Author Topic: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks  (Read 8441 times)

mariocup

  • Guest
Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« on: March 29, 2007, 08:15:07 am »
Hi,

I think it would be nice if Code::Blocks has another tab for browsing within the filesystem like explore. Perhaps this view could be used to integrate support for TortoiseSVN/CVS.
Some time ago I have seen that there is eclipse plugin using tortoise.
http://www.tabaquismo.freehosting.net/ignacio/eclipse/tortoise-svn/subversion.html

As tortoise is a wxWidget application perhaps the integration is less work than adding a svn or cvs plugin to Code::Blocks.

What do you think about that.

Bye,

Mario

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2007, 08:36:59 am »
Quote
As tortoise is a wxWidget application perhaps the integration is less work than adding a svn or cvs plugin to Code::Blocks.

What do you think about that.

I think that you 're a windows user...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

mariocup

  • Guest
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2007, 09:56:27 am »
Hi mandrav,

I develop under windows and linux. I like Tortoise under windows because it is easy to use, but it is not available for linux :cry: I don't know if it possible to port tortoise to linux.
As far as I now, there are different SVN clients for windows and linux:
esvn (qt), rapidsvn (wxwidget) but there will be no way to integrate them in a browser or Code::Blocks.
Under linux there are some kio_svn integration (like kdevelop) but that will not work under windows.

I think the integration of tortoise would be easier, so perhaps a lot of windows user could work with that great plugin together with Code::Blocks.

You are right mandrav that Code::Blocks is a cross platform IDE, so the features should be available for windows and linux.

Bye,

Mario

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2007, 11:49:25 am »
Quote
You are right mandrav that Code::Blocks is a cross platform IDE, so the features should be available for windows and linux.

That was exactly my point.
You (or anyone else) are very welcome to write and provide a tortoisesvn-based Code::Blocks plugin for other windows users to enjoy. But we cannot do that because it will not be a cross-platform solution.
When we start work on such a plugin rest assured it will be cross-platform (without using tortoisesvn of course). But it's not at the top of our priorities for now.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2007, 12:18:39 pm »
IMHO there is a TortoiseSVN plugin for windows already. At least for some obscure reason I have a TortoiseSVN menu originating from a plugin I grabbed out of the depth of the forum ages back. Try a search in the forum, but I have no idea wheter:
- it's still working (I'm not using it)
- it's still supported / developed / maintained...
With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

mariocup

  • Guest
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2007, 01:47:46 pm »
Thanks,

I have downloaded the file and will try to the plugin work for TortoiseSVN and TortoiseCVS.
But if I built the plugin I have the same problem as build Codeblocks from sources under windows.
Codeblocks (nightly builds) is linked against wxmsw26u_gcc_cb.dll.
If I build codeblocks from sources it is linked (WX_SUFFIX=u) against wxmsw26u_gcc_custom.dll and the plugins are not loaded correctly. If I modify WX_SUFFIX=u_gcc_cb then I get
C:/Programme/wxWidgets-2.6.3/include/wx/platform.h:190:22: wx/setup.h: No such file or directory
What I am doing wrong. Thanks.

Bye,

Mario

Offline Jan van den Borst

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 99
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2007, 01:50:18 pm »
Some time back I wrote a CBTortoiseSVN plugin! I'll attach it.

Jan

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2007, 02:00:47 pm »
Some time back I wrote a CBTortoiseSVN plugin! I'll attach it.
That was the one I meant. Thanks, Jan. BTW: If I recall correctly there were also some modifications done by pecan in addition... but I'm not sure about that....
With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2007, 03:30:49 pm »
If I build codeblocks from sources it is linked (WX_SUFFIX=u) against wxmsw26u_gcc_custom.dll and the plugins are not loaded correctly. If

Open config.gcc file in <wx>/build/msw folder. Change the following line
Code
VENDOR = custom
To
Code
VENDOR = cb
And recompile the wx. Now you'll get wxmsw26u_gcc_cb.dll file.
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2007, 03:51:26 pm »
Open config.gcc file in <wx>/build/msw folder. Change the following line
Code
VENDOR = custom
To
Code
VENDOR = cb
And recompile the wx. Now you'll get wxmsw26u_gcc_cb.dll file.

@all:

!!! NEVER EVER DO THAT !!!

The vendor suffix is there for a reason. Specifically, the "cb" suffix tells us that this dll was built by us and we can safely assume it is built the way we want it.
If you do that and something doesn't work, don't come here for help. You 've been warned.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2007, 04:13:15 pm »
@all:

!!! NEVER EVER DO THAT !!!

The vendor suffix is there for a reason.

Yiannis is correct. The method I've shown is just to fix your problem. :)

But as he has mentioned, we'll not provide any support.

Otherwise, download the official wx Runtime provided by C::B team and then create an import library. In this case also No support is guaranteed. ;)

Or just use the wxmsw26u_gcc_custom.dll file, it will be same.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2007, 04:18:37 pm by Biplab »
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

mariocup

  • Guest
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2007, 05:18:55 pm »
Mi mandrav, Hi Biplab,

the main reason for this question is the following problem. If I build codeblocks and all plugins from sources and run update.bat then codeblocks is linked against custom.dll. Starting codeblocks and loading plugins works fine.
But if I compile e.g. ThreadSearch Plugin or CBTortoiseSVN and link agains custom.dll and then load it in Code::Blocks then I get an error, that these plugins could not be loaded correctly. If I compile e.g. the ThreadSearch Plugin and link it against *u_gcc_cb.dll and copy the plugin to the binaries which I get from the nightly build the plugin works. I do not know what is the reason?
Any idea.

Thx,

Mario

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2769
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2007, 05:40:51 pm »
   //-- Full Compile Logging --
   "Settings" -> "Compiler and Debugger"
   "Global Compiler Setting"
   "Other Settings"
   "compiler logging:" set to "Full Command Line"

Post the results of the compile/link from the messages notebook.

Offline dje

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 683
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2007, 07:00:22 pm »
Quote
But if I compile e.g. ThreadSearch Plugin or CBTortoiseSVN and link agains custom.dll and then load it in Code::Blocks then I get an error, that these plugins could not be loaded correctly.
To bypass the problem with ThreadSearch plugin, I link with .a libs to work with my development environment and directly with dlls to work with a nightly build.

Dje

mariocup

  • Guest
Re: Integration of Tortoise within Code::Blocks
« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2007, 11:19:48 am »
Hi codeblocks team,

yesterday I rebuilt wx with VENDOR=custom. Then I made a clean and rebuilt of codeblocks and all plugins, and now everything works fine.
All is linked against custom.dll and I get no error if I start codeblocks. I do not know what was exactly the inconsistency on my system?
Thanks for your help.

Bye,

Mario