Author Topic: ASP/VB/VBscript and PHP lexers?  (Read 8323 times)

Offline Shaft-O

• Single posting newcomer
ASP/VB/VBscript and PHP lexers?
« on: May 21, 2007, 03:37:58 pm »
I'm very new to Code::Blocks (and the scintilla stuff).  Just installed on Friday, as a matter of fact.

Most of my development is in classic ASP (VBscript) and PHP, though there's apparently no inherent support for syntax highlighting for either at the moment.  I've been searching high and low for references to lexers that will do the trick -- even partially finished ones that I could tinker with a bit -- but have so far come up empty.  I'm currently more interested in the VB-related lexer, as PHP is a lower priority for me at work, but both would be greatly appreciated, as I really like what I've seen out of the CB package so far, and would really like to try using it in our production environment.

Can anyone lend a hand here?

Offline Shaft-O

Re: ASP/VB/VBscript and PHP lexers?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2007, 04:28:58 pm »
I should probably add that I've tried using the scintilla-type indexes to define a lexer for ASP script, and have run into the same problem I saw referenced with the attempts at a PHP lexer: anything inside the <% ... %> tags was underlined and lacked any syntax highlighting.

This is a real bummer, because I'm definitely digging CB.

Offline MortenMacFly

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2007, 06:06:30 pm »
It isn't so easy to implement a lexer for VB(A/SCRIPT) and/or PHP for several reasons (search the C::B forum for "PHP lexer"). I have attached my last attempt for both. Both are not working 100% but maybe a good starting point. You should read the C::B WiKi on how to write a lexer and the wxScintilla documentation if you want to improve this work. But maybe that's already enough for you... ;-)
With regards, Morten.
Ps.:
- place the files in [C::B]\share\CodeBlocks\lexers
- restart C::B