Author Topic: Code won't link using Microsoft Visual C++ 6  (Read 24221 times)

Offline JackDriver

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Code won't link using Microsoft Visual C++ 6
« Reply #15 on: March 13, 2008, 03:13:42 am »
Hi Tim,

I am using the default workspace and created a new console application via the wizard.

Response to build command (project or workspace):

-------------- Build: Debug in hello ---------------

LINK.EXE /nologo /LIBPATH:"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\Lib" /LIBPATH:"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\MFC\Lib" /LIBPATH:"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\lib"  /out:bin\Debug\hello.exe msvcrtd.lib msvcprtd.lib  obj\Debug\main.obj   /DEBUG
Nothing to be done.


Response to Rebuild command (project or workspace):

-------------- Build: Debug in hello ---------------

CL.EXE /nologo /W3 /EHsc  /Zi /D_DEBUG /MDd  /MDd   /I"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\Include" /I"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\Include\SYS" /I"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\ATL\Include" /I"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\MFC\Include" /I"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\include"  /c main.cpp /Foobj\Debug\main.obj
main.cpp


LINK.EXE /nologo /LIBPATH:"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\Lib" /LIBPATH:"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VC98\MFC\Lib" /LIBPATH:"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\lib"  /out:bin\Debug\hello.exe msvcrtd.lib msvcprtd.lib  obj\Debug\main.obj   /DEBUG
Nothing to be done.


Response to run command produces the following in the log window:

Checking for existence: C:\tmp\hello\bin\Debug\hello.exe

and a dialog as folows:

It seems that this project has not yet been built yet. Do you want to build it now <YES> <NO> <CANCEL>


1. Responding with YES simply repeats the behaviour.

2. Responding with NO produces the following in the log window:

Executing: "C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks/cb_console_runner.exe" "C:\tmp\hello\bin\Debug\hello.exe"  (in C:\tmp\hello\.)
Process terminated with status -1073741510 (0 minutes, 7 seconds)


3. Responding with CANCEL does nothing as expected.



Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: Code won't link using Microsoft Visual C++ 6
« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2008, 03:14:42 am »
Found weird bug, when I set MinGW GCC as default compiler "run" does not work.

Please verify that "Microsoft Visual C++ 6" or similar named compiler is the default compiler.
Under "settings" -> "compiler and debugger"
Click "set as Default" with the proper compiler in the "selected compiler" pull-down.

Does the problem go away?

If so, please file a bug report on this.

Tim S
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline JackDriver

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Code won't link using Microsoft Visual C++ 6
« Reply #17 on: March 13, 2008, 03:29:07 am »
Hi Tim,

Re-checked that "Microsoft Visual C++ 6" is set as the default compiler and that it is also set and the compiler for the project. I then selected selecetd "GNU GCC Compiler" as the default compiler then switched back to "Microsoft Visual C++ 6" to be default.

No change in behaviour.

Joseph

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: Code won't link using Microsoft Visual C++ 6
« Reply #18 on: March 13, 2008, 03:33:16 am »
How did you create the Microsoft Visual C++ 6 entry was it already in Code::Blocks or did you copy one of the other compilers?

My setup was missing the "Microsoft Visual C++ 6 entry" so I copied the "Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003" entry and changed the info to match.

I am running out of things to suggest testing/checking.

Tim S

C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline JackDriver

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Code won't link using Microsoft Visual C++ 6
« Reply #19 on: March 13, 2008, 03:36:57 am »

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: Code won't link using Microsoft Visual C++ 6
« Reply #20 on: March 13, 2008, 03:44:14 am »
Does you computer have more than one CPU?
Few years back was some weird issues with Dual CPU machines.

Tim S
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline JackDriver

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Code won't link using Microsoft Visual C++ 6
« Reply #21 on: March 13, 2008, 03:49:49 am »
Only a single CPU Pentium 4 2.8GHz, 512Mb RAM.

Offline JackDriver

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Code won't link using Microsoft Visual C++ 6
« Reply #22 on: March 13, 2008, 03:57:06 am »
Hi Tim,

Success at last - I deleted the compiler from Settings-->Compiler & Debugger & redid the instructions in in http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Integrating_Microsoft_Visual_C_6_with_Code::Blocks_IDE.

For some reason it worked this time! :D

-------------- Build: Debug in hello2 ---------------

main.cpp
Linking console executable: bin\Debug\hello2.exe
LINK : LNK6004: bin\Debug\hello2.exe not found or not built by the last incremental link; performing full link
Output size is 28.05 KB
Process terminated with status 0 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
0 errors, 0 warnings


Thanks for your help,
Joseph