Code::Blocks Forums

Developer forums (C::B DEVELOPMENT STRICTLY!) => Plugins development => Topic started by: tomolt on March 20, 2015, 02:33:27 pm

Title: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: tomolt on March 20, 2015, 02:33:27 pm
 Hey, folks!
I'm currently working on a new git plugin for Code::Blocks!  :)
The only git plugin I found was cbvcs, but it's outdated and lacks some features, so I started my own! ;)

GitBlocks is an easy-to-use and small git plugin for Code::Blocks.
 
So far it features:
 - Creating a new git working repository
 - Cloning an existing repository
 - Deleting the working directory's .git folder
 - Commiting individual files
 - Commiting the whole project
 - Pushing to origin (login & password already supported)
 - Pulling from origin (login & password already supported)
 - Fetching from origin (login & password already supported)
 - Removing files
 - Adding a new branch
 - Switching between branches
 - Showing a diff (working directory <> index  only at the moment)
 - Showing a commit log
 - Showing git's status

Still to do:
 - Branching
 - Moving files
 - Adding keyboard shortcuts
 - Managing Tags
 - Documenting the code ...

GitHub repository: https://github.com/tomolt/GitBlocks (https://github.com/tomolt/GitBlocks)

NOTE: GitBlocks SHOULD work on Windows, but I'm currently not able to test it!

Changelog:

Version 0.7.4:
 - Cloning an existing repository asks now for opening a *.cbp / *.workspace file in it
 - You can now clone password-protected repositories
 - Some internal changes (like ExecuteInTerminal(...) etc.)
 - Fixed some stuff again ...

Version 0.7.3:
 - Added removing files
 - Fixed some potential bugs ...

Version 0.7.0:
 - Added 'Add new branch'
 - Added 'Switch to branch'
 - 'Push to origin' pushes now HEAD instead of master
 - Removed config (was pretty useless)
 - Structurized to code a bit more

Version 0.6.4:
 - Switched to autotools as default build system
 - Fixed the UI layout

Version 0.4.3:
...

Feel free to tell me about your opinions and suggestions below! :D
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: ollydbg on March 20, 2015, 03:21:21 pm
Hello, tomolt, I see this is your first post in our forum, welcome!
You did a good job!!! Keep going, and ask questions about C::B here if you need some help.  ;)

Quote
- Better build system (maybe CMake)
The current method we use is to supply two cbp files, one for Windows and the other one for Linux.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: tomolt on March 20, 2015, 04:16:03 pm
Quote
Hello, tomolt, I see this is your first post in our forum, welcome!
You did a good job!!! Keep going, and ask questions about C::B here if you need some help. 
Thanks, ollydbg, but I'm not exactly new to C::B, only the forum (I'm using C::B for about one year now!). ;)
Quote
The current method we use is to supply two cbp files, one for Windows and the other one for Linux.
I wasn't exactly sure how to set the build system up anyways, CMake was just the first good system that came into my mind. :)
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: oBFusCATed on March 20, 2015, 04:25:21 pm
For non-integrated in the tree plugins I use autotools and codeblocks projects.
You can see an example here  https://github.com/obfuscated/cb_gdbmi
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: tomolt on March 20, 2015, 04:38:32 pm
I'm not too keen on autotools, so I will probably go with codeblocks projects!  :)
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: stahta01 on March 20, 2015, 07:14:26 pm
Patch need to compile project using Windows 7 32 bit and wxWidgets 2.8.12.

FYI: Code::Blocks's Windows version of wxWidgets has 2.6 compatible mode turned off.

Code
 src/CloneDialog.cpp     | 2 +-
 src/CommitAllDialog.cpp | 2 +-
 src/CommitDialog.cpp    | 2 +-
 3 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/src/CloneDialog.cpp b/src/CloneDialog.cpp
index 3404cf8..afcd2a1 100644
--- a/src/CloneDialog.cpp
+++ b/src/CloneDialog.cpp
@@ -1,6 +1,6 @@
 #include "CloneDialog.h"
 
