Author Topic: I download the SDK CHM file, but can't open it, why?  (Read 15665 times)

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
I download the SDK CHM file, but can't open it, why?
« on: January 06, 2009, 03:33:01 pm »
These days, I'm trying to do something to help developing C::B, so I download the sdk document from:

http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/codeblocks_sdk_doc_r5046.chm

But, I can't open it. My system is windows XP and I don't have any problem with my networks and Internet explorer.

By the way, it seems this is the latest sdk document for developers. Is there another one? I think it is very important to understand the structure of the sdk and the source code.

Here is the screenshot. non of the pages can be viewed.




[attachment deleted by admin]
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: I download the SDK CHM file, but can't open it, why?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2009, 03:35:58 pm »
http://prdownload.berlios.de/codeblocks/codeblocks_sdk_doc_r5046.chm
One reason is illegal characters in your path (e.g. a hash '#'). Place the documentation in a short path (e.g. C:\Temp) and tell me if it works...

Another reason might be: Downloaded CHM files are locked by default by Windows due to virus paranoia. You can enable the use of them somehow using a registry patch. But I forgot how I did this... :-(

PS.: I KNOW this sounds weird. But trust me: It's true.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: I download the SDK CHM file, but can't open it, why?
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2009, 03:49:22 pm »
Thanks for the quick reply!
I tried the first method, even I change its path to the "c:\a.chm", it still can't work.

But Google gives me the method which does some patch to registry.

Code
REGEDIT4
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\HTMLHelp]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\HTMLHelp\1.x\HHRestrictions]
"MaxAllowedZone"=dword:00000003

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\HTMLHelp\1.x\ItssRestrictions]
"MaxAllowedZone"=dword:00000003

Then, it works!

Thank you very much. :D
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: I download the SDK CHM file, but can't open it, why?
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2009, 04:03:58 pm »
Code
REGEDIT4
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\HTMLHelp]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\HTMLHelp\1.x\HHRestrictions]
"MaxAllowedZone"=dword:00000003

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\HTMLHelp\1.x\ItssRestrictions]
"MaxAllowedZone"=dword:00000003
Then, it works!
Yes - that's the one I was referring to... We should put this into the WiKi...
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: I download the SDK CHM file, but can't open it, why?
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2009, 05:03:06 pm »
Yes, you are right. The wiki page should be extended.
I add some comments on here:
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Talk:Developer_documentation

Any suggestions? Thanks.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline pjk

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: I download the SDK CHM file, but can't open it, why?
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2009, 07:24:22 am »
Did you try Right Click/Properties/unblock

see http://support.microsoft.com/kb/902225/

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: I download the SDK CHM file, but can't open it, why?
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2009, 07:41:47 am »
Did you try Right Click/Properties/unblock

see http://support.microsoft.com/kb/902225/
Thanks, although I have already solved the problem with another method. :D
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline pjk

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: I download the SDK CHM file, but can't open it, why?
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2009, 12:46:45 pm »
Quote
Thanks, although I have already solved the problem with another method.

There may be security implications of setting
Quote
"MaxAllowedZone"=dword:00000003

After all the security patch specifically reduced this number to avoid a vulnerability in HTML help which could allow remote code execution

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/896054/

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: I download the SDK CHM file, but can't open it, why?
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2009, 08:18:43 am »
@pjk
Thanks for your patience and suggestion.

I followed your steps and their is a "unlock" button in the CHM files property dialog. By the way, this is the first time I saw such a button :D.

I'm wondering how to set my IE back to original setting. I just press the button "Internet option -> security -> reset all zones to default level". (By the way, I seldom use IE, most time, I use Firefox, :D).

Thanks again!
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.