Author Topic: Game Builder Plugin  (Read 15076 times)

alberto.rubinato

Game Builder Plugin
« on: June 27, 2006, 08:32:59 pm »
Hi,
my name is Alberto and I'm very new here. I'm also Italian, so excuse me for my bad english.

First of all a short introduction. I'm a game developer for hobby. I've searched for long time for tools and library that can help me in the realization of my projects. I've tryed SDL, Allegro, OpenGL + other libs, DirectX, and finally I found a great tool named Game Maker. It is very good for simple games, but it uses an interpreted language ( GML ) that for his nature slow down game speed. Is a fact that programs made with a compiler are excuted quickly than interpreted. I know also that the technique used in implementation is important. I started search again, and found Irrlicht and Ogre3D. Theese library are very impressive and have support for GUI functionality. So comes an idea:

I can develop a plugin ( a sort of editor ) fully integrated with theese library using the existent GUI parts for developing of Game Builder. This tool simply generate code for me from existent templates ( sort of library or SDK ) and launch c++ compiler in order to make excutibles. This in short.

I think: I can go in this way. But GUI functionality are in some way very limited in Irrlicht or Ogre3D, and programming a good editor is not so simple ( code complention, syntax highlight, etc., are difficult to implement ).

So I'm here for some questions:

Code::Blocks have plugin functionality, so my idea is to develope Game Builder as Code::Blocks plugin. I think to develope also a new project type with project wizard in order to setup some general game parameter or simply the library to use ( SDL, Irrlicht, Ogre3D, your_own_game_libray, etc.).