exe)

Code
where zip

This is what happens if zip is NOT in your PATH
Code
INFO: Could not find files for the given pattern(s).

Tim S.
Title: Re: Compiling Code::Blocks with wxWidgets 3.0.0 -- Execution of 'zip -jq9 failed
Post by: craigger on November 09, 2016, 02:36:12 pm
thanks again for your help but restarting codeblocks and pc didn't change anything.

it shows the same errormessage
Code
cmd /c if not exist devel30\share\CodeBlocks mkdir devel30\share\CodeBlocks
zip -jq9 devel30\share\CodeBlocks\manager_resources.zip sdk\resources\*.xrc
Execution of 'zip -jq9 devel30\share\CodeBlocks\manager_resources.zip sdk\resources\*.xrc' in 'C:\Users\domin\Documents\clean code\src' failed.

Sorry for my bad English ;)
Title: Re: Compiling Code::Blocks with wxWidgets 3.0.0 -- Execution of 'zip -jq9 failed
Post by: stahta01 on November 09, 2016, 03:26:21 pm
thanks again for your help but restarting codeblocks and pc didn't change anything.

it shows the same errormessage
Code
cmd /c if not exist devel30\share\CodeBlocks mkdir devel30\share\CodeBlocks
zip -jq9 devel30\share\CodeBlocks\manager_resources.zip sdk\resources\*.xrc
Execution of 'zip -jq9 devel30\share\CodeBlocks\manager_resources.zip sdk\resources\*.xrc' in 'C:\Users\domin\Documents\clean code\src' failed.

Sorry for my bad English ;)

Try to use a file path that does NOT have spaces in it. No idea if zip has problems with this or not.
Verify that zip command is in the path; I posted how to do that in my last post.

Tim S.
Title: Re: Compiling Code::Blocks with wxWidgets 3.0.0 -- Execution of 'zip -jq9 failed
Post by: stahta01 on November 10, 2016, 01:25:47 am

How to see a real error message run in a cmd.exe window.
Code
cd "C:\Users\domin\Documents\clean code\src"
zip -jq9 devel30\share\CodeBlocks\manager_resources.zip sdk\resources\*.xrc

Tim S.
Title: Re: Compiling Code::Blocks with wxWidgets 3.0.0 -- Execution of 'zip -jq9 failed
Post by: icequan233 on November 17, 2016, 02:49:12 pm
try to set PATH C:\Program Files (x86)\Sophos\Sophos SSL VPN Client\bin;%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;D:\zip300xn-x64
not C:\zip300xn-x64. I had the same problem with you ,so I changed,it did work for me.