Author Topic: avr-kit  (Read 8127 times)

ratatatata

avr-kit
« on: June 12, 2007, 07:29:47 pm »
hi, i'm an enthusiastic avr-programmer and so i've optimized the gnuavr plugin a bit..

it's not much but usefull in my opinion ;)
i'm new to codeblocks and i would be glad about any feedback, howto do it better, what suckz, what additional features could make avr-programmer's life easier, etc.

it consists of two parts, (1)sourcecode-modifications and (2)a project wizard.
and here's the patch: http://pastebin.ca/564495

just apply it to your code::blocks working copy and after compiling + installing put a logo.png and a wizard.png into the /avr dir of your templates/wizard folder ;)

sourcecode modifications:
  -adding some important options like fpack-struct and -fshort-enums
  -removes the -mmcu options, instead of this $(MCU) and $(F_CPU) is used now
  -makes the gnuavr compiler "WarningsOn", "DebugSymbolsOn" and "OptimizationsOn" compatible
  -adds the possibility to define the command that is execute when you "run" a project (thought for using avrdude)

project wizard:
this wizard asks you for your MCU, the CPU-Frequency, the object format (standard: ihex) the port for avrdude and the programm-device for avrdude.
it registers all variables (MCU, F_CPU, FORMAT, AD_PORT, AD_PROGRAMMER) and sets up two after-build commands to create the object files (program+eeprom) that's needed by avrdude.
now you can create and compile you project and with a slight click on the run button the program is transfered to your ยต-c ;)

now the only left thing i dont like is the fact that an avr-project is set up as "console program" but it is not.. i'd like to see something like "Other" or "Foreign" there, just for optical reasons.

hope you enjoy the "run"->program feature as much as i do.
cu, ratatatata
« Last Edit: June 13, 2007, 07:04:24 pm by ratatatata »

Offline killerbot

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: avr-kit
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2007, 10:34:53 pm »