Author Topic: Advice needed on which Code::Blocks for C++17 and related subjects  (Read 4120 times)

Offline dane37

• Single posting newcomer
Advice needed on which Code::Blocks for C++17 and related subjects
« on: September 05, 2020, 04:51:28 pm »
Hi, I'm a novice running Code::Blocks 17.12 with compiler settings for C++14. The compiler settings in my version refer to C++17 as "coming".  I want to access the Windows 10 file directory and a bit of research leads me to believe that I should do so with C++17 or if that is not available then Boost. I have a few questions: 1. Should I install Code::Blocks 20.03 binaries? 2. If so, do I run setup.exe "on top of" 17.12 (without uninstalling 17.12)? 3. Does 20.03 include support for C++17? The Boost website has a nice tutorial on its filesystem library that includes examples available for download. I understand the C++17 filesystem library came from Boost. 4. Is working through the Boost tutorial the simplest way to learn the C++17 filesystem library or is there somewhere else I should look? 5. Do you have any other advice about these subjects? Thanks in advance, Dane

Offline BlueHazzard

• Developer
  • Lives here!
Re: Advice needed on which Code::Blocks for C++17 and related subjects
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2020, 07:25:45 pm »
Hi, welcome to the forum

Codeblocks is not a compiler, but an IDE, it can work with many different versions of compilers. For convenience we ship a compiler. For 17.12 it was probably gcc 4.5...
If you want some recent compiler you can download it for example from here https://sourceforge.net/projects/mingw-w64/files/Toolchains%20targetting%20Win32/Personal%20Builds/mingw-builds/installer/mingw-w64-install.exe

Install the new compiler in some directory, and point codeblocks to it:
1) Start codeblocks
2) Settings -> Compiler ->Toolchain executables-> Compiler installation direcotry -> point it to the bin firectory of your new installation of the compiler