-CloneDialog::CloneDialog(wxWindow *parent) : wxDialog(parent, ID_CLOD, _T("Clone repository"))
+CloneDialog::CloneDialog(wxWindow *parent) : wxDialog(parent, ID_CLOD, wxString(_T("Clone repository")))
 {
  wxBoxSizer *clodSizer = new wxBoxSizer(wxVERTICAL);
  SetSizer(clodSizer);
diff --git a/src/CommitAllDialog.cpp b/src/CommitAllDialog.cpp
index 12f02c5..7c5556e 100644
--- a/src/CommitAllDialog.cpp
+++ b/src/CommitAllDialog.cpp
@@ -1,6 +1,6 @@
 #include "CommitAllDialog.h"
 
-CommitAllDialog::CommitAllDialog(wxWindow *parent) : wxDialog(parent, ID_COAD, _T("Commit all"))
+CommitAllDialog::CommitAllDialog(wxWindow *parent) : wxDialog(parent, ID_COAD, wxString(_T("Commit all")))
 {
  wxBoxSizer *coadSizer = new wxBoxSizer(wxVERTICAL);
  SetSizer(coadSizer);
diff --git a/src/CommitDialog.cpp b/src/CommitDialog.cpp
index fbcb888..e42d2d6 100644
--- a/src/CommitDialog.cpp
+++ b/src/CommitDialog.cpp
@@ -4,7 +4,7 @@
 #include <cbproject.h>
 #include <projectfile.h>
 
-CommitDialog::CommitDialog(wxWindow *parent) : wxDialog(parent, ID_COMD, _T("Commit"))
+CommitDialog::CommitDialog(wxWindow *parent) : wxDialog(parent, ID_COMD, wxString(_T("Commit")))
 {
  ProjectManager *ProjMan = Manager::Get()->GetProjectManager();
  filenames.push_back(ProjMan->GetActiveProject()->GetFilename());

Updated the attached CB project for windows 7.

Tim S.
 

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: tomolt on March 20, 2015, 07:49:09 pm
Thanks, man! :D
I'm trying to get this in the repo as fast as I can!
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: oBFusCATed on March 20, 2015, 08:27:28 pm
I'm not too keen on autotools, so I will probably go with codeblocks projects!  :)
As far as I'm concerned this is the only build system that plays well with distro packages, and that is why I'm using it.
Also I'm using it in a modern and minimal way (only two files related to autotools in the whole repo).
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: tomolt on March 21, 2015, 12:05:14 pm
I'm not too keen on autotools, so I will probably go with codeblocks projects!  :)
As far as I'm concerned this is the only build system that plays well with distro packages, and that is why I'm using it.
Also I'm using it in a modern and minimal way (only two files related to autotools in the whole repo).
What we need is an automatable console-only program that builds C::B projects! Something like "codeblocks-build GitBlocks.cbp -tdefault"! :)
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: oBFusCATed on March 21, 2015, 12:23:17 pm
It won't help much with the integration with linux distros.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: killerbot on March 21, 2015, 02:28:47 pm
this could be a candidate for a contrib plugin in our repo in the end, but then it has to be build also with autotools, like all our other plugins. So I would suggest to try to play the game of the contrib plugins.

Keep up the good work.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: tomolt on March 21, 2015, 05:31:40 pm
It won't help much with the integration with linux distros.
I meant prebuild packages. Of course it won't work for source distribution.
Quote
this could be a candidate for a contrib plugin in our repo in the end, but then it has to be build also with autotools, like all our other plugins. So I would suggest to try to play the game of the contrib plugins.
Okay, I'll try to switch to autotools in the near future, but I first have to learn it.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: MortenMacFly on April 22, 2015, 08:53:51 pm
Any news here? Is it dead already? ;-)

There are a number of crash bugs, btw... how do you prefer bug-reports?
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: tomolt on April 29, 2015, 06:41:34 pm
It definitely isn't dead! I just had to work on other stuff recently. For the bug reports, I think I'll just use GitHub tickets.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: decaf999 on May 15, 2015, 04:35:15 pm
Hi,

This is first post in this board, please let me know if post is not appropriate here.

I am trying to use this plugin on Windows.  First I see .cbp for windows build was provided by stahta01 on March 20th in this thread, whcih is not yet available on repo as of this writing, and that attachment appeared to be deleted by admin from that post.  Does anybody still have that attachment?  Or better yet, will it be available to the repo anytime soon?

