Author Topic: Suggestion: coding behavior statistics  (Read 3809 times)

Offline Steven 'lazalong'

• Multiple posting newcomer
Suggestion: coding behavior statistics
« on: September 01, 2007, 09:22:22 am »
Hey

As a freelance programmer I need to account for the time I charge.
To do that correctly I need to have some statistics on how I work.

Some statistics that could be stored:
  • How much time was passed coding on a project?
  • How much per file, per project, per workspace?
  • How much code was done per day?
  • Do I type or simply stare at my screen (idle time)?
  • When are the period during the day I code the most?
  • Do I use often undo/redo aka trial and error ;) ?
  • Etc.

All this will help me determine how many day-man I will use for a project.
The features that can be added are certainly endless.

Anyway I know this is a very low priority request.
But I wanted to throw it to you and see if you find other useful statistics to add.

If you find it worthwhile we could make a SF request.
Bye
« Last Edit: September 01, 2007, 09:48:50 am by Steven 'lazalong' »
-------------------------------
OGE - www.opengameengine.org

Offline wwolf

Re: Suggestion: coding behavior statistics
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2007, 11:58:05 am »
Well, I get paid for just staring at my screen.  I stare, stare and THINK. :)  I really think that what you want to measure is the time you have spent working on specific tasks, not specific files.  So I would add timing possibility to a hierarchical TODO list feature, rather than code files.  Sort of SOA style. :)