Author Topic: setting break points  (Read 4951 times)

Offline DoMeN

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 66
setting break points
« on: November 09, 2006, 02:31:56 pm »
Hi,

I'm using gdb with a simulator to whitch I connect through jtag and for some reason I'm having problems setting breakpoints. I think that this is because of code::blocks sending the wrong path to the debugger.
My settings are:
  target: Debug
  output filename: ./bt/except/except-icdc.bt
  execution work dir.: .
  debugger initialisation commands: target jtag jtag://localhost:9998

This is the debugger log:
Quote
Command-line: /opt/bt-elf/bin/bt-elf-gdb -nx -fullname  -quiet -args ./bt/except/except-icdc.bt
Working dir : /home/domenv/svn/
> set prompt >>>>>>cb_gdb:
(gdb) >>>>>>cb_gdb:
> show version
GNU gdb 6.5
Copyright (C) 2006 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
GDB is free software, covered by the GNU General Public License, and you are
welcome to change it and/or distribute copies of it under certain conditions.
Type "show copying" to see the conditions.
There is absolutely no warranty for GDB.  Type "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "--host=x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu --target=bt-elf".
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> set confirm off
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> set width 0
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> set height 0
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> set breakpoint pending on
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> set print asm-demangle on
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> set unwindonsignal on
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> set disassembly-flavor att
No symbol "disassembly" in current context.
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> target jtag jtag://localhost:9998
Remote or1k debugging using jtag://localhost:9998
8 hw watchpoints available
0x00000100 in vec_start ()
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> directory /home/domenv/svn/
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> delete breakpoints
>>>>>>cb_gdb:
> break "bt/except/except_c.c:1349"
No source file named bt/except/except_c.c.
Breakpoint 1 ("bt/except/except_c.c:1349) pending.
>>>>>>cb_gdb:

The part that is giving me a head ache is:
> break "bt/except/except_c.c:1349"
No source file named bt/except/except_c.c.
Breakpoint 1 ("bt/except/except_c.c:1349) pending.

How do I change the path that code::blocks is using to set breakpoints?

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: setting break points
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2006, 03:10:00 pm »
Quote
How do I change the path that code::blocks is using to set breakpoints?

Change? Why? Where does this file reside? Have you added it to the project?
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline DoMeN

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 66
Re: setting break points
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2006, 03:17:46 pm »
This file is located in the directory /home/domenv/svn/bt/except/except_c.c

I've added it to the project but I'm not shore why it sayz
no source file named bt/except/except_c.c.
Breakpoint 1 ("bt/except/except_c.c:1349) pending.

The only reason I can think of is that the provided path is wrong.

Could this happen in anny other case?

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: setting break points
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2006, 03:54:39 pm »
Quote
Could this happen in anny other case?

Sure, by forgetting to rebuild with debugging symbols enabled :).

What I need to know is where this file is located in relation to the project file.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline DoMeN

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 66
Re: setting break points
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2006, 08:10:45 am »
. -> project folder
./bt/except/except_c.c -> path from the project folder to the file

Offline DoMeN

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 66
Re: setting break points
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2006, 11:50:00 am »
Sloved the problem  :D
It was my stupid mistake. Ther was a problem with my programs not being compiled correctly in c::b.
Wel at list I had -g flag set  :)

Offline nenin

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 212
Re: setting break points
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2006, 03:44:23 pm »
Quote
Could this happen in anny other case?

Sure, by forgetting to rebuild with debugging symbols enabled :).

What I need to know is where this file is located in relation to the project file.
Not work. I have
"c:\MinGW\projects\prj1\swarm\Swarmbody2.hpp"- part of the big class template
and nothing help.
 "./swarm/Swarmbody2.hpp" not help, gcc debugg keys not help, nothing. Only step-by step walking.   :cry: