Author Topic: Updating wxWidgets - Updating projects developed under a previous wx version  (Read 3059 times)

Offline charles5577

• Single posting newcomer
Hello,

My first time to post. I am a fairly experienced programmer: 40 years (student/engineer and not a developer) with the last 20 years using C++. Until several years ago with my work I used VC++ with MFC. I then started experimenting with CB and wxWidgets under debian. I then decided to try CB and wxWidgets under Windows 64 bit. This was somewhat of an informative experience but I got it working and have been ever since pleased with the results. Just a note: having used MFC made using wxWiggets easy, it was almost as easy as changing the letter C to wx. However, there are alot of advanges of using wxWidgets.

With Windows 10 - 64 bits I installed the Mingw compiler, CB and wxWidgets. I updated periodically and until recently was using:

Mingw-W64 7.3.0 (seh-rt_v5) with gcc 8.1.0
CB 17.12 (32 bit)
wxWidgets 3.1.2

I updated to the following:

Mingw-W64 7.3.0 (seh-rt_v5) with gcc 8.1.0
CB 20.03 (compiled from source)
wxWidgets 3.1.3 (compiled from source)

To do this I:

1. Compiled wxWidgets 3.1.3 (changing setup.h to use 2D graphics)
2. Modified CB 17.12 to use the wxWidgets 3.1.3 version
3. Compiled the CB 20.03 source code to get a 64 bit CB 20.03 using wxWidgets 3.13.

At this point all is good. I created a dll project and a Frame based project and they compiled and linked with the Frame based program running.

I then compiled and linked a couple of dll projects that were developed under wxWidgets 3.1.2. They compiled and linked.

Now comes the problem. I compiled and linked a Frame based project with my new cofiguration that was developed under wxWidgets 3.1.2. When I tried to run the project I got the error that "msw312u_gcc_cb.dll was not found". It should be looking for msw313u_gcc_cb.dll, ie. 313 rather than 312.