Author Topic: Combining CodeBlocks and WxDevCPP  (Read 6809 times)

Shaba1

Combining CodeBlocks and WxDevCPP
« on: August 23, 2006, 01:13:28 am »
I am a new C++ programmer. Although I dabbled in C in the mid 90s. I also a an intermediate level Java programmer. I just download wxDevCpp.(Dev CPP Core 4.9.9.2, Form Designer Version 6.8)

Is the a way of using code blocks at the IDE/front in to this compiler WITHOUT destroying the wxDevCpp interface?

Thanks in Advance.

Offline Game_Ender

• Lives here!
Re: Combining CodeBlocks and WxDevCPP
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2006, 04:07:03 am »
Yes its called wxSmith a wxWidgets RAD pluggin for Code::Blocks.  Do a forum search, and notice that it comes installed by default with the nightlies on windows.

Offline thomas

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2006, 08:08:26 am »
Not 100% sure that was what he was asking.

I understand you want to use the gcc compiler that came with wxDevCpp with Code::Blocks? That is possible without any special changes. The only thing that you will possibly have to do is specify the path that points to the compiler.

If you want to use the Form Designer component with Code::Blocks, no, that does not work. But there is wxSmith as Game Ender pointed out, and using this will of course not destroy Form Designer.
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Shaba1

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2006, 01:29:41 am »

I understand you want to use the gcc compiler that came with wxDevCpp with Code::Blocks? That is possible without any special changes. The only thing that you will possibly have to do is specify the path that points to the compiler.

If you want to use the Form Designer component with Code::Blocks, no, that does not work. But there is wxSmith as Game Ender pointed out, and using this will of course not destroy Form Designer.