Author Topic: Thank you! (very impressed newbie)  (Read 5398 times)

HealingAura

Thank you! (very impressed newbie)
« on: May 23, 2006, 02:47:26 am »
I just downloaded today Code::Blocks and it is great!  :D
I'm studying Computer Science so I write programs in C and C++ and my programs must run under gcc or g++ comands of unix (so I use GNU GCC compiler - I hope it's the right one). I used to work with Dev c++ but Code::Blocks is much better. It has everything a programer needs :) and the debugger is so useful and simple to use.

One thing bothers me and it is the little menu that pops up when I write "." or "->" that let me choose from all the functions in the class - is there a way to disable it or make this menu come manualy (pressing certain keys)?

So, to the ones that made this program: Thank you very much! You are very helpful!  :D

sethjackson

Re: Thank you! (very impressed newbie)
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2006, 02:51:23 am »
One thing bothers me and it is the little menu that pops up when I write "." or "->" that let me choose from all the functions in the class - is there a way to disable it or make this menu come manualy (pressing certain keys)?

Yes there is just turn code-completion off.

Settings -> Editor -> Code-completion and symbols browser -> Disable code completion (assuming you have a nightly, or you built C::B from a newer SVN trunk revision).

If you have RC2. Get a nightly from here.

http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php?board=20.0

Offline RJP Computing

• Almost regular
    • RJP Computing
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2006, 03:10:58 am »

You can also manually show the Code-Completion menu by pressing 'Ctrl+Space'.
- Ryan

Ubuntu/WinXP, AMD Athlon 64 3000+, 1000MB RAM, AC 97 Audio, ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB

HealingAura

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2006, 04:41:27 am »
Thank you guys :)
By the way, I use C::B version 1.0rc2 (got it from the "download" section)
What is a nighty?