Author Topic: Mac Binaries  (Read 83333 times)

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2750
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2006, 11:22:55 pm »
In the wiki "Compiling Code::Blocks in Mac OS X" it states
that the user has to install Xcode Tools from http://developer.apple.com/tools/.

Yet I can find no xtools to download that will run on any system other than
OS X 10.4. It states that Xtools 2.2 will run on no earlier OS X system. And,
evidently, apple has hidden any earlier versions of the tools.

Yet the wiki also says that this (wiki) system has been tested on OS X 10.3.

To follow these instructions, where can we find a version of Xtools
(or the necessary apple tools) that will work on OS X earlier than 10.4 (tiger)
and allow us to build CB?

thanks
pecan
« Last Edit: April 01, 2006, 11:24:49 pm by Pecan »

Offline afb

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2006, 09:53:14 am »
In the wiki "Compiling Code::Blocks in Mac OS X" it states
that the user has to install Xcode Tools from http://developer.apple.com/tools/.

Yet I can find no xtools to download that will run on any system other than
OS X 10.4. It states that Xtools 2.2 will run on no earlier OS X system. And,
evidently, apple has hidden any earlier versions of the tools.

Apple pulled all the old links in order to promote Mac OS X 10.4, but all the
old developer tools can be downloaded from ADC at http://connect.apple.com/

You need a (free) developer registration with Apple first, in order to log in there.
For Mac OS X 10.3, you want Xcode 1.5. For Mac OS X 10.1-10.2, latest Dev Tools.

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2750
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2006, 02:22:02 pm »

Apple pulled all the old links in order to promote Mac OS X 10.4, but all the
old developer tools can be downloaded from ADC at http://connect.apple.com/

You need a (free) developer registration with Apple first, in order to log in there.
For Mac OS X 10.3, you want Xcode 1.5. For Mac OS X 10.1-10.2, latest Dev Tools.


Thanks, getting it!

I'm off to downloading at 48k/sec light speed for 31 hrs.
Half the time of the Ubunto download though.

thanks
pecan

Mithos

  • Guest
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #18 on: April 13, 2006, 04:20:02 am »
I did made a Mac OS version also. But since I made a full package including many things (basicaly many things not needed) It it too big to distribute right now. But it is the last svn source and has not many visual bugs that I could find. The only major problem is the debugger witch isn´t working yet.


Offline afb

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #19 on: April 13, 2006, 08:24:46 am »
I did made a Mac OS version also. But since I made a full package including many things (basicaly many things not needed) It it too big to distribute right now. But it is the last svn source and has not many visual bugs that I could find. The only major problem is the debugger witch isn´t working yet.

Sounds good! (you could always post a screenshot?)

Did you have to make many new modifications ?
And which version of wxWidgets were you using ?

Trying to build the 2341 revision here right now.

Mithos

  • Guest
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #20 on: April 14, 2006, 04:22:03 am »
Version 2.6.3

Not big modifications but I had to suffer a little to get all the right libs on 10.3 witch is my os.

Screen Shots I could post if I had installed any image manipulation programs in this machine. I will fix this in the next days and post one

Mithos

  • Guest
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #21 on: April 14, 2006, 06:39:45 am »
HA I made the compiler work .... hehehehehe just a small adjustment was needed (mac gdb needs run instead of start) and now it works...

Well haven´t checked all windows in compiler but at least the basic works. Code blocks running smooth in MacOS :-)

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #22 on: April 14, 2006, 08:58:52 am »
Code blocks running smooth in MacOS :-)

Great!
And the patch is... where? :lol:
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Mithos

  • Guest
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #23 on: April 14, 2006, 05:49:10 pm »
Bascialy what you need is this change in src/plugins/debuggergdb/gdb_driver.cpp

change
Code
#ifdef __WXMSW__
    m_BreakOnEntry = false;
    m_ManualBreakOnEntry = false;
    // start the process
    QueueCommand(new DebuggerCmd(this, _T("run")));
#else
    m_BreakOnEntry = breakOnEntry;
    m_ManualBreakOnEntry = true;
    // start the process
    QueueCommand(new DebuggerCmd(this, _T("start")));
#endif


for this

Code
#ifdef __WXMSW__
    m_BreakOnEntry = false;
    m_ManualBreakOnEntry = false;
    // start the process
    QueueCommand(new DebuggerCmd(this, _T("run")));
#else

#ifdef __WXMAC__
    m_BreakOnEntry = false;
    m_ManualBreakOnEntry = false;
    // start the process
    QueueCommand(new DebuggerCmd(this, _T("run")));
#else
    m_BreakOnEntry = breakOnEntry;
    m_ManualBreakOnEntry = true;
    // start the process
    QueueCommand(new DebuggerCmd(this, _T("start")));
#endif
#endif

Mithos

  • Guest
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #24 on: April 14, 2006, 05:50:50 pm »
I can distribute my CodeBlocks.app but it is too big right now. I think because I must have compiled things with -g on.

Wen I have some spare time I can see if I re-compile it for size reduction. I´m also planing a plugin to create mac aplications directly with default Structure because without it doesn´t work well. But this should be simple after I study a little the framework for this.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2006, 05:55:48 pm by Mithos »

takeshimiya

  • Guest
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #25 on: April 14, 2006, 06:03:29 pm »
Reduced ver.:

Code
#if defined (__WXMSW__) || defined (__WXMAC__)
    m_BreakOnEntry = false;
    m_ManualBreakOnEntry = false;
    // start the process
    QueueCommand(new DebuggerCmd(this, _T("run")));
#else
    m_BreakOnEntry = breakOnEntry;
    m_ManualBreakOnEntry = true;
    // start the process
    QueueCommand(new DebuggerCmd(this, _T("start")));
#endif

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #26 on: April 14, 2006, 06:49:25 pm »
Quote
Bascialy what you need is this change in src/plugins/debuggergdb/gdb_driver.cpp

I wasn't asking about the debugger, but about anything else you had to do to make it work. According to afb's posts, C::B had layout problems in MAC. Have you solved them? Did you do anything special? That's the patch I 'm talking about :)
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Mithos

  • Guest
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #27 on: April 14, 2006, 08:31:37 pm »
Well I had lot´s of problems to make autoconf and automake works right. But wat I did was basicaly folow what is described on this link and use wxwidgets 2.6.3.


There was some problems with libtool. But basicaly what you need to do is use dynamic libs.


There are some minor problems like the stats on the windows not refreshing right. Those I will try to look better latter but apears to be wxwindows bugs.

It took me something like 3 days to make it work like I wanted. I should have donne somthing like a walk trought with all that was needed. Well if can help anyone latter I will

Offline afb

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #28 on: April 17, 2006, 01:35:06 pm »
Well I had lot´s of problems to make autoconf and automake works right. But wat I did was basicaly folow what is described on this link and use wxwidgets 2.6.3.

It still looks "bad" in wx 2.6.1, so I will try upgrading to 2.6.3...

What problems did you have with autoconf/automake/glibtool ?
Beyond the need for a newer version, I didn't have any of those.

Mithos

  • Guest
Re: Mac Binaries
« Reply #29 on: April 19, 2006, 02:20:43 am »
They didn´t reconized some installed features and I had a problem making them build the right dynlib

But just some configuration paramters. And needing to upgrade wasn´t so funny :-)