Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Nightly builds => Topic started by: killerbot on May 27, 2006, 07:39:44 pm

Title: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on May 27, 2006, 07:39:44 pm
Get quick announcements through the RSS feed http://www.codeblocks.org/nightly/CodeBlock_RSS.xml
A link to the unicode windows wxWidget dll for Code::Blocks : http://download.berlios.de/codeblocks/wxmsw26u_gcc_cb.7z
For those who might need this one (when no MingW installed on your system) : the mingw10m.dll : http://download.berlios.de/codeblocks/mingwm10.7z

Get quick announcements through the RSS feed http://www.codeblocks.org/nightly/CodeBlock_RSS.xml
A link to the unicode windows wxWidget dll for Code::Blocks : http://download.berlios.de/codeblocks/wxmsw26u_gcc_cb.7z
For those who might need this one (when no MingW installed on your system) : the mingw10m.dll : http://download.berlios.de/codeblocks/mingwm10.7z

For support of ansi builds, a link to the ansi windows wxWidget dll for Code::Blocks : http://download.berlios.de/codeblocks/wxmsw26_gcc_cb.7z

The 27 May 2006 build is out.
  - Windows : http://download.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_20060527_rev2511_win32.7z
  - Linux :
         http://download.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_20060527_rev2511.deb
         http://download.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_20060527_rev2511_fc4+5.rpm
Resolved Fixed:


Regressions/Confirmed/Annoying/Common bugs:


Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: Szabadember on May 28, 2006, 01:03:23 am
Setting/Unsetting Breakpoints still ful of bugs!

Look at these pictures:
On the first picture you see the breakpoints i have set.
On the second picture you see the list of breakpoints after i have deleted one blank(!!!) line!!!

Having two source files with the same filename(belonging to different projects) causes to have the same breakpoints for all the two files!!!

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on May 28, 2006, 07:13:15 pm
I was able to reproduce this, but not always (well initialy I had something different).
This is what I have done :

1) created simple console project
2) replaced the content of the generated main.cpp by this :
Code
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;

std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;

std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
std::cout << "Hello world!" << std::endl;
return 0;
}

3) build the project (-g option !!)
4) put breakpoints on every line in between the 2 empty lines, that's line 11-18
5) debug : continued at every breakpoint (and have the breakpoint window visible)
6) when the debugger was finished, I removed the empty line at line 10
   --> all 8 red dots are still there, but the breakpoint window claims I only have a breakpoint at line 11
7) builded this modified source/project and debug
  --> there's indeed just 1 breakpoint left, at line 11
8) reinserted the empty line at line 10
  --> the breakpoint shows all 8 breakpoints again !!!
  --> but they are ordered from line 18 to line 11 now
9) build the modification and debug
  --> indeed 8 breakpoints


ok, let's remove all the breakpoints, but keep the project open.

about the second part, I created my project once again (with another name now, but still main.cpp), use the same content for main.cpp(so that's the code pasted above) and to be ablt to tell the difference I replaced Hello by Bye) :

Status :
The workspace now contains 2 projects : DebugTest (that's the first project "hello") and DebugTest2 (the second one "bye") and the latter one is active.
In this second one, I put again 8 breakpoints (line 11 -18) and build the project (-g option !!) and debug. Switching to the editor tab of the main.cpp of the first project, no red dots visible, so these are only visible in the main.cpp of the second project.
I activate the first project, and start the debugger, the main.cpp editor of the first project get's focus and halts at line 11, 12 ,13 ,...,18 allthough no red dots visible and there should not have been red dots since the breakpoints were set in the other project, but the breakpoints surely are active and present.

Well, conclusion : I can confirm all mentioned bugs ;-)
Thanks for your feedback. In case this is not resolved in the near future I will post bug reports for it. next time feel free to post bug reports yourself, if possible with code examples and steps to reproduce.

