Author Topic: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01  (Read 11656 times)

Offline hbcpp

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« on: September 18, 2020, 02:36:54 am »
I just finished building the latest CB trunk version. Up until now I was using CB 16.01.

 I am just starting using it and see how it feels and I noticed some related details that I would like to change.

In 20.03 when I am typing a header the autocomplete popup shows and it doesn't show the whole header name but instead it just show the first 2 letters and the ellipsis mark.

There are times when I use a std::vector variable, per say, after starting typing a method the autocomplete popup shows and just cover the entire code and it a little annoying.

These are the first 2 things that I have noticed so far that I would like it like it was in CB 16.01.

So, is there a way to do that. Change the source code and revert those specific codes to make those specific changes.
I am guessing there is, so where are those files, what exactly need to be changed in the code.
Thanks.

In the attachment there is a screenshot showing the autocomplete popup in CB20.03 with ellipsis.


Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2020, 03:53:34 am »
Option 1: Build the version you liked
Option 2: Give information needed to try to fix the problem.

The Devs will likely need wxWidgets version and Operating System information to work on a fix.

Reverting the code is almost always *not* an option the Devs will take after 4 years has passed.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline hbcpp

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2020, 04:29:42 am »
Thanks for the info.

I created a ticket for this.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2020, 10:17:12 am »
This is a known problem on hidpi displays.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline hbcpp

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2020, 04:51:05 pm »
This is a known problem on hidpi displays.
How do hidpi displays relate to codeblocks?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2020, 12:06:06 pm »
No sure what you mean by relate in your question.
There are just some bug which manifest themselves only on HiDPI.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline sodev

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 497
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2020, 12:58:12 pm »
The bug in the screenshot however is not caused by HiDPI but by Direct2D ;)

Offline hbcpp

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2020, 01:09:39 pm »
There are just some bug which manifest themselves only on HiDPI.
This clears it up.

Offline hbcpp

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2020, 01:12:37 pm »
The bug in the screenshot however is not caused by HiDPI but by Direct2D ;)
Yeah and in this ticket here a fix is provided(haven't tested it yet though).

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2020, 04:10:59 pm »
If you test it let me know in the ticket if it works. Ideally we should backport the popup changes from wx, but I don't know when this would happen, unfortunately.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline hbcpp

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2020, 02:44:09 am »
If you test it let me know in the ticket if it works. Ideally we should backport the popup changes from wx, but I don't know when this would happen, unfortunately.

I have tested it. It built fine, however when I open it and I go to settings->Editor and I make some change and hit 'ok' CB will crash and close, don't know why, maybe I did something wrong because I had some trouble reading the patch file.
 
This is an answer from the ticket I gave you earlier:

"This problem (and others closely related to DirectWrite) have just been fixed in wxSTC:

Merge branch 'stc-tech-fix' " by Miguel Gimenez

Is this what you mean by backport the popup changes from wx?


Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2020, 01:09:16 pm »
I'm not sure. Probably this is a part of the changes.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2020, 01:12:15 pm »
About the crash: Attach a debugger (Debug -> Start) and see where it crashes. Have you run the appropriate update3*.bat file?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline hbcpp

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2020, 05:04:48 pm »
About the crash: Attach a debugger (Debug -> Start) and see where it crashes. Have you run the appropriate update3*.bat file?
Attach a debugger, I did it and here is the build log after it crashed:
Code
Active debugger config: GDB/CDB debugger:Default
Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
Selecting target:
src
Adding source dir: D:\Downloads\codeblocks-code-r12201-trunk\src\
Adding source dir: D:\Downloads\codeblocks-code-r12201-trunk\src\
Adding file: D:\Downloads\codeblocks-code-r12201-trunk\src\devel31_64\codeblocks.exe
Changing directory to: D:/Downloads/codeblocks-code-r12201-trunk/src/devel31_64
Set variable: PATH=.;C:\wxWidgets-3.1.4\lib\gcc_dll;D:\Downloads\codeblocks-code-r12201-trunk\src\devel31_64;D:\Downloads\codeblocks-code-r12201-trunk\src\exchndl\win64\lib;C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks20\MinGW\bin;C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks20\MinGW;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\Windows\System32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0;C:\Windows\System32\OpenSSH;C:\Program Files\Microsoft VS Code\bin;C:\Program Files\Git\cmd;C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin;C:\TDM-GCC-64\bin;D:\Downloads\zip300xn-x64;C:\Program Files\TortoiseGit\bin;C:\Users\aideb\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;C:\Users\aideb\AppData\Local\GitHubDesktop\bin
Starting debugger: C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks20\MINGW\bin\gdb.exe -nx -fullname -quiet  -args D:/Downloads/codeblocks-code-r12201-trunk/src/devel31_64/codeblocks.exe
done
Setting breakpoints
Debugger name and version: GNU gdb (GDB) 8.1
Child process PID: 8
In ntdll!RtlIsNonEmptyDirectoryReparsePointAllowed () (C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll)
#22 0x000000006edcafcc in wxNavigationEnabled<wxWindow>::~wxNavigationEnabled (this=0x20854910, __in_chrg=<optimized out>) at C:/wxWidgets-3.1.4/include/wx/containr.h:189
C:\wxWidgets-3.1.4\include\wx\containr.h:189:6912:beg:0x6edcafcc
At C:\wxWidgets-3.1.4\include\wx\containr.h:189


I am not sure I did the debugger right though ( I opened the CodeBlocks_wx31_64.cbp project and just debugged it like I would in a console program).

Yeah I ran the appropriate update3*.bat file but I will build the patch from the beginning just to be sure. Will tell you what happens.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Change things in CB 20.03 back to the way it was in CB 16.01
« Reply #14 on: September 20, 2020, 08:51:01 pm »
Seems right, now you have to show us the backtrace (debug -> windows -> call stack or run the bt command).
If I give you this information for your program would you be able to pinpoint the cause?

Are you sure you're not mixing wx headers and dlls from different releases?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]