Author Topic: CodeBlocks Not Starting Up  (Read 7741 times)

Offline chikigai

• Multiple posting newcomer
CodeBlocks Not Starting Up
« on: July 25, 2006, 03:50:14 am »
Hello,

I've been using the Nightly Builds for several months now on WinXP.
For some reason, I have suddenly started experiencing a problem where CodeBlocks doesn't start up at all.
The process exists in Task Manager, but stays at 0% CPU usage and never actually starts up the application.
The strange thing is that a rather old development snapshot I compiled myself (saved in a completely different path) starts up no problem.....

Anyone know what might be the cause?

Cheers.

Some additional Info:

The revision of the Development Snapshot which starts up without any problems is 2321.
Also, I have no idea if this information will help, but I used W32dsm to spot at which point the Nightly Build hangs.

With the latest Nightly Builds (I've tried several now), the process is loaded, the program's main entry point is entered, the main thread is created and then hangs.

With the Development Snapshot, the main thread is created and goes on to load "Msftedit.dll".
Several other DLL's are loaded and continues to start up CodeBlocks normally.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2006, 06:08:18 am by chikigai »
[Development Environment]
IDE: Code::Blocks Nightly Build SVN Rev.6080 wxWidgets: 2.8.10 Windows Unicode Build SVN: 1.6.x

Offline kidmosey

• MUSITU International
Re: CodeBlocks Not Starting Up
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2006, 08:54:00 am »
Did it stop working when you updated to the latest nightly, or did it just suddenly stop working altogether without you doing anything?
3 years until google knows more than god.

Offline chikigai

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2006, 09:35:00 am »
Well, to be quite honest, I haven't got a clue!!!

For the past several months, I've been downloading almost every single Nightly Build released.
I delete the files from the older release and copy the new ones in its place.