Cheers,
Lieven
Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: Szabadember on May 28, 2006, 09:05:05 pm
I'm suffering because of this bug really long now, thanks :D
Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: mandrav on May 29, 2006, 11:16:12 am
@killerbot:
As always, excellent and detailed description so the fix was imminent ;)
Title: --rebuild does not work correctly and is even worst then 23 May 2006
Post by: Jewe on May 29, 2006, 11:20:58 am
Hi,

Sorry to bother but the --rebuild is important to my project.
(this eliminates the need for making make files, and reducing problems :D)

I tried the version again and I still get the "do you want to save" messagebox at the end of the compile.
The other problem I now get is that the project files does not want to compile.
I get compiler errors.
First I thought that it was my own problem but I tried the 23 may version again and it compiled the same project file with only the save box at the end.

kind regards,

Jewe
Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on May 29, 2006, 11:56:47 am
I'm suffering because of this bug really long now, thanks :D

@killerbot:
As always, excellent and detailed description so the fix was imminent ;)
:-)

@Szabadember
Your problems have been fixed by our almighty master ;-)
In case you don't build CB yourself, tonights nightly is what you need ....
Title: Re: --rebuild does not work correctly and is even worst then 23 May 2006
Post by: killerbot on May 29, 2006, 01:15:56 pm
Hi,

Sorry to bother but the --rebuild is important to my project.
(this eliminates the need for making make files, and reducing problems :D)

I tried the version again and I still get the "do you want to save" messagebox at the end of the compile.
The other problem I now get is that the project files does not want to compile.
I get compiler errors.
First I thought that it was my own problem but I tried the 23 may version again and it compiled the same project file with only the save box at the end.

kind regards,

Jewe

could you give us more details : like steps to reproduce. If possible with code/project example ??
Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: Jewe on May 29, 2006, 02:11:28 pm
I'll try and create a test situation but unfortunatly not today.
The other item(save dialog) should have been solved in the 24 may version.
But I still get the problem, I'll try to include it in the test situation.

see quote


The only problem I have at this moment is that I get a "this project has been saved dialog"

Not anymore.
Title: --rebuild test item
Post by: Jewe on May 29, 2006, 03:33:04 pm
Hi,

created a test item.
With this I get the project has been changed do you want to save the file.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on May 29, 2006, 04:03:23 pm
Hello,

Well the problem is very simple, take a look at your cbp file in a regular editor :

Code
<CodeBlocks_project_file>
<FileVersion major="1" minor="1" />

Your project file is rather old, it was created at the time CB was at project file's with version 1.1, now CB wants to "update" all project files to version 1.4

Code
<CodeBlocks_project_file>
<FileVersion major="1" minor="4" />

Once this update is done, you won't get the project is modified message box anymore.

So do your --rebuild once, and press yes on the update question, next time you won't have it anymore.

Next to this little thingy, it was the intention that in batch build no update questions would be raised. So therefor a fix is coming soon ;-)
Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: killerbot on May 29, 2006, 04:55:32 pm
revision 2513 has fixed the problem, no project saving dialog popping up when the project is being modified internally.
Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: Jewe on May 29, 2006, 05:11:56 pm
I know that saving the project file will solve the problem but it will generate another if my IDE is newer on my machine than on my build machine.
Thx for solving the problem I'll check the nightly build tomorrow.

regards,

Jewe.

p.s. will try and reproduce the compiler problem with a test project.
Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: korneliushowl on May 29, 2006, 06:57:11 pm
hi guys,
I love to use CodeBlock , that's such great! :)
but after I installed the CodeBlock Rc2, then I downloaded the nightly build and overwrite them.

program still can execute, but display a message
my system is in chinese , I don't know how to translate to english
but I think that is
"can not find  getStringFromArray in code:block"

it's in WindowsXp sp2.
Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: sethjackson on May 29, 2006, 07:08:19 pm
hi guys,
I love to use CodeBlock , that's such great! :)
but after I installed the CodeBlock Rc2, then I downloaded the nightly build and overwrite them.

program still can execute, but display a message
my system is in chinese , I don't know how to translate to english
but I think that is
"can not find  getStringFromArray in code:block"

it's in WindowsXp sp2.

Do not overwrite RC2 with a nightly build that is just asking for trouble.

Anways check this (http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Installing_Code::Blocks#Alternative_method_for_installing_a_nightly_build) out.

Title: Re: The 27 May 2006 build is out.
Post by: korneliushowl on May 29, 2006, 07:38:22 pm
Quote
Do not overwrite RC2 with a nightly build that is just asking for trouble.

Anways check this out.
Thank you : )