Author Topic: Need some pointers to using CVS with my own code  (Read 3462 times)

Offline weedenbc

• Single posting newcomer
Need some pointers to using CVS with my own code
« on: January 10, 2008, 04:11:21 pm »
I've been doing some simple C programming a few years but never anything more than a couple thousand lines, always just one source file and I have never used CVS before.  But I want to learn how CVS works and get used to it before I start a new major project.

The main reason I want to start using CVS is that I'm running into problems where I delete some code to fix an algorithm but then realize I need some of what I had originally written back.  I'm sure a lot of you are familiar with this problem and I have been told CVS is the solution I need.  I realize that the main purpose of CVS is to handle multiple people making source changes at the same time but I'm assuming it can help with my "undo" needs as well.  I'm also looking to get involved in an OSS project and I want to be familar with how CVS works before jumping headfirst into it.

So how would I get started?  I'm assuming I need to install the CVS plugin for C::B.  What about the repository?  Can I simply use a directory on my hard disk or do I need to install some CVS software to manage it?  Oh, and I'm currently using Windows XP as Gutsy does not play well with my laptop.  How about if I wanted to create a project page on Sourceforge?  Would it be easier to host the CVS there?

Any advice and/or pointers to wikis, FAQs, etc would be much appreciated.  Thanks!
« Last Edit: January 10, 2008, 04:23:40 pm by weedenbc »

Offline thomas

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: Need some pointers to using CVS with my own code
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2008, 05:43:37 pm »
So how would I get started?