Author Topic: Cross platform "DLL" ?  (Read 7523 times)

Offline cacb

• Lives here!
Cross platform "DLL" ?
« on: June 22, 2007, 06:27:45 pm »
Hi,

I have been using MS VisualStudio for many years, and I have been used to making MFC programs using many DLLs (sometimes DLLs without any GUI). Now I have moved to Code::Blocks and wxWidgets. This is great as my programs are targeting Windows and Linux. Code::Blocks and wxWidgets solves the problem of writing portable executable applications.

But I was wondering if there is anything in Code::Blocks that would help me write portable libraries that become DLLs on windows and .so (shared objects) on Linux? Which project wizard options would help me do that? I might also need info on how to export C++ classes from such projects, to make them usable from outside. I use VS2005 Express on Windows XP and GCC on Linux Kubuntu. I know the details of exporting C++ classes from Windows DLLs, but how to do the same for Linux shared objects is more unclear to me.

Will I have to use some feature of wxWidgets to achieve this?

Any info or pointers most welcome.

cacb

Offline David Perfors

• Developer
  • Lives here!
Re: Cross platform "DLL" ?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2007, 07:08:34 pm »
You can create Dynamic libs for Windows and Linux with Code::Blocks. You can just choose the DLL wizard I think. (I am not sure, never done that)
You can take a look to the source code of the Code::Blocks SDK. it is also a cross platform Dynamic Link Library.
You don't need wxWidgets, but you should use OS specific functionality with care.
Compiler: mingw
IDE: Code::Blocks SVN WX: 2.8.4 Wish list: faster code completion, easier debugging, refactoring

Offline cacb

• Lives here!
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2007, 07:57:19 pm »