Also anybody using this plugin on Windows, I am interested in knowing which git back-end actually tested with this plugin .  I will have to research a bit to find a few good git back-end programs for windows and try them out, but it would be helpful to know what has been tested and working, if any.

Regards
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: tomolt on May 26, 2015, 03:36:15 pm
Well, yes, there WAS a build script by stahta01 for Windows, but I had to take it out because I am now using autotools, which works fine on my Arch Linux box, and also *should* work fine on Windows, but I can't test it! :(

(P.S.: Sorry for being a little bit late on this!)
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: decaf999 on May 30, 2015, 02:52:50 pm
Well, yes, there WAS a build script by stahta01 for Windows, but I had to take it out because I am now using autotools, which works fine on my Arch Linux box, and also *should* work fine on Windows, but I can't test it! :(

Maybe this is not a question for you, but I see little documentation / articles about using autotools on a windows machine.  Most documentation for windows is to build plug-ins using Code::Blocks itself, and many other plug-ins appeared to provide cbp files for different wxWidgets versions and architectures along with autotools files. They can co-exist, and it seems there is some kind of naming conventions of cbp files to distinguish the environment each cbp file support.  I wonder what the guideline/convention is in this CB plug-in development community. And BTW setting up autotools in pure windows environment can be unpleasant process, you might need to use MSYS or cygwin. At the end, setting up cbp might be much easier, faster and maintainable.  (Just that it is not for non-interactive-building.)

Anyway, I managed to get GitBlocks compiled using my own cbp file on windows, and now seeing crashes when invoking any of GitBlocks commands from top menu.  (GUI operations appeared to be working, menu items show up, some dialogue box for user input shows up, but then entire C::B stops.) Haven't had a chance to narrow down the root cause yet.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: stahta01 on May 30, 2015, 03:32:12 pm
Well, yes, there WAS a build script by stahta01 for Windows, but I had to take it out because I am now using autotools, which works fine on my Arch Linux box, and also *should* work fine on Windows, but I can't test it! :(

Maybe this is not a question for you, but I see little documentation / articles about using autotools on a windows machine.  Most documentation for windows is to build plug-ins using Code::Blocks itself, and many other plug-ins appeared to provide cbp files for different wxWidgets versions and architectures along with autotools files. They can co-exist, and it seems there is some kind of naming conventions of cbp files to distinguish the environment each cbp file support.  I wonder what the guideline/convention is in this CB plug-in development community. And BTW setting up autotools in pure windows environment can be unpleasant process, you might need to use MSYS or cygwin. At the end, setting up cbp might be much easier, faster and maintainable.  (Just that it is not for non-interactive-building.)

Anyway, I managed to get GitBlocks compiled using my own cbp file on windows, and now seeing crashes when invoking any of GitBlocks commands from top menu.  (GUI operations appeared to be working, menu items show up, some dialogue box for user input shows up, but then entire C::B stops.) Haven't had a chance to narrow down the root cause yet.

If you want I can re-create or find the cbp file for windows.
I stopped on the project because I decided I did NOT know enough about Git to know if what the programmer was doing was safe for me to test the plugin.
Since, I use Git for some of my paid work I did NOT wish to risk damage it accidentally.
I already risk that because of my low level of Git knowledge.

Edit: Right now I am trying to Linux better using Debian Jessie. So, I might try to build it for windows 32 bit under Linux.

Tim S.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: decaf999 on May 31, 2015, 02:00:16 am
If you want I can re-create or find the cbp file for windows.

Never mind, since tomolt mentioned that there was once a build script, I checked GitHub repo history and found it.  Thanks anyway.

https://github.com/tomolt/GitBlocks/blob/5d340f8fbebb87efca66b016ea66162d27aec0c7/GitBlocks-win32.cbp

Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: tomolt on June 05, 2015, 11:31:26 pm
About the build system: autotools is pretty weird, but the best way of installing GitBlocks is just running the bootstrap shell script, then the newly generated configure script, and then make. (You need autotools and something like msys or cygwin for that)

stahta01: I'm not a real git-poweruser either, so you should really not rely on my plugin right now. But: I'm currently doing all the commits and so for GitBlocks with GitBlocks, and I never had a lot of trouble with it.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: tomolt on June 05, 2015, 11:42:35 pm
P.S.: I'll probably provide both build systems in the future, I'm just currently on a mobile device, so I can't change it right now.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: zygimantus on October 18, 2015, 10:48:20 am
How do you install this plugin to CodeBlocks? I have run these commands:
Code
./bootstrap 
./configure
make -f Makefile.in

But I got this error:
Makefile.in:15: *** missing separator (did you mean TAB instead of 8 spaces?).  Stop.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: stahta01 on October 18, 2015, 02:50:38 pm
This is likely very wrong!

