Author Topic: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003  (Read 15244 times)

jozzzz

  • Guest
Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« on: April 07, 2006, 09:35:54 am »
  Good morning,  I'd want to Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003, but I have this both on disc F. Even if I enter path correct F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\AdvAPI32.Lib etc., Codeblocks always use his header file , which hold in his directory.


What I be able to do, as to Codeblocks received setting  paths F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\AdvAPI32.Lib?
Thank you P.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2006, 09:59:12 am »
What I be able to do, as to Codeblocks received setting  paths F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\AdvAPI32.Lib?
Die you setup the compiler for your project correctly? Did you setup the PATH for the include files and lib files correctly? Anyway: If you provide your project with a specific lib this doesn't neccesarily mean that a specific header file is used. These are 2 things: compiling and linking. Both steps require a correct path to be setup. Could you send the full compiler log of a project of yours explaining better what you are doing?!
With regards, Morten.
BTW: Making words bold doesn't always increase readability... I guess we would have understand your post without bold phrases, too. ;-)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Michael

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2006, 10:51:49 am »
Hello,

You can have a look at this helpful C::B wiki article.

Best wishes,
Michael

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2006, 11:56:37 am »
Now path is OK  I think, but new message:
LINK : fatal error LNK1158: cannot run 'cvtres.exe'

But I insert path to Settings-Compiler-Programs-Additional paths - F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Bin\win64.
Why is this message? Thanx P.



This is Build log:
Project   : Win32 Application
Compiler  : Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003 (called directly)
Directory : G:\docum_nty\PROJEKTY VC++\codeblocks_pokus\
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Switching to target: default
F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Bin\rc.exe  /I"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Bin"  /I"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Bin"  -fo.objs\main.res main.rc
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003\bin\link.exe /nologo /subsystem:windows   /LIBPATH:"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003\lib" /LIBPATH:"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib"  /LIBPATH:"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003\lib" /LIBPATH:"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib" /out:"G:\docum_nty\PROJEKTY VC++\codeblocks_pokus\Win32GUI.exe"   "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\ComCtl32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\AdvAPI32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\Gdi32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\User32.Lib"  "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\AdvAPI32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\Gdi32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\User32.Lib" "F:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Lib\ComCtl32.Lib" .objs\main.o  .objs\main.res   
LINK : fatal error LNK1158: cannot run 'cvtres.exe'
Process terminated with status 1 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
 

Offline Michael

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2006, 12:03:45 pm »
Now path is OK  I think, but new message:
LINK : fatal error LNK1158: cannot run 'cvtres.exe'

Have a look at here.

If you want more info then try a search with e.g., cvtres.exe :wink:.

Best wishes,
Michael

PS.: It is not necessary to use bold... :roll:


Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2006, 12:25:02 pm »
LINK : fatal error LNK1158: cannot run 'cvtres.exe'
If you want to compile Win32 applications you'll also most likely require the MS platform SDK. This will include cvtres.exe. This all is written in the WiKi. I really suggest you read this.
With reagrds, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2006, 01:45:02 pm »
Thanx for all ,  Codeblocks make program successfull. :).

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2006, 06:15:36 pm »
Another question:
What debuger I can use , when  I have integrated Visual Toolkit?

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2006, 07:49:39 pm »
What debuger I can use , when  I have integrated Visual Toolkit?
You are quite resistant to the WiKi, aren't you?! :?
C::B supports the CDB - the Microsoft debugger that ships with the free MS Debugging tools - directly.
With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2006, 08:29:25 am »
MVC Toolkit 2003  does not contain   CDB.exe :)

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2006, 11:52:48 am »
MVC Toolkit 2003  does not contain   CDB.exe :)
Yes, the MSVC Toolkit is not the same as the MS Debugging tools. Basically for (free) MSVC development you'll need 3 packages: The MSVC Toolkit (compiler, basic libs); the MS Platform SDK (all platform specific "deep level" stuff) and the MS Debugging tools for debugging purposes. Please note that this does not include MFC. Again: You should find this information in the WiKi, too.
With regards, Morten.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2006, 04:35:08 pm »
I download .NET.FRAMEWORK.SDK.1.1, but   does not contain   CDB.exe , where i can get this?  :?

Offline squizzz

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 132
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2006, 05:48:39 pm »
I don't use MSVT, but if there is no CDB.exe in .NET Framework SDK then it must be either somewhere here:
Debugging Tools for Windows
or here:
Platform SDK.
this space is for rent

jozzzz

  • Guest
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2006, 08:45:01 pm »
Well , i have F:\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows\cdb.exe,but i get this messagebox:
The debugger executable i not set. To set it, go to "Settings/Configure plugins/Compiler",switch to the"Programs" tab and select the debuger program.

But Settings no contain "Configur plugins" :)
I do sett in program tabs:
Debugger: F:\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows\cdb.exe
but if i press F8, i get messagebox -- The debugger executable i not set. To set it, go to "Settings/Configure plugins/Compiler etc.

Offline squizzz

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 132
Re: Codeblocks integrate with Visual Toolkit 2003
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2006, 10:45:38 pm »
That's probably some legacy message pointing to wrong place (wrong since settings dialog redesign :))


First, navigate to Settings->Compiler and debugger->Programs .
Then either read what red label says (:lol:) or set debugger field to cdb.exe (no path!) and then go to Additional Paths tab and add F:\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows (or whatever path is correct).

That should help.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2006, 10:56:12 pm by squizzz »
this space is for rent