Author Topic: Weird foreign letters problem...  (Read 8830 times)

Offline 5Nick7

• Single posting newcomer
Weird foreign letters problem...
« on: November 21, 2018, 08:07:04 pm »
Hello,

I am a beginner with Code::Blocks and have recently ran into a problem which I can not seem to resolve. The actions that I do until the problem occurs goes something like this:
1. I open up Code::Blocks;
2. I write some code (using foreign Lithuanian letters "ą, č, ę...");
3. I save & exit;
4. Problem. After opening the .cpp file the Lithuanian letters change into other ones. (For example: 'ą' changes to 'à'; 'č' changes to 'è'; etc.).

Why is this? How do I fix it? I'm guessing the problem is in my code. When the problem occurs, the code goes from this:
Code
#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
using namespace std;
int main ()
{
    setlocale(LC_ALL, "Lithuanian");
cout << ("Ąą Čč Ęę Ėė Įį Šš Ųų Ūū Žž") << endl;
return 0;
}
to this:
Code
#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
using namespace std;
int main ()
{
    setlocale(LC_ALL, "Lithuanian");
cout << ("Àà Èè Ææ Ëë Áá Ðð Øø Ûû Þþ") << endl;
return 0;
}
The 'setlocale' is there so that the Lithuanian letters wouldn't turn into unknown (for me) symbols when i build and run the code, so I must also use system default file encoding.

I couldn't find anyone with a similar problem in the forums, sorry if this is post is purposeless.

Thank you.

Offline raynebc

• Almost regular
Re: Weird foreign letters problem...
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2018, 09:04:21 pm »
Try saving your source files in Unicode (ie. UTF-8) format.

Offline BlueHazzard

• Developer
  • Lives here!
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2018, 09:59:09 pm »
You can do this wiht Edit->File encoding->UTF-8

Offline 5Nick7

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2018, 10:40:50 pm »
You can do this wiht Edit->File encoding->UTF-8

While this saves all the written code and everything looks great, when I run it, the console prints symbols instead of the normal letters:
From
Code