Author Topic: MinGW support for std::locale?  (Read 7546 times)

Offline BigAngryDog

• Multiple posting newcomer
    • BigAngryDog.com
MinGW support for std::locale?
« on: March 05, 2006, 06:47:40 am »
Am I correct in thinking the MinGW compiler (with Code::Blocks) does not support any locale other than the C locale?

I.e., the following raises an error:

Code
std::locale("en_US");

Sorry if this is numptie, question but I am new to MinGW & C::B.

Thanks
BigAngryDog.com

Offline thomas

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: MinGW support for std::locale?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2006, 09:27:38 am »
You should catch exceptions as described in Locales to prevent your app from crashing.

Code
#include <iostream>
#include <stdexcept>
#include <locale>

int main()
{
    std::locale loc;
    try
    {
        loc = std::locale("en_US");
    }
    catch (std::runtime_error)
    {
        std::cerr << "locale not found\n";
        loc = std::locale("");       
    }
    return 0;
}
Should always work just fine. Empty string creates the default locale defined by the user's OS preferences (whatever that is). "en_US" like you used it should work too, if all is installed correctly (as it happens, it fails on my system,too - but that is not surprising, I don't have en_US).

In any case, always catch exceptions because locale will throw if anything goes wrong (as most things in std do).
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline BigAngryDog

• BigAngryDog.com
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2006, 02:31:31 pm »
Thanks for the reply thomas.

You say:

>"en_US" like you used it should work too, if all is installed correctly

That's interesting. How do I install a locale in my C::B/MinGW development environment?

Cheers
BigAngryDog.com

Offline thomas

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2006, 03:41:44 pm »