Author Topic: Two questions from an absolute beginner..  (Read 3856 times)

Offline LadyoftheCave

• Single posting newcomer
Two questions from an absolute beginner..
« on: March 18, 2018, 11:29:25 am »
Goodmorning all.

I am following an udemy c++ course. I have reached lesson 31 and in this lesson the first steps of working with functions/headers and classes is explained. I am following the same steps as the person in the video (he is using eclipse). But for some reason it is not working the same in Code blocks. (I am using Code blocks 16.01)

Two problems that I encounter are:

1) The person in the video is using eclipse. In eclipse it is probably very simple to change the name of the main.cpp. I have tried everything but I cannot change this file. In help files I always find the same solution. Go to the file in the management window and then right-click on the main.cpp file then there would be an option to rename the file.. But not in this version of code-blocks. So is there a way to change this file easily?

2) The second problem is that I have created a second .cpp file in the same project and I was told that the mainfile would then automatically find the second .cpp file. But it doesn't. I have to include the second .cpp file into the main.cpp file otherwise I receive an error. I have read somewhere that you never should include a second .cpp file, so do you know how I can solve this?

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
Re: Two questions from an absolute beginner..
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2018, 11:46:25 am »
1. If the file is opened in the editor you cannot rename it, you have to close the file first.
2. What is the actual error? Post the full build log.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline LadyoftheCave

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2018, 12:25:06 pm »
1) aha, of course, that sounds very logical..