Code
make -f Makefile.in

Try
Code
make -f Makefile

Tim S.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: zygimantus on October 18, 2015, 04:35:47 pm
Thank you for your response, but file Makefile does not exist:

make: Makefile: No such file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target 'Makefile'.  Stop.

Those are the files in GitBlocks directory:

GitBlocks.zip  Makefile.in  install-sh    compile         ltmain.sh     include       wxsmith    ChangeLog      INSTALL      README
config.log     depcomp      config.sub    autom4te.cache  config.h.in   manifest.xml  AUTHORS    COPYING        Makefile.am
configure      missing      config.guess  aclocal.m4      configure.ac  src           bootstrap  GitBlocks.cbp  NEWS
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: oBFusCATed on October 18, 2015, 07:20:08 pm
You have to run the configure script to generate the makefile files.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: amigabill on November 17, 2015, 09:34:22 pm
OK, how do I install this? I downloaded as ZIP file from GitHub. INSTALL file is 0 bytes, and README says nothign about install, it only refers to this thread.  Codeblocks plugin manager looks for a *.cbplugin file, I see a *.cbp file in the archive and made a link for a *.cbplugin version but that doesn't load.  make all doesn't do anything, configure doesn't do anything, make GitBlocks.cbplugin doesn't do anything...

Please help, as I'm not good with git command line yet and hope a GUI will help. (I've previously used Eclipse with its git plugin)
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: oBFusCATed on November 17, 2015, 09:58:58 pm
I suppose you have to build the plugin yourself.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: amigabill on November 20, 2015, 09:20:32 pm
I suppose you have to build the plugin yourself.

Is there a complete and total For Dummies on how to accomplish that? (Sorry, I'm new to CodeBlocks and its plugins, and as described I couldn't find any install info in readme/install/makefiles found in the plugin package, and I haven't had to research how to build plugins before install for other IDE tools)
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: stahta01 on November 21, 2015, 02:57:39 am
I suppose you have to build the plugin yourself.

Is there a complete and total For Dummies on how to accomplish that? (Sorry, I'm new to CodeBlocks and its plugins, and as described I couldn't find any install info in readme/install/makefiles found in the plugin package, and I haven't had to research how to build plugins before install for other IDE tools)

What is your Operating System and Code::Blocks installation information?
Edit: Do you self-build Code::Blocks?

Tim S.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: turbosnail on November 26, 2015, 12:42:55 am
stahta01, just now compile plugin from your repo, its not work.

Code
Fetching status ...
git status
Fetching from origin ...
cmd.exe /C "git fetch origin"
Fetching log ...
git log --pretty=format:%h%x09%an%x09%ad%x09%s

Windows 8 x64
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: stahta01 on November 26, 2015, 06:19:40 am
stahta01, just now compile plugin from your repo, its not work.

Code
Fetching status ...
git status
Fetching from origin ...
cmd.exe /C "git fetch origin"
Fetching log ...
git log --pretty=format:%h%x09%an%x09%ad%x09%s

Windows 8 x64

I have no idea what your are asking or telling in your post!

http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html (http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html)

Tim S.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: yvesdm3000 on February 09, 2016, 04:37:44 pm
Any plans to embed this plugin better in the UI instead of putting everything under a menu ?

I was thinking of the context-menu in the Projects tree or context-menu in a open-files-list ?

Yves
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: MortenMacFly on February 09, 2016, 08:12:51 pm
Any plans to embed this plugin better in the UI instead of putting everything under a menu ?
I am not sure if this project is still active. It has also quite some serious bugs, some of them I've fixed already, but its not prime-time yet.

Sad story, we had so many approaches (cb_svn, CBTortoiseSVN, cbvcs, SVNInside, cbGIT, GitBlocks) but they all died out before they were ready. Seems no-one has the strength to finish the work. Also sad to see that everybody starts again from scratch and does not pick up an existing project and continue the work from there.

