Author Topic: Different compilers per target in the same project  (Read 13586 times)

Offline fabrizio.benedetti

• Multiple posting newcomer
Re: Different compilers per target in the same project
« Reply #15 on: July 11, 2008, 01:09:31 am »
compiling a single file always chooses the default compiler which is good (and by design!).
  Currently, C::B does not choose the default compiler when compiling a single file. It chooses the default compiler and initializes it, then it chooses the compiler from current build target (possibly uninitialized) and compiles the file --> exception thrown. Is this a bug or not?

In the end it's for quick tests anyways and not for "serious" programming.
  OK, I don't practice serious programming, I'm just a paid programmer releasing commercial products. Incidentally, the beta testers testing my systems think the same about my "serious" programming  :?. Nonetheless, I'd like C::B to meet my needs, and I use "build file" commands every day. I write a bunch of code, then I want to ensure it compiles good on every compiler I target: I don't want to build all my targets for that, I just want to check those lines before I go on. My projects have thousands of source files and final link takes >5 minutes per target: I don't want to spend 20 minutes just to quick test on every compiler that fresh code in that single file!

no project --> no project compiler.
  Why no project? I am compiling 1 single file, but I have a workspace open, with many projects in it, and a build target selected, and I am compiling one of the files added to one of the projects in my open workspace.

Cheers!
    Fabrizio

Offline MortenMacFly

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
« Reply #16 on: July 11, 2008, 06:59:19 am »
In the end it's for quick tests anyways and not for "serious" programming.
  OK, I don't practice serious programming, I'm just a paid programmer releasing commercial products.