Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Help => Topic started by: bigbrodcaster on March 31, 2012, 06:43:28 pm

Title: installing new directory
Post by: bigbrodcaster on March 31, 2012, 06:43:28 pm
Hi, I am currently trying to figure out how to program for a robot I built, but in order to do that I need to have a directory called "WPILib.h" installed so code blocks recognizes the functions.

PS: I have the file with the directory on it, all I need is a way to put it on codeblocks
Title: Re: installing new directory
Post by: stahta01 on March 31, 2012, 07:40:42 pm
Please read the FAQs. It might have the answer to your question.
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ (http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ)

My guess at the closest matching FAQ
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28general%29#Q:_I_would_like_to_compile_a_project_using_some_non-standard_libraries._How_can_I_indicate_to_CodeBlocks_that_these_libraries_and_include_files_exist.3F (http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28general%29#Q:_I_would_like_to_compile_a_project_using_some_non-standard_libraries._How_can_I_indicate_to_CodeBlocks_that_these_libraries_and_include_files_exist.3F)

Please, try to rephrase your question; because I have no clear idea what your are asking.

Tim S.
Title: Re: installing new directory
Post by: bigbrodcaster on April 01, 2012, 04:45:03 am
in the beggining of a program there is always "#include (insert directory of choice)". I want my directory of choice to be "WPILib.h". But when I tried to compile it I was told no such directory existed.

PS: If you could also help out explaining what the FAQ was trying to have me do because there are multiple sub folders my downloaded directory.
Title: Re: installing new directory
Post by: Radek on April 01, 2012, 07:33:00 am
What is wrong exactly?

(1) If you cannot find headers or other include files then add the directory to Build Options -> Search Directories
(2) If you cannot find libraries or object files then add the directory to Build Options -> Linker Settings

Once all files will be found, you can create a user project with the needed directories preset. Later oo, you won't need to specify the directories again.