Just my 2 cents.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: raynebc on February 09, 2016, 09:13:17 pm
It doesn't seem like it should be very complicated to have a button that launches the commit command for the project's SVN/Git repo path.  Even then, I can't imagine it could be that much of a time saver compared to just launching the commit from the Explorer integration of installed SVN/Git software.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: MortenMacFly on February 09, 2016, 09:25:59 pm
I can't imagine it could be that much of a time saver compared to just launching the commit from the Explorer integration of installed SVN/Git software.
Perfectly true. Unless you provide features like flat mode that need good additional programming before launching the commands.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: yvesdm3000 on February 10, 2016, 07:12:09 am
I can't imagine it could be that much of a time saver compared to just launching the commit from the Explorer integration of installed SVN/Git software.
Perfectly true. Unless you provide features like flat mode that need good additional programming before launching the commands.
Yes, and you forget that other platforms don't have Tortoise, and looking at a diff of a single file would be a lot more practical when it's open in the IDE...

Yves
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: MortenMacFly on February 10, 2016, 08:39:51 am
Yes, and you forget that other platforms don't have Tortoise, and looking at a diff of a single file would be a lot more practical when it's open in the IDE...
Well first of all there is not only Tortoise (which I don't like at all, btw) and for other platforms plenty of different really good tools are available, too. It should be clear that we will never reach the richness of an application created only for version control. I use SmartSVN which runs on all platforms and I am very happy with it. I also see that many of the features are rather complex and have been developed in decades by the (SmartSVN) team. So I think we should not try to re-invent the wheel because we can only loose.

That doesn't mean we don't want to get a plugin. For me, what I am missing most is basic functionality like the virtualisation of a VCS state in the project tree and surely the basic functions check-in/out ...
Then as a second requirement I would like to have an extensible plugin, meaning that I can configure the most important commands so these match my needs. For Diff, there is the cbDiff plugin which is really good, in fact.

All in all I think the approach to integfreate VCS in the FileManager plugin would be my favourite and dmoore has started it already some time ago. That doesn't mean I don't like Git/SVN/...only plugins but the more we get of these trying to pump in all features and failing the more I believe we should make it really simple in the first place but considering the most important features from the beginning.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: yvesdm3000 on February 10, 2016, 03:13:49 pm
Oh, I didn't know about the cgDiff plugin. Will try that shortly!

Yves
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: yvesdm3000 on February 10, 2016, 05:05:35 pm
Looks very decent, there is even a branch that implemented auto-detection of the type of file. I made my own branch and merged the 2 branches since they have diverted.

https://github.com/yvesdm3000/cbDiff

Yves
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: yvesdm3000 on February 10, 2016, 05:57:11 pm
It should be clear that we will never reach the richness of an application created only for version control.

All in all I think the approach to integfreate VCS in the FileManager plugin would be my favourite and dmoore has started it already some time ago. That doesn't mean I don't like Git/SVN/...only plugins but the more we get of these trying to pump in all features and failing the more I believe we should make it really simple in the first place but considering the most important features from the beginning.
I agree, I don't need all those features of branching, rebasing etc, only features that the existing tools can't deliver where it makes sense in regards to Code::Blocks integration. IMHO that's why I asked the question in the first place, to actually get a diff from a file that I can click in C::B without having to go to some external tool/browser, find the file and have the diff open outside of C::B...

Yves
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: MortenMacFly on February 10, 2016, 08:03:55 pm
Looks very decent, there is even a branch that implemented auto-detection of the type of file.
I wasn't aware of that one. Who did it? Can you post a link?
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: oBFusCATed on February 10, 2016, 08:40:23 pm
I agree, I don't need all those features of branching, rebasing etc, only features that the existing tools can't deliver where it makes sense in regards to Code::Blocks integration. IMHO that's why I asked the question in the first place, to actually get a diff from a file that I can click in C::B without having to go to some external tool/browser, find the file and have the diff open outside of C::B...
I've setup a tool that opens my diff program with the currently selected file and if there are changes it shows them. It also goes to the correct line:)
I have also commands for git gui blame and gitk. They are pretty handy.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: yvesdm3000 on February 10, 2016, 09:25:36 pm
https://github.com/danselmi/cbDiff

I merged that into my own branch. I didn't add anything and issues a pull request to the upstream one, I'm however not sure if danselmi is still actively developing it, maybe he is but nothing needs to be changed anymor.

