Author Topic: wxSmith development  (Read 174600 times)

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #90 on: July 28, 2005, 03:53:05 pm »
mandrav, I hv downloaded CB rc-1 and try , it works fine , but when I finished compile wxSmith , and try to run , it give me msg "Another CB process is running" , I hv tried to restart my PC , it give the same msg also.

so , I used back the final-beta version .
I am using winXP , wxwidgets-2.6.1
Uncheck "Settings->Environment->Allow only one running instance" ;)

Yiannis.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #91 on: July 28, 2005, 04:55:15 pm »
mandrav, I hv downloaded CB rc-1 and try , it works fine , but when I finished compile wxSmith , and try to run , it give me msg "Another CB process is running" , I hv tried to restart my PC , it give the same msg also.

so , I used back the final-beta version .
I am using winXP , wxwidgets-2.6.1
Uncheck "Settings->Environment->Allow only one running instance" ;)

Yiannis.

Perhaps we should have that disabled by default... anyway. You could present a dialog box asking if you want to run anyway.

zieQ

  • Guest
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #92 on: July 28, 2005, 06:19:10 pm »
Yes, I was asking myself what was the problem since in the final beta had no multiple instance settings.

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #93 on: July 28, 2005, 09:10:08 pm »
Yes, I was asking myself what was the problem since in the final beta had no multiple instance settings.
People used to find it annoying because the last instance's settings are actually saved. So you might edit options in an instance and another instance overwrite them...
So we added an option for it.

Yiannis.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #94 on: July 29, 2005, 06:44:16 am »
Guys i have a question
How stable is wxsmith right now?

I want to edit some of the Codeblocks dialogs... can it be done currently? Or do I have to grab another resource editor?
« Last Edit: July 29, 2005, 07:06:55 am by rickg22 »

Offline byo

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #95 on: July 30, 2005, 09:56:54 am »
Guys i have a question
How stable is wxsmith right now?

I want to edit some of the Codeblocks dialogs... can it be done currently? Or do I have to grab another resource editor?

Unfortunately wxSmith isn't ready for bigger job yet. Currently it doesn't support many standard widgets (I hope that cyberkoa will help me with this :), he has already started working on it).
And stability... sometimes it crashes (when deleting widgets) but I have some problems with debugging - C::B has problems with paths (when running not in debug mode it runs properly but when running in debug it says there's no C::B executable) and I can't load symbol tables from wxSmith's dll, even after add-symbols... in gdb, backtrace doesn't show any function names (maybe anyone could help me with this)

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #96 on: August 01, 2005, 03:54:49 am »
OK here's how. I'm not speaking from experience, but rather from what Yiannis told me.

1) Add a breakpoint after loading the plugins in app.cpp.
2) Run.
3) After you reach the plugins, add the symbol tables for the plugins dlls.

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #97 on: August 01, 2005, 10:32:54 am »
What I do to debug C::B plugins is:

1) open app.cpp, position the cursor on HideSplashScreen() in CodeBlocksApp::InitFrame() (currently line 180)
2) press F4 (starts debugging and breaks on the above line).

When it breaks, the plugins have loaded so any breakpoints you set in plugins, will be valid.
Debug :)

Yiannis.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline cyberkoa

  • Plugin developer
  • Almost regular
  • ****
  • Posts: 145
    • http://
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #98 on: August 04, 2005, 04:42:02 am »

Unfortunately wxSmith isn't ready for bigger job yet. Currently it doesn't support many standard widgets (I hope that cyberkoa will help me with this :), he has already started working on it).
And stability... sometimes it crashes (when deleting widgets) but I have some problems with debugging - C::B has problems with paths (when running not in debug mode it runs properly but when running in debug it says there's no C::B executable) and I can't load symbol tables from wxSmith's dll, even after add-symbols... in gdb, backtrace doesn't show any function names (maybe anyone could help me with this)
Ok, let me handle on the standard widgets , I will try my best ! 

The debugging technique provided by rick and mandrav is very useful ..
Now is still reading the source code of code generation by byo  ..
Next monday I will back to Mexico , will start on the development again ...  :D
« Last Edit: August 04, 2005, 04:45:51 am by cyberkoa »

Offline tiwag

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1196
  • sailing away ...
    • tiwag.cb
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #99 on: August 04, 2005, 06:40:00 pm »
I want to edit some of the Codeblocks dialogs...

in the last time i use more and more often wxFormBuilder
it's almost as good as DialogBlocks, but free and open source.
http://www.solidsteel.nl/users/wxwidgets/viewtopic.php?t=2615
http://software-libre.org/download.php/232/wxFB-20050710-win32-installer.exe

The developer of wxFormBuilder himself posted a few times,
that he is using CodeBlocks and wxFormBuilder together and
reaches very good results with it.

Offline phlox81

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 53
    • phlox81.de
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #100 on: August 04, 2005, 07:48:09 pm »
wow  :shock:

Nice, and quite impressive  8)
You saved me from installing Dev-Cpp, thanks man  :lol:

Offline byo

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #101 on: August 06, 2005, 04:18:43 pm »
Heh, I see so many lovely apps  :lol:
And I just hope that anyone will use my plugin ;)

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #102 on: August 07, 2005, 05:21:01 am »
And I just hope that anyone will use my plugin ;)

Build it, and they will come :lol:

Offline byo

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 837
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #103 on: August 09, 2005, 11:04:04 pm »
Hi, just a small list of features which were added recently:

  • Drag Points - to move and size widgets with mouse :)
  • Changed to wxPropertyGrid for editing properties - there are still some things to code but most of conversion has been done (there's still possibility to use old properties system - just need to add __NO_PROPGRGID to defines - but I haven't tested if it still works ;))
  • Support for Dialogs, Frames and Panels
  • Code generation on-the-fly (but not all objects generate valid code - f.ex. gridsizer)

All changes are in HEAD branch - I'll check if it will work also with VERSION_1_0 and if so, I'll update sources  :D.
Unfortunately wx 2.6 needed (required by wxPropertyGrid)

Offline cyberkoa

  • Plugin developer
  • Almost regular
  • ****
  • Posts: 145
    • http://
Re: wxSmith development
« Reply #104 on: August 10, 2005, 12:44:54 am »
Hi, just a small list of features which were added recently:

  • Drag Points - to move and size widgets with mouse :)
  • Changed to wxPropertyGrid for editing properties - there are still some things to code but most of conversion has been done (there's still possibility to use old properties system - just need to add __NO_PROPGRGID to defines - but I haven't tested if it still works ;))
  • Support for Dialogs, Frames and Panels
  • Code generation on-the-fly (but not all objects generate valid code - f.ex. gridsizer)

All changes are in HEAD branch - I'll check if it will work also with VERSION_1_0 and if so, I'll update sources  :D.
Unfortunately wx 2.6 needed (required by wxPropertyGrid)

o .. great , when will it be commited to CVS ? Looking forward to see the screen shot ...:)