Author Topic: Strange behavior when running project  (Read 5247 times)

Offline aro

• Single posting newcomer
Strange behavior when running project
« on: October 01, 2023, 02:19:52 am »
I am brand new to Code::Blocks, frankly I didn't even know it exists until recently...

I got the source code for GNU Radio on my Ubuntu and eventually figured out how to create the .cbp file. I was able to open the project in CB and build it without issues.

When I first tried to run it, it gave me the common message "you must select a host application to run command-only target". I changed the build target to GUI, since GNU Radio has a GUI, so I guess that's what the project should be...

Now when I try to run it, it gives me the message "It seems that this project has not been built yet. Do you wan to build it now?". I click Yes, it builds fine, then the same message pops up again. I click Yes again, it build again successfully... and that's it. Nothing else happens. This whole thing repeats itself every time I click Run.

Any ideas on what to do next? thanks

Offline stahta01

• Lives here!
    • My Best Post
Re: Strange behavior when running project
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2023, 12:00:27 am »
What little I found using web search on "GNU Radio" said it was an toolkit.

An toolkit is not an application in nearly all cases.

You likely need an example/demo "GNU Radio" application to use the  "GNU Radio" toolkit.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline aro

• Single posting newcomer
Re: Strange behavior when running project
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2023, 02:32:50 am »
You are right, that's what I found out also. I created a demo application/file, and I was able to run it from the source code in VSCode by setting the path to that file in launch.json.

I assume I would have to do the same with code::blocks. Any ideas where I would do that?