Yves
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: yvesdm3000 on February 10, 2016, 09:28:27 pm
I agree, I don't need all those features of branching, rebasing etc, only features that the existing tools can't deliver where it makes sense in regards to Code::Blocks integration. IMHO that's why I asked the question in the first place, to actually get a diff from a file that I can click in C::B without having to go to some external tool/browser, find the file and have the diff open outside of C::B...
I've setup a tool that opens my diff program with the currently selected file and if there are changes it shows them. It also goes to the correct line:)
I have also commands for git gui blame and gitk. They are pretty handy.

Does it start C::B when you do a git gui blame ? Maybe a nice howto or some notes on what you've configured? Helps others figuring out what to do to setup this...

Yves
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: MortenMacFly on February 10, 2016, 09:46:33 pm
https://github.com/danselmi/cbDiff
OK. I knew that but forgot. There is another one here:
https://github.com/ywx/cbDiff
So there are 2 forks from the original and yours on top. Maybe you can merge all three. Because the ywx has highlight languages considered.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: yvesdm3000 on February 10, 2016, 09:51:48 pm
Oh, I was thinking that https://github.com/ywx/cbDiff was the original one? I couldn't find the link anymore on the original post...

Yves
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: oBFusCATed on February 10, 2016, 11:55:44 pm
Does it start C::B when you do a git gui blame ? Maybe a nice howto or some notes on what you've configured? Helps others figuring out what to do to setup this...
No it doesn't start C::B, I'm using external diff tool (diffuse to be precise).
To configure it go to Tools -> Configure tools ... -> Add and use the variables depicted in the dialog.
Also the wiki has the full list somewhere:)
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: MortenMacFly on February 11, 2016, 12:49:00 pm
Oh, I was thinking that https://github.com/ywx/cbDiff was the original one?
Nope. That was a fork already. The original was a large attachment to the first post which was removed some times back - unnoticed, during a forum clean-up. That's why we always say, don't post important files in the forums, they will get lost for sure some day. But I think GeO never created a repo for his work, unfortunately.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: yvesdm3000 on February 11, 2016, 03:18:57 pm
So it means I merged the 2 existing branches.

https://github.com/yvesdm3000/cbDiff

Yves
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: MortenMacFly on February 12, 2016, 04:26:29 pm
So it means I merged the 2 existing branches.
Yes, looks like that. Good to know... not so nice is that we have 3 unsync'd projects now.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: MaBunny on May 31, 2016, 03:55:29 pm
Hey guys!!!
I'm new to this forum,not CB and I was in search of some good plugins to customize my CB,when i chanced upon this good plugin in tht list.

Well,I'm in a linux distro......debian actually,and had installed CB from the package archive given in the website for my distro.I didn't have any problem installing CB....though when I tried to compile the .cbp project file given with this plugins archive,i got this error:

Quote

||=== Build: default in GitBlocks (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
/usr/include/wx-3.0/wx/dialog.h   fatal error: wx/toplevel.h: No such file or directory
||=== Build failed: 1 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 7 second(s)) ===|


And this is just the beginning,I get more problems as I go through the process....and Igot a particular pestering problem.It says something like this:

"fatal error: wx/setup.h: No such file or directory "

I searched for tht file in my system...and I didnt find it.....
Do you guys have any suggestions??? I went to the IRC channel in freenode too...but to no help....
Also I installed the wxheader,wxgtk and wxbase-3.0-0 packages from the repos, including the dev packages.
If someone could provide me with the contents of tht header then I could be glad......

Many regards,
MaBunny.
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: oBFusCATed on May 31, 2016, 11:08:42 pm
Your packages are broken or the output of wx-config is wrong.
Search your files system (most probably /usr/include) for this toplevel.h.
It should be there. I have it (three versions infact).
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: aldolo on October 06, 2018, 10:46:17 am
i'm trying to compile too, in windows, and i miss these wx include too. is this a linux only project in the end???
Title: Re: GitBlocks Plugin
Post by: BlueHazzard on October 06, 2018, 05:40:48 pm
Yes this project file is linux only...