Author Topic: Cannot find resources...  (Read 7137 times)

bluesky

  • Guest
Cannot find resources...
« on: November 22, 2008, 01:15:50 pm »
When I try to debug a program compiled(no problem,and executable file generated) with Mingw32 on Code::blocks ,the window following pop:
Cannot find resource...
XXX was configured to be installed in
"..."
Please use command-line switch '--prefix' or set the CODEBLOCKS_DATA_DIR enviroment variable to point when XXX
is installed.
or try re-install the application...

But the same window will pop after adding "--prefix=Destination Directory".

What the problem is , and Could you help me ?
Thanks!

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • Fun electronic
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2010, 09:07:17 am »
I have now the same problem.
I ll try to compile the CB from sources from Head of SVN. I use the CB 10.05 to compile the sources of CB from SVN.

Where should i put the CODEBLOCKS_DATA_DIR variable?

Do the resources are separate from SVN sources?

Offline Folco

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 343
    • Folco's blog (68k lover)
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2010, 01:29:42 am »
Environment settings -> environment variables.
Then you could use this variable by editing the project options to enable it.
Kernel Extremist - PedroM power ©

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • Fun electronic
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2010, 06:59:12 am »
Environment settings -> environment variables.
Then you could use this variable by editing the project options to enable it.
Thanks.

I think, that the problem is that update.bat is not quite compatible with existing cygwin environmet, and does not create resources.zip file. It gives a warnings, that there is MS-DOS Pathes are in command, and does not start zip cmd.

I did run the update script from the cygwin shell, and it did it right. And I could start the CB from any directory, where I copied it. :)


Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • Fun electronic
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2010, 07:27:07 am »
Now there is another problem here.

After building the head of CBs SVN, I can start CB, but if I select in menu Settings->Editor..., the CB is crashed with error

The app in 0x69f016ee try to read the mem in 0x00000000.

What can be the problem here?

Thanks in advance,

Alexey

Offline Folco

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 343
    • Folco's blog (68k lover)
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2010, 08:47:21 am »
I don't know if it will solve your problem, but try to delete the Code::Blocks config file (backup it before).
It's named ~/.codeblocks/default.conf under Linux, I don't know for Windows, but it could be in your user data.
Kernel Extremist - PedroM power ©

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • Fun electronic
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2010, 09:08:45 am »
I don't know if it will solve your problem, but try to delete the Code::Blocks config file (backup it before).
It's named ~/.codeblocks/default.conf under Linux, I don't know for Windows, but it could be in your user data.
On windows systems it is located in
C:\Documents and Settings\<UserName>\Application Data\codeblocks

But this is exactly, what I do not want to do :)
But I'll try to do it temporarily.

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • Fun electronic
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2010, 09:11:28 am »
No. The deletion of the default.conf does not help. CB is still crashes on opening the Editor settings dialog.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2010, 10:47:59 am »
After building the head of CBs SVN, I can start CB, but if I select in menu Settings->Editor..., the CB is crashed with error
If you're building with C::B you have to execute src/update.bat after the build, have you done it?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • Fun electronic
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2010, 11:02:37 am »
After building the head of CBs SVN, I can start CB, but if I select in menu Settings->Editor..., the CB is crashed with error
If you're building with C::B you have to execute src/update.bat after the build, have you done it?
Yes. I already wrote here, that, if there is a cygwin on the PC, the update.bat does not do every thing, what it must do. The Zip's cmds are not run properly. Because of that, after the build of CB in CB ( :) ), I am starting "update" script in cygwin environment. This runs properly (does not show any errors). May be the problem in that?


Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2010, 02:41:17 pm »
May be the problem in that?
Certainly, as this is not supported.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • Fun electronic
Re: Cannot find resources...
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2010, 08:24:41 am »
Hey. It works! :)

The problem was, that in the PATH env.var. the directory with MinGW was AFTER the cygwin. And the zip.exe was taken from cygwin and not from MinGW dir. I moved the Path of the MinGW to the front, and recompile everything, and started update.bat. Everything was compiled without errors and the Editor Settings dialog is opens now!

Thanks for the CB! Its the best for me!