Author Topic: can't compile WxWidgets with borland compiler ( -pipe problem) pls help  (Read 5725 times)

rozniy

Hi, I'm new to Code Blocks, trying to switch from Dev-C++. I've been doing wxWidgets programming using MingW in Dev-C++, and now I'm trying to compile the same wxWidgets program using Borland, prefereably using the CodeBlocks IDE...

Anyway, tinkering around with CodeBlocks I've managed to get a very basic "Hello Sailormoon!" to compile and run using Borland bcc32 as compiler. But when I tried to compile the basic wxWidgets example CodeBlocks gives us, the compiler protests at the very first step, saying -pipes is an illegal option (for bcc32 presumably).

So I thought, "Hokay, I'll edit the makefile!"

But CodeBlocks hath no Makefile? And when I tried editing what it uses instead of Makefile (removing the -pipes option) CodeBlocks ignores me and insists -pipe is an illegal option.

How do I get Code Blocks to not use -pipes when using Borland to compile wxwidgets application?

I have installed wxWidigets library and compiled the library from command line using the provided Makefile. Using command line bcc32 and the example makefiles, the wxWdigets examples are easily compiled. But I would like to do it within CodeBlocks, for I like to make it easy for myself... I'm too lazy to write a Makefile every time!

I want to switch from MingW to Borland because some DLL a firm provided to interface with A/D cum I/O card has import libraries only for VC and Borland, and all my efforts to jimmy up a MingW import library are fail, and none of the base are belong to me. It seems likely I can rebuild my wxWidgets application using bcc32. I'll do it by command line if necessary, but If CodeBlocks can be set to do this, it would make my day.

So How do I set CodeBlocks to build wxWidgets application using Borland?
« Last Edit: August 20, 2005, 09:17:28 pm by rickg22 »

rozniy

Re: can't compile WxWidgets with borland compiler ( -pipe problem) pls help