Author Topic: clicking on debugger crashes codeblocks  (Read 3880 times)

Offline Bruise_Vein

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
clicking on debugger crashes codeblocks
« on: April 04, 2020, 09:48:57 pm »
so I uninstalled the last codeblocks version (17.12) and installed the new version (20.03 with the combined MinGW installer).    now when I use codeblocks it runs well and I am able to build and run programs until I hit the 'Debug' button. after hitting debug it displays the following in the debugger log but doesn't start the console or running the program.

DEBUGGER LOG:

Active debugger config: GDB/CDB debugger:Default
Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
Selecting target:
Debug
Adding source dir: D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\
Adding source dir: D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\
Adding file: D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\bin\Debug\test.exe
Changing directory to: "D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/."
Set variable: PATH=.;C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin;C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW;C:\ProgramData\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\iCLS Client;C:\Program Files\Intel\iCLS Client;C:\Windows\System32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0;C:\Windows\System32\OpenSSH;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\DAL;C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\DAL;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\IPT;C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\IPT;C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA NvDLISR;C:\Program Files\SourceGear\Common\DiffMerge;C:\Users\Lenovo\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps
Starting debugger: C:\Program Files (x86)\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin\gdb32.exe -nx -fullname -quiet  -args "D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/bin/Debug/test.exe"
failed




After this message even build and run stops working.  they start working after restarting codeblocks but the same happens after pressing debug.

I tried reinstalling codeblocks but the same happens. Also, I checked and my pc unfortunately doesn't have a restore point set.  PLZ HELP

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: clicking on debugger crashes codeblocks
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2020, 09:58:20 pm »
Which version are you using exactly (32bit/64bit)?
Can you enable full logging in the debugger settings and then post the log?
Does it work again if you reinstall 17.12?
What OS are you using?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Bruise_Vein

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: clicking on debugger crashes codeblocks
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2020, 12:05:55 am »
I m using 64 bits version
OS: Windows
to reinstall 17.12 do I uninstall the 20.03 version or do I just install it in a different directory

FULL DEBUG LOG :

Active debugger config: GDB/CDB debugger:Default
Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
Selecting target:
Debug
Adding source dir: D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\
Adding source dir: D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\
Adding file: D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\bin\Debug\test.exe
Changing directory to: "D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/."
Set variable: PATH=.;C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin;C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW;C:\ProgramData\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\iCLS Client;C:\Program Files\Intel\iCLS Client;C:\Windows\System32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0;C:\Windows\System32\OpenSSH;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\DAL;C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\DAL;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\IPT;C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\IPT;C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA NvDLISR;C:\Program Files\SourceGear\Common\DiffMerge;C:\Users\Lenovo\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps

[debug]Command-line: C:\Program Files (x86)\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin\gdb32.exe -nx -fullname -quiet  -args "D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/bin/Debug/test.exe"
[debug]Working dir : D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test

Starting debugger: C:\Program Files (x86)\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin\gdb32.exe -nx -fullname -quiet  -args "D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/bin/Debug/test.exe"
failed

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: clicking on debugger crashes codeblocks
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2020, 12:28:50 am »
This is not the full log. You have to enable it in the Settings -> Debugger -> Common -> Full (debug) log.
I'm not sure. You can uninstall first to be on the safe side.
Keep in mind that using a 64bit codeblocks to debug 32bit executables doesn't work well at the moment. Or using 32bit gdb to debug 64bit executables.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Bruise_Vein

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: clicking on debugger crashes codeblocks
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2020, 12:33:17 am »
yes, I used the same steps to enable the full debug log.



and also a friend of mine suggested me to clear the codeblocks directory in C:\Users\Your user name\AppData\Roaming\CodeBlocks.   
 after doing this codeblocks doesn't crash but clicking on the debugger still does nothing. and here is the new debug log

NEW FULL DEBUG LOG:

Active debugger config: GDB/CDB debugger:Default
Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
Selecting target:
Debug
Adding source dir: D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\
Adding source dir: D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\
Adding file: D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\bin\Debug\test.exe
Changing directory to: "D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/."
Set variable: PATH=.;C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin;C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW;C:\ProgramData\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\iCLS Client;C:\Program Files\Intel\iCLS Client;C:\Windows\System32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0;C:\Windows\System32\OpenSSH;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\DAL;C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\DAL;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\IPT;C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\IPT;C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA NvDLISR;C:\Program Files\SourceGear\Common\DiffMerge;C:\Users\Lenovo\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps

[debug]Command-line: C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MINGW\bin\gdb.exe -nx -fullname -quiet  -args "D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/bin/Debug/test.exe"
[debug]Working dir : D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test

Starting debugger: C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MINGW\bin\gdb.exe -nx -fullname -quiet  -args "D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/bin/Debug/test.exe"
done

[debug]> set prompt >>>>>>cb_gdb:

Setting breakpoints

[debug]D:/C++/Code: No such file or directory.
[debug](gdb) >>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> show version
[debug]GNU gdb (GDB) 8.1
[debug]Copyright (C) 2018 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
[debug]License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
[debug]This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
[debug]There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
[debug]and "show warranty" for details.
[debug]This GDB was configured as "x86_64-w64-mingw32".
[debug]Type "show configuration" for configuration details.
[debug]For bug reporting instructions, please see:
[debug]<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>.
[debug]Find the GDB manual and other documentation resources online at:
[debug]<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/documentation/>.
[debug]For help, type "help".
[debug]Type "apropos word" to search for commands related to "word".
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set confirm off

Debugger name and version: GNU gdb (GDB) 8.1

[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set width 0
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set height 0
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set breakpoint pending on
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set print asm-demangle on
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set unwindonsignal on
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set print elements 200
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set new-console on
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set disassembly-flavor att
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> catch throw
[debug]Catchpoint 1 (throw)
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> directory "D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/"
[debug]Source directories searched: D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test;$cdir;$cwd
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> break "D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/main.cpp:19"
[debug]No symbol table is loaded.  Use the "file" command.
[debug]Breakpoint 2 ("D:/C++/Code blocks projects/test/main.cpp:19") pending.
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> run
[debug]No executable specified, use `target exec'.
[debug]Starting program:  blocks projects/test/bin/Debug/test.exe
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:

Starting the debuggee failed: No executable specified, use `target exec'.

[debug]> quit

Debugger finished with status 0

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: clicking on debugger crashes codeblocks
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2020, 12:50:06 am »
Code
D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\

A guess from a debugger newbie, I suggest you use only ASCII and no spaces in your project path!

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline Bruise_Vein

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: clicking on debugger crashes codeblocks
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2020, 01:02:56 am »
Code
D:\C++\Code blocks projects\test\

A guess from a debugger newbie, I suggest you use only ASCII and no spaces in your project path!

Tim S.


it worked, I just removed spaces from my directory name and now it works like my older version of codeblocks.
I m just beginner, 2 months into c++ now and I don't know what happened.

Can u plz explain?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: clicking on debugger crashes codeblocks
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2020, 01:06:26 am »
We don't handle spaces well. I'm not sure whose to blame, codeblocks or the tools we use (gdb, gcc). I have to do an investigation, but I cannot find the time. Especially when I don't use windows often :)
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Bruise_Vein

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: clicking on debugger crashes codeblocks
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2020, 08:25:01 am »
Thank you appreciate the help